We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum!!”

Vietnam National Museum of History
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Guided Tour of Hanoi Including...
Ranked #34 of 225 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: History buffs will appreciate the expansive collections on hand in this educational museum.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

One of the best museums I have been to. It shows various pre-historic to present displays and the artifacts displayed were excellent. My wife and I went at the end of our last day instead of the Ecology museum and were very pleased with what was there. I would recommend anyone going to check it out. The part of prehistoric man was superb.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank munafop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"opera house"
in 26 reviews
"interesting items"
in 6 reviews
"prehistoric times"
in 5 reviews
"bronze age"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 18 reviews
"per adult"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 20 reviews
"admission fee"
in 4 reviews
"thousand years"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"colonial period"
in 4 reviews
"french occupation"
in 4 reviews
"old quarter"
in 9 reviews
"artifacts"
in 79 reviews
"revolution"
in 19 reviews
"champa"
in 6 reviews
"vietnam"
in 118 reviews
Filter

310 - 314 of 496 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Yet again, on my 4th visit to Hanoi, I went to this museum. It is very, very good - superb exhibits, well displayed in a stunning old French villa. Be aware, there are 2 separate buildings.
Concentrate on the one that goes up to the start of the 20th century. The other building is a rather tedious collection of exhibits about Ho Chi Minh, the Revolution and the American War(as they call it) - it's basically a heap of propaganda.

Do yourself a favour, spend a $1 here !

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Beaumaris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was a rainy morning in hanoi so i took a cab to the museum to spend some time indoors. I was quite surprised to find i spent 90 minutes exploring the museum and did not get bored , as i usually do in museums. There were many interesting exhibits and some quite beautiful ones as well. The museum is spacious , clean and well laid out. With an admission price of VND 20,000 ( us$1.00 ) it is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank jamescheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

As we were on tour and part of our agenda was to visit the History Museum we ventured in. The building itself was lovely and the presentation given by our guide was great, but, unfortunately I was a little bored with it all and wasn't that interested.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The museum was practically deserted. It has an extensive collection of historical artifacts. The displays helped me to better understand Vietnam's turbulent history.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam National Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam National Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing