We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“grilled aubergine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant

Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 2,040 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Orchid Restaurant Hanoi. Our aim is very simple – to provide the very best and most authentic Vietnamese food in old quarter.To do this we use only the freshest ingredients, prepared and served by our highly skilled chefs and friendly staffs.Further more, we are providing some daily cooking classes "Interesting and enjoyable hours"
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“grilled aubergine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

it became my regular haunt as the food was just so good. Cooking class next time!
Got a good book at the book purchase/exchange .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank putrajaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    229
    63
    19
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had dinner here our first night in Hanoi following a recommendation from our hotel, Oriental Central (their room service menu also comes from this restaurant). It was cheap, cheery, friendly and efficient service (one of the female waitstaff spoke IMPECCABLE English), and I still crave the La Lot (?? not sure if I've spelled that properly - beef wrapped in La Lot leaf and then fried??). Also, their Hanoi fried spring rolls were the best we had in our trip to Vietnam! We would definitely recommend this for a no-fuss meal that is consistently delicious, satisfying, and leaves you wanting more. It will be our first stop the next time we return to Hanoi!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank astrogirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

It was late and we'd really struggled to find anywhere nearby in Hanoi to eat so we would have accepted just about anything, but we were lucky to stumble across Orchid. With authentic and really tasty Vietnamese cuisine, this place brilliantly covered all three bases of filling a gap, being very nice indeed and providing a real Vietnamese eating experience. I'd be sure to recommend Orchid to anyone nearby. Only downside was that the staff weren't always that attentive or that helpful when it came to changing money to settle the bill, but these were pretty minor complaints in an otherwise good evening.

Helpful?
Thank Vukojebinje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cooking class a top experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Being a cooking and hospitality teacher by profession I was keen to know to cook some of the basic Vietnamese dishes but attending this class wasn't just an experience in cooking, but a wonderful look into the Vietnamese culture at close quarters. Our chef, Lien took us by rickshaw through the streets of Hanoi to the local market to buy some fresh ingredients. We sat in the market drinking a delicious mix of black bean and agar agar over ice which was very cooling in the 35C heat of July. Back to the restaurant and I was thrilled at the efficiency and skill that he showed us in concocting our chosen dishes. A beautiful cooking and dining space that had us 'oohhhing' and 'aahhhing' right to the last wonderful moment. Thank-you Chef!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather_May11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went to this restaurant no fewer than three times. It was perfect walking distance from our hotel, the highly recommended Oriental Central, and had english on the menu, as well as a picture of every dish, which was quite helpful.

The food was delicious, and came in a generous portion. I would say the food was ethnic Vietnamese, but catered to the western taste. The spices were not too strong, and no dish was too shocking. The broth of the soup was superb.

Although there was no a/c, there were a large amount of fans to keep the place at a comfortable temperature, and if you sat next to the window you had a great people watching view of the street. As well there were books to read organized by language for the solo travellers.

My only comment would be that the first two times we came, the amount of time it took to receive our food was quite slow, compared to the amount of people there were in the restaurant. We were seated quickly, but after that the service, although friendly and polite, was slow. However, on the third time we mentioned that we had a flight to catch, and the service was amazingly fast, so you are on a time constraint, definitely mention it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yama-fishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing