We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best cooking class and restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant

Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 1,805 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Orchid Restaurant Hanoi. Our aim is very simple – to provide the very best and most authentic Vietnamese food in old quarter.To do this we use only the freshest ingredients, prepared and served by our highly skilled chefs and friendly staffs.Further more, we are providing some daily cooking classes "Interesting and enjoyable hours"
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best cooking class and restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Me and my partner have both eaten here and taken the cooking class with Tien. We ate here before doing the cooking class and found the food absolutely amazing. There is no air conditioner but there are fans to keep you cool. The cooking class was the best money we had ever spent. 3 hours of cooking and going to the food markets to pick up fresh produce. Tien catered wonderfully for me begin vegetarian and we learnt how to cook morning glory salad, fried vegetarian spring rolls, tofu in tomato sauce and stuffed eggplants. He also let my partner learn how to make pho. While the pho stock was cooking, we went to the markets on a cyclo. My partner ate a fertilised duck egg, a fried silkworm, some fritz style pork and we both tried a large fruit that smelt disgusting but tasted like a creamy mango. It was sad to see the turtles being butchered alive as well as the eels, frogs and snails being kept alive in small cages. However, the tofu was so fresh that it had been made that morning and made the dishes so much more fresh. We even got complimentary drinks and we were able to try coconut rice wine! Thank you Orchid and Tien!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank helpchlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    210
    57
    17
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“grilled aubergine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

it became my regular haunt as the food was just so good. Cooking class next time!
Got a good book at the book purchase/exchange .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank putrajaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had dinner here our first night in Hanoi following a recommendation from our hotel, Oriental Central (their room service menu also comes from this restaurant). It was cheap, cheery, friendly and efficient service (one of the female waitstaff spoke IMPECCABLE English), and I still crave the La Lot (?? not sure if I've spelled that properly - beef wrapped in La Lot leaf and then fried??). Also, their Hanoi fried spring rolls were the best we had in our trip to Vietnam! We would definitely recommend this for a no-fuss meal that is consistently delicious, satisfying, and leaves you wanting more. It will be our first stop the next time we return to Hanoi!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank astrogirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

It was late and we'd really struggled to find anywhere nearby in Hanoi to eat so we would have accepted just about anything, but we were lucky to stumble across Orchid. With authentic and really tasty Vietnamese cuisine, this place brilliantly covered all three bases of filling a gap, being very nice indeed and providing a real Vietnamese eating experience. I'd be sure to recommend Orchid to anyone nearby. Only downside was that the staff weren't always that attentive or that helpful when it came to changing money to settle the bill, but these were pretty minor complaints in an otherwise good evening.

Helpful?
Thank Vukojebinje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cooking class a top experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Being a cooking and hospitality teacher by profession I was keen to know to cook some of the basic Vietnamese dishes but attending this class wasn't just an experience in cooking, but a wonderful look into the Vietnamese culture at close quarters. Our chef, Lien took us by rickshaw through the streets of Hanoi to the local market to buy some fresh ingredients. We sat in the market drinking a delicious mix of black bean and agar agar over ice which was very cooling in the 35C heat of July. Back to the restaurant and I was thrilled at the efficiency and skill that he showed us in concocting our chosen dishes. A beautiful cooking and dining space that had us 'oohhhing' and 'aahhhing' right to the last wonderful moment. Thank-you Chef!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather_May11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing