We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #173 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Normandie, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad location”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights. Honestly, this hotel can fit all the standards for a 3-4 stars hotel in Western Europe. There are nice rooms, a good restaurant, a nice swimming pool and a casino... It's a very comfortable hotel, but its weakness comes from its location which is far from the touristic centers (Old Quarter, French Quarter, etc.), then it makes you rely on the cabs (which often cheat on their price...).

But the particularity of this hotel is the club called "Boss KTV" (a large bar with a dancing floor and some karaoke rooms around), located in the basement and which opens at night : I went there to have a drink but as soon as you enter the place you're surrounded by dozens of Vietnamese young ladies and several Mamasan who are proposing you their "services". It was astonishing... It's a huge club to get a call-girl.
If you're looking for this kind of "services", the Fortuna Hotel is definitively the place to go!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurentHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    173
    51
    17
    6
See reviews for
5
15
27
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Good hotel for stay. But the facilities is not conveneince such as small meeting room. Good massage place on top floor.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
219 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed here for few nights. I had paid extra for executive floor.
Short summary below.

Pros:
- 5th floor executive lounge offered good space for quiet breakfast & afternoon chill outs
- Free flow of drinks and small food daily between 5pm and 7:30pm
- All the taxi drivers seemed to know this hotel

Cons:
- Check-in in 5th floor took ages
- Room is very tired
- Bathroom is pretty awful
- TV did not work properly
- Wireless internet access did have many problems, not reliable
- Hotel lobby and 5th floor lounge were both very cold (I had to use overcoat)
- Breakfast is not good, limited selection and under par juices (pho was good)
- Service in lobby restaurant was very slow
- Cleaning ladies wanted to enter rooms before 8am (had to keep don't disturb sign on door)
- I think hotel may have a scam with taxi drivers, prices quoted to airport are constantly 350.000 dong, which is way too much

This hotel is past its glory. Everybody seemed to know Fortuna in Hanoi. Hotel is no doubt ok, if its compared with other Hanoi hotels. I would not recommend this hotel, and would select another hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

This is an average, decent 3.5 stars hotel in a not very good location in Hanoi if you want to enjoy the old French part of the city. Not the best place for tourists but an OK place for a business trip given the extended range of services in the hotel.

Lobby area is a bit of a mess with the lobby restaurant being a bit disappointing in terms of food quality and ambiance.

Rooms are OK, clean, to the small side but with an impressive jacuzzi hot tube, which I am not sure is what a business traveler needs. I would have a appreciated some more space in the room and a bigger desk to work than the jacuzzi hot tube.

Internet in the room is very fast and that's a very strong point for the business traveler.

Breakfast is very average and generally the food in the hotel didn't impressed me.

Staff is very helpful, with decent English and eager to help. The best asset of the hotel I think is its staff.

I would not recommend this hotel for tourism in Hanoi but if you have a meeting at the Hanoi Convention Center (which is a 10 minutes drive even in the rush hours) then it could be an OK deal for a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip_Datum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

i love it, i feel very comfortable, and very happy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnhVuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Location is not that convenient, as it is about 15-20 minutes taxi away from Old Quarter, taxi fee around VND 50K.
Hotel is locating on busystreet, which has restaurant around, but the road is so busy, and driver always used horn to make noise. I woke up at around 7am, because of these car horns, very annoying.
Price is around US$ 105 per night, pretty pricy, and with this price, still charge you Internet separately.
Room is OK, toilet is clean and tidy. room service always ready.
I stayed there because the reputation of the nightclub 'The Boss' in basement. As a solo traveler, this place is lovely, but pricy.
The million dollar club is a slot machine casino, which didn't attract me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fartylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I did not expect much from Fortuna Hotel because on first viewing, it does not look like the average 4 star hotel. I was booked into a deluxe room by my company which was really worth the money. The room was huge and had a 45 inch TV screen and a large jacuzzi. I would recommend Fortuna for the room size and the friendly service, it doesnt have much else besides this. I usually use the pool and gym in every hotel I stay in and I do not recall Fortuna having a pool. It did have a decent gym though. Breakfast was quite average but there was a respectable spread.
The hotel is very central right on one of the main roads. Other than this, I recall going down for a drink at the nightclub in Fortuna. It was called 'The Boss'. Let's just say that I wouldn't take my wife or girlfriend to this club. At one point, around 50 attractive women trooped in a straight line! Clearly, they were professionals.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sach5897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
#106 of 586 in Hanoi
365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Hanoi
Hotel Nikko Hanoi
#84 of 586 in Hanoi
732 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hanoi Hotel
Hanoi Hotel
#254 of 586 in Hanoi
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 586 in Hanoi
1,767 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#55 of 586 in Hanoi
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#100 of 586 in Hanoi
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Hotel Hanoi

Property: Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
Address: 6B Lang Ha Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#50 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fortuna Hotel Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultivating the latest trend of Asian hospitality, the hotel is designed to the height of modern luxury with meticulous attention to details and dedicated service for discerning business and leisure travelers. Perfectly located in the financial and commercial district of Hanoi, within close proximity to the Old Quarter, steps away from Giang Vo Exhibition Center and minutes driving to National Convention Center, Fortuna Hotel is the ideal venue for business, leisure, meetings or events. Be it 350 well-appointed guest rooms, exclusive Executive Club floors, exquisite restaurants and dining experience, fully equipped state of the art fitness & spa facilities or 2 Grand Ballrooms & 6 multi-functional meeting room, it is a perfect venue for business or leisure stay. FACILITIES Guest Rooms & Suites 17 floors with 350 rooms & suites Capital Lounge The executive floor located on the 5th floor Dining 1. Tiffin All Day Dining - Lobby Level All-day a la carte: 11:00 a.M. - 10:00 P.M. Buffet breakfast: 6:00 a.M. - 10:00 A.M. Saturday-Sunday 6:00 a.M.-10:30 A.M 2. May Man Chinese Cuisine - 2nd Level Lunch from 11:00 a.M. - 2:00 P.M. (A la carte & dim sum) Dinner from 5:30 p.M. - 10:00 P.M. (A la carte) Opening hours: 6.00 A.M. - 3.00 A.M. 3. Emperor Japanese KTV Restaurant - 2nd Level Lunch from 11:30 a.M - 2:00 p.M (a la carte + lunch set menu) Dinner from 6:00 p.M. - 10:00 P.M. (A la carte + set menu) 4. Coffee Lounge - Lobby Level Open daily from 7:00 a.M. - 11 P.M. Relaxation & Recreational Facilities 1. Spa de Palace - Penthouse - 17th Level Operating hours: 10:00 a.M. - 12 Midnight 2. Sen Spa & Beauty Salon - 5th Level Operating hours: 10:00 a.M. - 11:00 P.M. 3. Fitness One - 5th Level Operating hours: Monday to Sunday. 06:00 A.M. - 10:00 P.M. 4. Swimming Pool - 5th Level Operating hours: Monday to Sunday. 06:00 A.M. - 10:00 P.M. 5. Millionaire Club - Lobby Level Opening hours: 10.30 A.M. - 6.30 A.M. 6. The Boss - Niteclub. KTV - Basement Level Opening hours: 6.00 P.M. - 12.00 Midnight MEETINGS & EVENTS 2 Grand Ballrooms & 6 Meeting rooms of various sizes and capacities with a well thought out space to suit a wide range of business or social events Victoria Ballroom Golden Ballroom Sentosa Laguna Marina Merlion I + II + III ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortuna Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Fortuna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing