We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old & smelly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chains First Eden Hotel

Chains First Eden Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chains First Eden Hotel
Ranked #432 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old & smelly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

Dont let the taxi cab driver trick you into staying at this place. We thought this place was close to the city centre, but nowhere near... The room we stayed in was expensive for the area, old and the carpet was wet & smelly and with the combination of heat and wet carpet (its not a great smell). The airconditioner was very old and barely functioning. This is rated at 3 star, but its more like 1 star.

The staff werent that friendly, maybe its because we can understand vietnamese - not very helpful at all and rude in speaking to their customers.


Beware of this place unless you dont mind sleeping in funeral home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bucks. UK
Level Contributor
392 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

I was booked into this hotel as part of a group. It's just on the north edge of the Old Quarter of Hanoi so it's walkable to all the main sights and plenty of restaurants if you don't mind dodging the traffic (or you can take a cyclo). The rooms were a good size, comfortable and clean though the one we had was rather dark its "window" overlooking someone's yard meant it was less noisy than some of the rooms here might be as the hotel is on a corner of two busy roads. There was plenty of hot water in a good shower or bath.

Free internet was available if you were prepared to stand up at reception.

The breakfast was not particularly exciting and it was the only hotel we stayed at in Vietnam that did not provide a kettle for boiling water. Some of the paint work in the room was peeling off.

Yes there's quite a lot of noise around but this is Vietnam! Travel with earplugs in this country - you'll need them - although the noise does die down between midnight and 6am.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

Stayed here in July as part of a group travelling from north to south Vietnam. Having stayed in considerably worse hotels in Europe, I really couldn't find anything to complain about. I was in room 101, directly behind the reception and facing on to the very busy street. The room was clean, with fresh bedlinen on a comfortable bed. A good set of earplugs (my number one essential when travelling) saw that I slept undisturbed.
Breakfast consisted of mainly Vietnamese food - well, we were in their country - and again, it was perfectly adequate.
The staff were friendly and efficient and the position of the hotel was excellent - a walk away from all the main sights.

If you arrive unencumbered with western views and prejudices, you should enjoy your stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no problems
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MartinJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

We arrived late night at this hotel after browsing through our LP guide at the airport, I dont know how this hotel got in there, the room they gave us was very dirty and when we asked the reception to give us a cleaner one they just started laughing at us saying the room was clean (if You consider clean clearly used and not changed sheets with pubic hairs around, then this hotel is for You). We finally got another cleaner room at 3 am and they asked 55$, we were so tired that we accepted, however the next day we got a better, cleaner and more central hotel for 20$!!!

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, breakfast, service...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SkytravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

I stayed here in Feb of 2008. The staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were a good size and clean. However, the beds were extremly uncomfortable. I stayed in a twin share room and the matress was obviously poor quality foam which after one night left me feeling a bit pained. The food there is ok but i suggest crossing the road to the galaxy hotel for a meal. Location isn't too bad but i suggest spending an extra few dollars for the comfort.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Desdaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
367 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

Well it is hard to get away from the constand engine and horn noise in Hanoi and this hotel doesn't do it. Unless you have experienced Hanoi it is difficult to believe just how busy the traffic is and you have to have a great deal of nerve to cross the roads. The hotel is reasonably modern and the room was decently equipped and clean. The breakfast is served in a pleasant room at the top of the building and there is a reasonable selection.The tourist sights of Hanoi are all within easy access and there are numerous restaurants within walking distance. Try to avoid a room with a view to the front.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed at The Chains First Eden in Hanoi and in all honesty for the price it is we were thrilled.

The reception staff spoke basic english. The rooms were quite a good size and they were clean. The airconditioner and the fridge worked well. Towels and linen were soft and nice. Every day they were serviced. Breakfast was included although it was slanted towards traditional cuisine.

The doormen were very polite and helpful and there is always a taxi within a minute away.

The position is fantastic and you can easily walk to the old quarter and shop to your hearts content.

All of Hanoi is loud and this street is no different.

Across the road in the park they have a weekely tai chi class for the locals and it is fun to watch and free to participate in. There were at least 200 people attending each one while we were there.

One of the main things that truly impressed me was as we left the hotel to go to the airport, they called a taxi for us. It dropped us off at the airport but I had left my wallet with our tickets and passport etc in the cab. I paniced burst into tears and thought it was gone forever. A lovely lady at the airport called the hotel for me and I spoke to the receptionist who remembered me and the taxi driver. She phoned the cab driver and had him return to the airport immediately so I could see if my wallet was still there. I was expecting the worst. But I was stunned when he drove up 30 minutes later and my wallet was still inside WITH all of it's contents.

Fabulous service.

There are a few good restaurants nearlby that are good to eat at. Local tours at great prices can be booked directly at the hotel. There is an ATM about 200 m down the street and an armed guard closeby as well.

For the money it is great. I have stayed at far more expensive places and not received such good service.

  • Liked — Friendly clean convenient
  • Disliked — The small lift and the deep fried eggs for breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Jetadventureguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Somerset West Lake
Somerset West Lake
#172 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.7 mi away
First Eden Hotel
First Eden Hotel
#249 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
CWD Hotel
CWD Hotel
#455 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
1.5 mi away
Dragon Hotel
Dragon Hotel
#174 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super Hotel Candle
Super Hotel Candle
#218 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chains First Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chains First Eden Hotel

Property: Chains First Eden Hotel
Address: 3 A Phan Dinh Phung St., Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Hotel Class:3 star — Chains First Eden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Chains 1st Eden Hotel
Chains First Eden Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing