We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For picture-taking purposes only”
Review of One Pillar Pagoda

One Pillar Pagoda
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Full-Day Hanoi City Tour
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Half-Day City Tour of Hanoi on Motorbike
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Private Hanoi City Half-Day Tour
Ranked #46 of 279 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: The One Pillar Pagoda (Vietnamese: Chua Mot Cot, formally Dien Huu tu 延祐寺 or Lien Hoa Dai 蓮花臺) is a historic Buddhist temple in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam. It is regarded alongside the Perfume Temple, as one of Vietnam's two most iconic temples.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For picture-taking purposes only”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The name says it all. Nothing much can be done here except take pictures or make an offering. Some tourists also simply sit around and take a break.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vianney Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    410
    499
    79
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“OK if you need to fill in time.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having been to Halong Bay and walking and riding around the old quarter, Hoan Kiem lake, the French quarter etc. etc., we were running out of things to do so decided to venture further afield. However we thought that we had to be a lot more desperate to appreciate the one pillar pagoda which we thought was very ordinary.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Interesting Structure”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

One Pillar Pagoda is in the compound of all the Ho Chi Minh visit. I visited it as I left the Residence. It was a quick stop before going on to the Museum. I pretty much just took a photo and moved on because the crowds were kind of large. I thought it was an interesting structure, it was a bit different from other pagodas I had seen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 8Nikki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Check it if you are nearby”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's a photo spot. Small, and I am not sure I find it very spectacular. If you are in the area for the palace and ho chi minh mausoleum, then stop by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BK18854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Part of Ho Chi Minh mausoleum and house complex”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Not original as was rebuilt after destructive and spiteful French destroyed everything when leaving. Not even the nazis damaged Paris when they arrived or left. So who is worse.
The pagoda itself is unique (or original would have been). In current state it's really just another pagoda.
See it because its part of the complex and likely you will be here if visiting Hanoi

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Pillar Pagoda also viewed

 

Been to One Pillar Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing