We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hoa Binh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$43
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$123
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
$39
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$132
$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
16
40
30
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
40
30
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeace hotelcomfortable walking distancefrench styleold quarterhoan kiem lakestar hotelrooms are spaciousbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 110 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2009

This a 3 Star Hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, only a few minutes walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the Water Puppet theatre.
We booked a double room which was quite small and dark, however, we upgraded to a superior room for an extra $20US which gave us a room that was approx double the size with a spa bath.
Provided you can manage crossing the streets with the constant stream of cars, buses and motor bikes you are in a very central location for shopping, tour offices, cafes, bars and restaurants.
Would recommend it as a good mid range hotel option.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobw2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I liked how the hotel seemed older - it gave it some character. The room had two tellies which I was impressed by, a lovely swish bathroom.

I asked to use ADSL from the room (which had a charge) but it didn't work. I managed somehow to get wireless internet though.

Breakfast was sufficient.

One more thing - the minibar in the room actually had decent prices. $1 for a 500ml Hanoi beer. It was a nice change! :)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmrzlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Based on its architecture, the hotel was probably built while the French colonists were still there. My room was comfortable and clean. Staff was very attentive. The rate is about triple that of an average hotel in Hanoi.
Because of traffic noise, I always want to have a room away from streets and windowless if possible (cheaper too!) wherever I travel in Viet Nam.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BuiDoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

First up, the positive reviews of the Hoa Binh on this website are actually reviews of the Hoa Binh Palace hotel in the Old Quarter, not the Hoa Binh Hotel in the French Quarter. So discard previous positive reviews.

We stayed at the Hoa Binh for a month in Aug/Sept 08. Not by choice - it was booked for us by our volunteer organisation. Do not ever, ever contemplate staying here. You can expect: all rooms to smell stale and like urine (all three we stayed in were like this, it's because they never open the windows to air anything and you can't do it yourself because of the noise and pollution); filthy carpets that will turn your socks grey; the noisiest imaginable rooms at all times due to the traffic; blocked basins; shower heads that fall apart constantly; the world's most uncomfortable pillows; poor air conditioning (and none at all in the common areas of the hotel, which is a problem as you are a pool of sweat before you even leave the hotel for the day); and a breakfast room with below average breakfast wreathed in clouds of smoke. Also, staff tried to rip us off to the tune of $190 at check-out, and the internet and laundry services are about 15 times more expensive than other hotels of this type and on the street.

Basically, for the price it charges this hotel is a joke (only, not a funny one if you actually have to stay here). If you can't afford an expensive hotel, take your pick of any of the reasonably priced ones around like the Elegance or Hoa Binh Palace. If you can afford it, go to the Sofitel Metropole (outstanding in every respect, the best hotel I've experienced anywhere) or the Hilton (pretty good, but nowhere near the Sofitel Metropole.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Probably the best option for a family in the Old quarter. We stayed with our 10 yr old son in this 3 star hotel for 2+1 nights in August 2008. In a few instances the staff went out of their way to satisfy us. For example one morning as we got up late for an excursion to Halong Bay they happily packed for us some pastries to bring on the bus. On the last day whilst we were resting in the lobby the general manager offered to give us a lift to the airport in his own car...
-Brilliant experience

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank remiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews