We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shopping”

Hang Gai Street (Street of Hemp)
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.00*
and up
Hanoi Old Quarter Half-Day Walking Tour
Ranked #34 of 276 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Silks, silver and souvenirs draw tourists to this popular street market.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Many wonderful stores, no high pressure sales. Bargaining works well here and the prices are great! Unfortunately, I got there about 9 am and many of the shops were still closed. Wish I had more time to shop this street.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    232
    90
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fabulous shopping street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stumbled on this street and was really surprised at the variety of shops. My best experience was at Tammy Design which offered 4 floors of well curated Vietnamese goods, from linens, lacquerware, horn jewelry, silks, it was all there. Less touristy and more designer in its vibe, I found many things I loved to bring home with me from this store. The staff were friendly and helpful as well. If you want something different from regular touristy offerings, make a bee line here.
Hang Kai Street also has other famous Vietnamese brands like Ipanema bags and Khai Silk near by.
It was a pleasantly surprising area to wonder through - I stumbled on a church, several nice cafes and even a mochi shop in the environs. A final treasure was threetrees diamonds and fine jewelry located at 15 Nha Tho Street, for designer Vietnamese fine jewelry. Pricey but unique.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LaniSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

one of my friend stay here which he told me that in the house he is living, from the ancestors until his generation, they all live together here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Choice, choice, give me choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

An amazing feature of Ha Noi's old quarter is the sense of order out of mayhem. Each street has a purpose. You will find shop after shop of colourful fabrics, cushions, curtains and fashion materials in one street, turn the corner and find stall after stall of stainless steel, handyman tools,hooks and chains, all vying for the same slice of action. Hang Gai street is right in the middle of this immense market place, selling baskets, matting, ropes and woven products. How they all make a living is amazing, but at least you don't have to search for options!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Street for shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is the famous shopping main area in the old town. Anything you need you can find it here. But the quality may not be the same as anywhere else and it is very cheap and you always need to bargain.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlKo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hang Gai Street (Street of Hemp) also viewed

 

Been to Hang Gai Street (Street of Hemp)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing