We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and musty”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Camellia II Hotel

Camellia II Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia II Hotel
Ranked #409 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smelly and musty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

Although this place was in a decent location in the Old Quarter, it wasn't worth the $17 US that we paid to stay there. The room we booked was spacious, but the sounds we could hear from the room made for a difficult sleep. But that was not as bad as the smell in the room. The best way to describe the smell was like a musty bathroom. After opening the windows and turning on the fan and A/C, we just couldn't get rid of it. The bathroom was damp and cold too. We pretty much tried to stay out in the city as late as we could to minimize the amount of time we had to stay in our room! This place is only good if you're looking for cheap accomodation for one night and can't smell anything! But even at that, I'm sure there are cheaper or comparable places that are better.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WinnipegNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

I enjoyed my stay in most of the Vietnam hotels until I stayed at Camellia II. The hotel had overbooked and even though I had rang the hotel the day before to book a tour with them, no mention was made of the fact that there was no room at the hotel. When I arrived around midnight we were told to check in to the hotel next door which was a dive. When we eventually moved back the following day I found the room dirty and not worth the price. I would not recommend this hotel and found it to be damp and in need of serious repair. In comparison with other hotels of similar price this was definitely of a very low standard.

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Amas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

We booked 2 nights online before arriving in Vietnam. The room was big, but very tired. For US$26 we could (and did) find a much better guesthouse (Golden Sun).

Pros: Staff were friendly, room was large, room had a balcony that was nice to watch the world go by from.

Cons: Breakfast was revolting; no elevator (we were on the second floor so not a big issue for us); the balcony doors may as well have been paper with the amount of street noise coming into the room (we woke up at 6.30 each morning because of the noise - this was the main deciding factor in our decision to move guesthouses), the neighbours on the balcony across from us have a morning routine where they crank up bad Vietnamese music and spit water on their plants at 7.00am; the room was very tired; some sort of offensive pickled vegetable/animal smell kept appearing in the lobby in the middle of the day (we assume this was their lunch) and made us a little nauseous.

Would we stay there again? Not likely. Especially if there is room at Golden Sun (the best guesthouse we have ever stayed in).

  • Liked — Big room
  • Disliked — Noise!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gradom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

Booked by email. When we arrived at 2200 the place was full so they walked us to a "sister "hotel. It was not however, part of the chain and it was a piece of junk that was under construction. We left our bags there to find another hotel. When we returned to get our bags they wanted to charge us 50% of the rate for "holding the room". Many phone calls later the Camellia email booking agent moved the buy out to $5US. That unfriendly process took 45 minutes.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2006

Id have to rate this place as 7/10

Positives : staff were great and helpful, as were the tour staff IF you knew what expected prices were for tours and flights ( I got the distinct impression theyd have charged more but as I had researched it thoroughly for my trip and was prepared to walk over road to airline, they matched the price). They recommended a hotel in Hue which I checked on net and it was excellent. Brekkies were good value also.

Negatives: The hotel is old and showing its age ( need repainting and refurbishing). Why cavernous places dont get local art work to decorate walls is beyond me! No lift so you may be in for lots of stairs. I had asked for deluxe room and no stairs because of an old injury when booking 2 months prior - on arrival I got standard room ( on road side, and second floor). The road side rooms are extremely noisy even with my earplugs.

When I wasnt upgraded to deluxe on day 2 ( none available) I went down to camellia 4 down the road- they had a lift and the rooms appeared better for same price - and once I said Id be moving all of a sudden a deluxe room was available!

Id stay here again IF room not on front of premises, and if on first floor.

Camellia 4 better value for money and in same general area.

  • Liked — staff very good - brekkies quite good
  • Disliked — noise if staying in front rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — rooms must be off front of property and on first floor - no lift
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank noosa_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2006

They were very sweet at this hotel and spoke good English. They upgraded us to a Delux which was nice but...the balcony doors give NO protection against the street noise below and...there's a dance club across the road that plays thumping music from 10am to 10pm. A shame as, apart from that, it was a great place. Clean, tidy and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Boo-bah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at Camilla 2. There is a really large room on the second floor that is great for a family. A bit strange, since the room's widows look out over the lobby. The sheers are kept drawn so privacy isn't an issue, and light comes in fine (the Lobby has big windows to the outside. The point is, you have a really quiet room right in the heart of the noisy Old Quarter. Free internet, free breakfast, and luggage storage. The tour desk was helpful, not pushy. Last, but not least, the staff seems to love children and we were even able to hire one of the young women there to babysit so we could have a night out. Recommended, but note this hotel has no elevator. (The Camilla 3 down the street does have an elevator.)

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince 1 Hotel Hanoi
Prince 1 Hotel Hanoi
#314 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#4 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Camellia Hotel
Camellia Hotel
#302 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Suite Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
#185 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia II Hotel

Property: Camellia II Hotel
Address: 13 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Camellia Ii Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing