We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Structure”
Review of One Pillar Pagoda

One Pillar Pagoda
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Full-Day Hanoi City Tour
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Half-Day City Tour of Hanoi on Motorbike
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Private Hanoi City Half-Day Tour
Ranked #46 of 277 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: The One Pillar Pagoda (Vietnamese: Chua Mot Cot, formally Dien Huu tu 延祐寺 or Lien Hoa Dai 蓮花臺) is a historic Buddhist temple in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam. It is regarded alongside the Perfume Temple, as one of Vietnam's two most iconic temples.
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Interesting Structure”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

One Pillar Pagoda is in the compound of all the Ho Chi Minh visit. I visited it as I left the Residence. It was a quick stop before going on to the Museum. I pretty much just took a photo and moved on because the crowds were kind of large. I thought it was an interesting structure, it was a bit different from other pagodas I had seen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 8Nikki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    407
    492
    78
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Check it if you are nearby”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's a photo spot. Small, and I am not sure I find it very spectacular. If you are in the area for the palace and ho chi minh mausoleum, then stop by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BK18854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Part of Ho Chi Minh mausoleum and house complex”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Not original as was rebuilt after destructive and spiteful French destroyed everything when leaving. Not even the nazis damaged Paris when they arrived or left. So who is worse.
The pagoda itself is unique (or original would have been). In current state it's really just another pagoda.
See it because its part of the complex and likely you will be here if visiting Hanoi

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Photo and Go”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Its quaint. Get the photo on passing on the way back from seeing Ho Chi Minh and head off. Other than that its a bit hard to say much else. Far tooooo many other things to go and see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The one pillar pagoda was really hyped up by the guide books but really it was a bit disappointing and the crowds didn't really allow you to take decent pictures (especially when its raining and their are multi coloured macs and brollies everywhere blocking the view). The pillar itself has been rebuilt numerous time and is quite simply concrete. The pagdo is quite pretty in itself and it does give you an impression of what must have stood here once.

The area is hidden away near the Ho Chi Minh musuem and was quite difficult to find (perhaps because we approached it from a different angle).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whitlam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Pillar Pagoda also viewed

 

Been to One Pillar Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing