We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”

Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Half-Day Historical Sites Tour of Hanoi
Ranked #21 of 278 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Every year many thousands of respectful citizens and tourists visit the final resting place of the country’s most notable historic figure.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Whilst I didn't go inside, the queues can be up to 2 hours long, the outside is an impressive piece of architecture and the square outside an interesting place to observe visitors and locals alike.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,333
    3,124
    1,994
    330
    153
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long Wait”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Vietnamese endow great honor on Ho Chi Minh. It showed in the long lines waiting to enter the mausoleum. Adults, cadets and schoolchildren in buses and buses, kept coming. The parking area was jammed with all kinds of vehicles. When we arrived on a Sunday, the lines were long, it was raining and cold. The serious and unfriendly faces of the guards didn't melt the chill of the day. But the compound was vast and beautiful. The structure was awaresome. We got to also visit Ho Chi Minh Museum which was next door to the mausoleum. We liked the museum better than the mausoleum. Word of advice - do not visit on a Sunday and come early, very early. If you can't stand long lines - give the mausoleum a miss but it is easier to visit the museum and no long lines.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roslena8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing like a lotus flower!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The architects of the rather grim, grey 1970's mausoleum say it represents a lotus flower though it bears no resemblance that any of us could see! The queue to go inside was about mile long at 9.30 am so we visited the Temple of Literature and returned just before midday and waited for only ten minutes or so. The embalmed body of Ho Chi Minh is displayed in a rather chilly, sombre 'room' where everyone files past without stopping. Go later in the day when the queue subsides as the actual experience is only two or three minutes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Overcast and a misty, it was structure. Unfortunately, we arrived on a Monday, so we were unable to tour the interior. Instead, we walked through the compound and still enjoyed the experience.
A must if in Hanoi.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank klong1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I honour uncle Ho greatly but the production line that is the tour is a bit hollow for me. It is like a wax works figure but the great man deserves to be honoured. Some very badly behaved viet sand Chinese sometimes that get told off by the guards. For god sake turn the bloody phones off and show some respect! Don't go in shorts either the same for pagodas and temples.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenroadpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing