We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful,peaceful place to reflect.”

St. Joseph's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour
Ranked #27 of 278 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Entering this majestic church is like walking into 1886, as little has changed since it first opened its doors.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A beautiful,peaceful place to reflect.”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I loved St. Joseph's. The Windows behind the alter were just beautiful. It was a peaceful place to rest in a busy city. You must walk around the back of the cathedral too as there is a wonderful image depicting the life of Christ. Just remember to dress appropriately as we saw a couple of people being told they weren't dressed right - not sure if by locals or people of the church.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ACW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    782
    505
    83
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
323 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“..An old church preserved in the heart of a bustling busy city....amazing!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was the most eye catching amazing structure i had seen,it was massive in the heart of a busy city standing monumental and just majestic.

We were in awe of the whole structure,which reminded us of how glorious it would have been sometime long ago.The church could do with some refurbishment and a spot of paint.It has a magnificent aura and reflects some past history and a reminder of the colonisation perhaps.

Overall worth a visit,don't miss this place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

A small surprise just round the corner from our hotel, a very nice looking Gothic cathedral, a lot like Notre Dame. Very nice on the inside with beautiful stain-glass windows but unfortunately it is only open when church is in session and you can't very well have a nosey and photograph everything when a service is in full swing. Shame.

Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Historical site worth visiting”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The cathedral is worth visiting and well maintained given its age and the history of the country. See if you can get inside. Somebody let me inside to have a look and you can see the French influence in the architecture.

A couple of pluses from visiting cathedral is the location. Ly Quoc Su Street area has a number of "better souvenir shops". A little more upmarket than other streets in the Old Quarter but you still can haggle prices down. Good place to shop for SAPA style embroided rucksacks and bags and home decorations (silk cushions). For foodies I recommend Pho 10 on Ly Quoc Su Street. Best beef pho I have eaten in Hanoi.


Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
166 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Loved the surroundings”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I think that this place a must visit. Hopefully it doesn't rain on the day of your visit though. There are many coffee places near the Cathedral and it is really awesome because I walked into a narrow alley and climbed up some stairs to get to the second floor of the place which sells nice coffee and drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank atripwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Joseph's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing