We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long walk worth the visit.”

Ho Chi Minh Presidential Palace Historical Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Private Hanoi Full-Day City Tour with Cyclo Ride
Ranked #23 of 278 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ho Chi Minh opted to live in this modest wooden house rather than the opulent Presidential Palace.
texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“long walk worth the visit.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

First visited the resting place of Ho Chi Minh and then the palace. Beautiful place with a lake in the middle. Should not miss while visiting hanoi

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank winefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    1,261
    640
    79
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A fascinating look at HCM's life”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

As a glimpse into the life of a man that I had learned that day was very learned and well travelled, and didn't seem to abuse his position in the way that some leaders would, I found it interesting to see the relatively frugal way he lived amongst the splendour of the old royal palaces.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
720 reviews
363 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“You can look at it”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Palace grounds are quite nice, and you can follow the crowd walking on the designated path around the outside of the palace, but you don't actually get to see inside the palace at all. In start juxtaposition to the palace, you do also get to see Uncle Ho's stilt house, his small residence right on a small lake, and that is interesting to see his stark lifestyle.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lake side simplicity”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Worth a visit to see how Ho chi min choose to live. nice walk, good little souvenir shopping, interesting garden

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dubaidiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Definitely see while in Hanoi”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The palace and grounds are beautiful and the private residence is quaintly situated on a small lake - all very lovely and a nice respite from the busy city. Definitely worth a visit while in Hanoi as depicts the REAL Ho Chi Minh, a simple man who wanted to live a simple life and win freedom for the people of Vietnam.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dralla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Chi Minh Presidential Palace Historical Site also viewed

 

Been to Ho Chi Minh Presidential Palace Historical Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing