We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the old quarter.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
Ranked #249 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In the heart of the old quarter.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great location with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are a little on the small side, but apart from that, no complaints. Clean rooms, excellent hot water (!) and a pretty good breakfast spread included.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback following your recent stay at Hong Ngoc hotel. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    62
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
27
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stay at this hotel often when in Hanoi. The location is fantastic. It is in the middle of everything you might need. Although the rooms are small, they are always clean and the breakfast is always very good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dal28dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback following your recent stay at Hong Ngoc hotel. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Your valuable comments are well noted and we will look into improving with our team.

We thank you once again for your continuous support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been staying in hotels in Hanoi for more than 22 years. This is the first time I have stayed at the Hong Ngoc and it won't be the last. I tried it for a night and finished up staying for more than two weeks. Without doubt it is the best value for money I have experienced in the city. It is well located in the old quarter, the staff are friendly and helpful and the three different categories of rooms are clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from the street and quiet. The standard rooms are a bit small and poky, but the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Hong Ngoc hotel. I am very pleased to hear about your general satisfactory experience at our hotel and your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

People working there are very helpful. The hotel is situate in the Old Quater close to everything!
The rooms are clean and the smile of the employees made my stay a good experience!
They have a private car for going to the airport. It is safe because the taxis in Hanoi are not always realable.

Room Tip: some room arfe a little small but ask for a room on the corner of the hotel bigger and have more win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathieu g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for all of your complimentary and kind words regarding our high standard of services. We genuinely have a passion for all of our guests and we are glad that they can feel it like you did.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would like to drop a bit of my concern idea about this hotel ( Hong Ngoc Tonkin).
The hotel is located in the best location in Hanoi old quarter which make me feel so easy to explore around by walk, Never worry a bout hard to get food or drinks or any shops and its a perfect place to stay for a few days while you are here.
The hotel is design as a fantastic style,Room is very clean ,good smell ,safety box plus toilet is reaching to my expectation .Staff is very helpful and so friendly which make my stay even feel more enjoyable and comfortable .
Finally i wish you guys who come to visit Hanoi may want to choose this hotel like me and i will always be staying here again in my next visit here.

Thanks very much to manager and staffs of Hong Ngoc hotel who always consider about the best service first. thanks for warmly welcome and taking Care me so well.

Room Tip: Hi guys the rate above about Swimming pool and fitness i gave them 5 even though they don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vannarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

That has always been our great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel during the trip to Hanoi. Without complacency, we will keep on striving our best to ensure that every moment of your stay here will be most pleasant and memorable one.

I wish you continued safe and enjoyable travels and look forward to welcoming you back. There will have much nice offers for these customers who have been in Hong Ngoc hotel.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had a change to stay in Hong Ngoc Tonkin for two nights, and what I noticed was the service is excellent! The staff would take trouble to help the customers as much as they can.
A lot of tips they provide are helpful, example which taxi to take. Where to get good ice-cream and etc. Good work Hong Ngoc and keep it up!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong Peng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for selecting Hong Ngoc hotel as your residence of choice during your recent stay in Vietnam and also for taking the time to tell us about your experiences while with us.

Our priority is to have all of our guests have a magnifique experience at Hong Ngoc Hotel and I am proud of my whole team who have met your expectations in terms of high quality of services.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Nonthaburi, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Location is the core idea of being chosen to stay here in this hotel because it is in the middle of Honoi old quarter area and only 2 mins walking to the main civilization of Honoi " Hoan Kiem Lake" which can be other options for hanging yourself with the flow of Vietnamese people life stlyes. The room is not too big but not too small with functioned by lot of comfort facilities. Cleanliness is quite impressive and bathroom also very comfortable. Staff can provide lot of services such as organizinf taxi , tour service and directory to client very well. The amount of breakfast provided and quality of food was exceptional amazing. I would recommend this hotel strongly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parunyoo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongNgochotelGroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I wish you a continued safe and enjoyable travels and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#36 of 588 in Hanoi
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#135 of 588 in Hanoi
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Trong
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#109 of 588 in Hanoi
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Space Hotel
Hanoi Space Hotel
#29 of 588 in Hanoi
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel

Property: Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
Address: 14 Luong Van Can St | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hong Ngoc 2 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hong Ngoc hotel group, we are proud to provide one of the most exclusive hotels in central Hanoi.At Hong Ngoc Tonkin, we will offer you a drive back to the 19th century to explore the hidden charm of the Vietnamese culture. Located overlooking the glittering Hoan Kiem lake and the famous Water Puppet theater, Hong Ngoc Tonkin is an ideal choice for travelers looking to explore a highly exclusive experience in the historical, energetic entertainment and shopping areas. Our 40 guestrooms offer some marvelous view of the city and they all have a high contemporary design blending seamlessly with period architectural features. These elements have made Hong Ngoc Tonkin become a luxury hotel and a beautifully preserved piece of history. In addition, our restaurant has a superb reputation with a wide range of selective Western and Vietnamese cuisine and our Hong Ngoc spa is a serene retreat for effective therapy. We believe our unique and outstanding service will make this luxury hotel a destination in its own right. Welcome back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Ngoc Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing