We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
Ranked #261 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good and clean city hotel”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was the start and finish hotel for an organized tour I had booked. The location was great and very easy to walk the streets of the old city, I was traveling on my own and felt it was quite a safe area. The rooms were very clean with an older style decor which added character. Overall a very pleasant stay with happy to help and smiling staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    59
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
27
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Watch out for shonky tourist advisors, as their are 5 x Hong Ngoc Hotel's, we stayed at Hong Ngoc 2 & 5, other than being 10 minutes walk from the heart of Hanoi, Hong Ngoc 2 does not have a lot to offer, the rooms are small, dated and their idea of a double bed is to put two singles together. The bathroom had been refurbished, and was average. I am sure you could find a better place to stay in Hanoi. I would give this hotel 2.5 stars on the five star scale. Hong Ngoc 5 was a better hotel, which I would give 3.5 - 4 stars, but the location was poor. If your tourist advisor does not give the address on your itinerary you need to find out which hotel you are staying in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwinoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Hotel location it great and rooms are clean but that's about it. Don't eat at hotel under any circumstance, food is terrible. Most staff don't know any English. Hotel is ultra noisy even for Hanoi standards. We've stayed at a few hotels in Hanoi and would not rate this one at all.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napazzaps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonah, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We also stayed here as part of a tour group. It is right in heart of the old quarter and all that is vibrant and hectic. But that i sout in the street! The rooms are furnished Vietnamese style, which is rather nice. I took pics of the wardrobes etc. The breakfast was good, staff great, very helpful. We were on 4th floor, it was quiet. Bathroom was clean and everything was spotless. Don't go out without a map and the hotel address card!! You can easliy get lost!

Room Tip: Check the room first if you can to make sure you can open bathroom door easily our daughters room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is very typical of Hanoi, small street frontage and small rooms, but it is in an excellent location right in the old quarter, close to the lake, night market, silk street and travel agents. You can walk just about everywhere from here.

The rooms are small, but mostly clean and comfortable. They provide complimentary water and a buffet breakfast of good quality. They also have free WiFi and computers for guest use.

Staff are friendly and very helpful. I felt safe staying here.

I would stay here again if I were to return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The old fashioned charm of the rooms was something to behold.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinneke_gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed 3 nights and despite the traffic below could not hear a noise. Our suite had two room, one with sofa and with pc connected to internet and one bedroom. The rooms were clean and the staff is super friendly and helpful. A decent breakfast is included. All in all this is a very nice hotel in a good central location

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#136 of 586 in Hanoi
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#34 of 586 in Hanoi
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#108 of 586 in Hanoi
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#59 of 586 in Hanoi
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Classic Street Hotel
Classic Street Hotel
#134 of 586 in Hanoi
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel

Property: Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
Address: 14 Luong Van Can St | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hong Ngoc 2 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hong Ngoc hotel group, we are proud to provide one of the most exclusive hotels in central Hanoi.At Hong Ngoc Tonkin, we will offer you a drive back to the 19th century to explore the hidden charm of the Vietnamese culture. Located overlooking the glittering Hoan Kiem lake and the famous Water Puppet theater, Hong Ngoc Tonkin is an ideal choice for travelers looking to explore a highly exclusive experience in the historical, energetic entertainment and shopping areas. Our 40 guestrooms offer some marvelous view of the city and they all have a high contemporary design blending seamlessly with period architectural features. These elements have made Hong Ngoc Tonkin become a luxury hotel and a beautifully preserved piece of history. In addition, our restaurant has a superb reputation with a wide range of selective Western and Vietnamese cuisine and our Hong Ngoc spa is a serene retreat for effective therapy. We believe our unique and outstanding service will make this luxury hotel a destination in its own right. Welcome back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Ngoc Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing