We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi Old Quarter”
Review of Old Quarter

Old Quarter
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Morning Tour of Hanoi
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Hanoi Cyclo and Walking Small Group Tour
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Hanoi City Walking Tour of Old Quarter
Ranked #3 of 280 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hanoi’s lively Old Quarter comprises nearly 40 streets packed with shops selling all kinds of goods, each street named for its primary good or service.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
778 reviews
305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Hanoi Old Quarter”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Exciting, vibrant area to walk around. I highly recommend the cyclo tour through this ancient, narrow, crowded streets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DYA717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,895
    6,611
    1,596
    274
    126
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Providence RI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An adventure in shopping and navigation”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hanoi's Old Quarter has shops for everything: thread, buttons, silk scarves, sunglasses, iPhone cases, T-shirts, memorial items for the dead. I'd been told to bargain with the vendors, which I did, and then felt guilty when I walked away with three beautiful silk scarves for less than $18, a couple of Hanoi dragon T-shirts for my son for $7, and a beautiful embroidered bag for $9. I felt I was spending so much money - 200,000 VDN here, 500,000 there! Street food was everywhere - delicious goi cuon (rice paper rolls) and bowls of amazing pho. It helps to be small - all the cafes have these tiny stools, like children's step stools, scattered on the sidewalk for patrons to use. If you're an average-sized European or American, you're likely to be very uncomfortable. But the food is worth it. And you don't want to miss the adventure of crossing the street, a carefully choreographed, highly focused, one-step-at-a-time weave through the river of motor scooters, pedicabs, bicycles, small trucks and cars and pedestrians. None claims the right of way, they just manage to pass through intersections with no one stopping, and no one colliding - somehow, most of the time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Providence_Artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Real Vietnam”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the authentic Hanoi and a true taste of Vietnam as a whole. We discovered the best food, bars, markets, temples and museums in all of vietnam here. I think I could stay here forever and never run out of things to discover.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leluminala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old Quarter Hanoi”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This a an area that deserves a lot of time and attention when you visit Hanoi,. The shopping is great and the food stall or restaurant are plenty, good quality and cheap. To get a feel of the true Hanoi it is the place to go. Take an electric car and go around the quarter that way you know where to shop for anything your heart desires from alcohol, to clothing, toys, fruit and many amazing treasures

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roming2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Quarter, Hanoi”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying here as a base for visiting Hanoi and nearby areas of North Vietnam was an excellent choice and we would recommend same for travelers our age (50+). Our hotel, The Green Mango" was great, the staff great...but I digress, the surrounding area of the Old Quarter was / is rich in culture, restaurants, sights, museums and shopping. We will stay here again...and we hope soon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joefredperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing