We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel for what we paid”
Review of Hoa Binh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoa Binh Hotel
Ranked #281 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
boc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good Hotel for what we paid”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Hotel was very clean. Service was very good. Affordable price. Many shops around. I really enjoyed my 6day stay at this hotel. I recommend this hotel for my friends.

Ranaweera Siripala
rasiri@boc.lk

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
20
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed in the Hoa Binh hotel in Feb 08 on a tour of SEA, booked into us by Travel Indochina. Pls don't read other reviews that are about Hoa Binh Palace Hotel - they are quite different. Don't ever stay here - the rooms were a bit musty. luckily we didn't have a room facing the street, because the noise and pollution would have been terrible. The breakfast was uninspiring and a rip off. The buffet dinner was also very overpriced, as was the internet at the business centre.

My major bug with this place was with a mobile phone left in the room. I rang them up a couple hours later and arranged for it to be sent home, however I never received it. They did not reply to any further e-mails requesting further information!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vabu151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

This a 3 Star Hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, only a few minutes walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the Water Puppet theatre.
We booked a double room which was quite small and dark, however, we upgraded to a superior room for an extra $20US which gave us a room that was approx double the size with a spa bath.
Provided you can manage crossing the streets with the constant stream of cars, buses and motor bikes you are in a very central location for shopping, tour offices, cafes, bars and restaurants.
Would recommend it as a good mid range hotel option.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobw2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I liked how the hotel seemed older - it gave it some character. The room had two tellies which I was impressed by, a lovely swish bathroom.

I asked to use ADSL from the room (which had a charge) but it didn't work. I managed somehow to get wireless internet though.

Breakfast was sufficient.

One more thing - the minibar in the room actually had decent prices. $1 for a 500ml Hanoi beer. It was a nice change! :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmrzlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Based on its architecture, the hotel was probably built while the French colonists were still there. My room was comfortable and clean. Staff was very attentive. The rate is about triple that of an average hotel in Hanoi.
Because of traffic noise, I always want to have a room away from streets and windowless if possible (cheaper too!) wherever I travel in Viet Nam.

  • Liked — Good restaurants and shopping nearby.
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BuiDoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

First up, the positive reviews of the Hoa Binh on this website are actually reviews of the Hoa Binh Palace hotel in the Old Quarter, not the Hoa Binh Hotel in the French Quarter. So discard previous positive reviews.

We stayed at the Hoa Binh for a month in Aug/Sept 08. Not by choice - it was booked for us by our volunteer organisation. Do not ever, ever contemplate staying here. You can expect: all rooms to smell stale and like urine (all three we stayed in were like this, it's because they never open the windows to air anything and you can't do it yourself because of the noise and pollution); filthy carpets that will turn your socks grey; the noisiest imaginable rooms at all times due to the traffic; blocked basins; shower heads that fall apart constantly; the world's most uncomfortable pillows; poor air conditioning (and none at all in the common areas of the hotel, which is a problem as you are a pool of sweat before you even leave the hotel for the day); and a breakfast room with below average breakfast wreathed in clouds of smoke. Also, staff tried to rip us off to the tune of $190 at check-out, and the internet and laundry services are about 15 times more expensive than other hotels of this type and on the street.

Basically, for the price it charges this hotel is a joke (only, not a funny one if you actually have to stay here). If you can't afford an expensive hotel, take your pick of any of the reasonably priced ones around like the Elegance or Hoa Binh Palace. If you can afford it, go to the Sofitel Metropole (outstanding in every respect, the best hotel I've experienced anywhere) or the Hilton (pretty good, but nowhere near the Sofitel Metropole.

  • Liked — Location was pretty good
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Probably the best option for a family in the Old quarter. We stayed with our 10 yr old son in this 3 star hotel for 2+1 nights in August 2008. In a few instances the staff went out of their way to satisfy us. For example one morning as we got up late for an excursion to Halong Bay they happily packed for us some pastries to bring on the bus. On the last day whilst we were resting in the lobby the general manager offered to give us a lift to the airport in his own car...
-Brilliant experience

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank remiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
De Syloia Hotel
De Syloia Hotel
#179 of 586 in Hanoi
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#133 of 586 in Hanoi
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#340 of 586 in Hanoi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#101 of 586 in Hanoi
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camellia Hotel
Camellia Hotel
#232 of 586 in Hanoi
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#283 of 586 in Hanoi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoa Binh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoa Binh Hotel

Property: Hoa Binh Hotel
Address: 27 Ly Thuong Kiet St., Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoa Binh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This international class hotel, situated in the city center, is located near the convention center. Hoa Binh Hotel boasts a long history as it was erected in 1926 and still preserves architecture of that time period. Guests will enjoy easy access to a myriad of historical, cultural, and tourist attractions, including the tree-lined Hoan Kiem Lake. The hotel boasts a strategic location that is close to popular tourist attractions such as Hoan Kiem Lake, the old quarter, Quan Su Pagoda, Temple of Literature, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, and One Pillar Pagoda - a historic Buddhist temple. The hotel is also located within walking distance of restaurants, markets, parks, and the Dynasty Citadel. The hotel offers 103 modern rooms that boast authentic Southeast Asian artwork and comfy furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hoa Binh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoa Binh Hanoi
Hotel Hoa Binh
Hoa Binh Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing