We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cookery class experience”

Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 2,196 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Orchid Restaurant Hanoi. Our aim is very simple – to provide the very best and most authentic Vietnamese food in old quarter.To do this we use only the freshest ingredients, prepared and served by our highly skilled chefs and friendly staffs.Further more, we are providing some daily cooking classes "Interesting and enjoyable hours"
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cookery class experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We did a cookery class with Mr Tien in July. What a great experience. Because we wanted to cook Pho, after we got the broth on the cooker, Mr Tien took us out to the local markets to get some more ingredients. We had a great time wandering through the streets, stopping every now and them to shop or trying some unusual roadside delicacies we hand't tried before.
Mr tien and his helpers (at one stage there were three of them to two of us) were really helpfull and took the time needed to explain everything. The end result was just great, tasty, fresh and we've even cook two of the dishes a few times since hetting home. Highly reccommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    252
    66
    18
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Lots of fun & great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I wanted to do a local cuisine cooking class whilst in Hanoi. We were looking for a restaurant for dinner on the first night and came across Orchid, seeing that they were not only a restaurant but offered a cooking class as well. So we went there for dinner that night and met Mr Tien as well as booked in for the afternoon cooking class.

The food was fantastic. Mr Tien came and talked to us about the cooking class and we chose the dishes we wanted to learn. The next day we came and met the chef, travelled to the markets with him, and then came back and prepared all of the food. We then ate everything - and all for US$50 pp. Great deal. Highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
39 Hang Be
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly manager - Mr Tien and ecthusiastic staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've eaten at this restaurant many time with my friends and we are all happy with their services,
The restaurant is very cozy decorated with bamboo and silk that make a warm atmosphere. The menu is abundant with Vietnamese and European cuisine. The first feeling that is a very clean restaurant and welcoming staff. We will come back here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HBTmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We returned to this restaurant in August 2013 nearly 10 times ! (lunch and dinner).
Dishes remain very good, perhaps they are not the best Vietnamese meals but some dishes are really good.
You can try the fried pancakes, the Vietnamese ravioli, the rosted shrimps in coconut milk, the delicious green papaya salad, the famous cha ca La Vong which is prepared by a restaurant staff or why not fresh springrolls, cooked whole fish in banana leaves.
For me, this is one the best Vietnamese restaurant in Hanoi. Very good quality/price.
Very quiet place to stay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank huynhtantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice meal in comfotable surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great place in the Old Quarter. We had a lunch after stopping as part of a food tasting tour earlier in our stay in Hanoi.

Check it out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hearnybugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Orchid Cooking Class & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing