We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the average hotel restaurant”
Review of Ba Mien

Ba Mien
Ranked #308 of 2,258 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than the average hotel restaurant”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ended up in Ba Mien as we were too exhausted to leave the hotel after a rough day in the heat. Therefore, it was a pleasant surprise to find out that the dishes were definitely fresh, tasty and well prepared - definitely better than what we had had for lunch. Also the service was very good. The price level is of course double the local and close to what you would pay at home, but overall, worth the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T0mmiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    42
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Solid luncheon experience in Hanoi.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our luncheon at Ba Mien.

The Vietnamese cuisine we ordered was very fresh, and beautifully presented. Service was a little slow to get going. Our waiter was very nice to us, and helped point out unique dishes for us to try. Wine list is nicely put together, with Vietnamese and international bottles on offer. Good all around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Do they even care”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Breakfast buffet was mediocre. But the most disappointing was the uncouth manner of guests, showing up barefoot or in the PJs and slippers and Ba Mien not saying a word. Unless we are on a beach somewhere, guests should wear shoes. I couldn't believe my eyes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trekker954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
245 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely dessert and drinks”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stopped in for dessert and drinks at Ba Mien.
The service was excellent, staff were lovely, desserts were both delicious and drinks were great too. Great value for the quality of food too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rcicala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good but somewhat not too expansive and wide selections”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was a little bit disappointed with their breakfast buffet. Great service but the selections seem to be weak. The breakfast buffet is from local dishes including pho to Japanese to cooked to order egg dishes. Thought sushi selections were quite unimpressive. Didn't make a second run for the buffet and ended up leaving. I didn't have an opportunity to enjoy dinner so I can't comment on that. But I hope it is better than breakfast selections.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ba Mien also viewed

 

Been to Ba Mien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing