We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to see all life in Hanoi”

Lake of the Restored Sword (Hoan Kiem Lake)
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Half-Day Hanoi Food Tour by Motorbike
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Amazing Morning Hanoi Bike Tour
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Half-Day Hanoi Motorbike Tour
Ranked #12 of 280 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A rare breed of turtle enjoys this popular lake almost as much as countless locals and tourists. Hoan Kiem Lake is a dynamic daily tableau, from morning walks amid locals doing exercises on the shore, to young couples water-gazing on park benches, to the multiple shopping and sight-seeing opportunities in the vicinity. Centrally located in the city, Hoan Kiem Lake serves as a massive home base, and provides endless people-watching and recreational opportunities on the edge of the Old Quarter.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A place to see all life in Hanoi”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Daily from dawn life goes on around this lake starting with Tai Chi early in the morning and continuing all day with people coming and going though their day, resting, taking lunch, doing exercise, just sitting, just take an hour to people watch here you will see life going on as usual for all sorts of people.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobbyjosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,597
    3,683
    1,238
    114
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing lake in the center of the city”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was here in Mid autumn festival. The tour guide leave us 1 hours to travel around the lake. We had cafe at Four seasons restaurant beside the lake. It was a peaceful afternoon in Autumn in Hanoi. I heard a lot about Hanoi's beauty with peace and that's true. I walk around Hoan Kiem lake and see many ladies do aerobic, so funny but lovely. Parents ride their children in small pram. I did love the atmostphere there...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnethongFan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Place of recreation and relaxation for Hanoi”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Places where people went to Hanoi always visit. Nature of face and feet is located in the heart of the city, around, and the Old Town and the famous hotel so close. I think a little one kilometers around, there is also a small island in the lake, very beautiful. Early morning walk or jog, rest during the day. People are not constantly all day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laury M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A charming site in the middle of the crowded city!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The lake with a great history is a cool oasis in the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The views on the East side are more photogenic with large trees drooping their branches into the water.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth a visit or two but ...”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We enjoyed our time around the lake and particularly early in the morning when there are some very interesting exercise regimes going on. It is a bit of an oasis however we were disappointed that the roads are quite close to the edges in parts and thus the noise is incessant.

Yes you could not come to this city without visiting, I guess we were just hoping it might have had a bit more impact on us with a bit more serenity.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneCanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake of the Restored Sword (Hoan Kiem Lake) also viewed

 

Been to Lake of the Restored Sword (Hoan Kiem Lake)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing