We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good location for sightseeing”
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #105 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Not a good location for sightseeing”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of a Vietnam/Cambodia trip. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the rooms very quiet. The breakfast buffet was good but the 2 evening meals we had there were inconsistent- some dishes great and others not. I would not stay there again or recommend it for tourists as it's location is too far away from the main sights( yes, you can get a taxi, though we did have one - not got by the hotel- nasty experience with a taxi driver who refused to accept the meter price and aggressiveley asked for way over, but..) and easliy accessible resturants beyond street ones.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLCgladstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel H, Front Office Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
It ‘s been our pleasure to serve you & we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    382
    131
    18
    10
See reviews for
87
301
51
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I have stayed numerous times at the Sunway for business trips.

For business purposes it is a very good hotel. Reasonable price, quiet location, no fuss.

I wouldn't recommend for tourists as it is not well located with respect to tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel H, Front Office Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
It ‘s been our pleasure to serve you & we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Really liked that the hotel has double paned windows, so you don't get any of the honking traffic noise. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent. Service was excellent and very friendly. Hotel room was reasonably clean. Food from restaurant and room service was a bit hit and miss. Do try the salmon fettucini - amazing - but don't try the spaghetti. Also loved that the water was drinkable, and the food from the hotel seemed pretty trustworthy - no one in our large working group got sick at all.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanuckabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel H, Front Office Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
It ‘s been our pleasure to serve you & we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2009

This is a mediocre 3 star hotel pretending to be a 4 star.
Rooms were very mediocre if not poor, no wifi access (this is the 21st century!), terrible bar (no atmosphere - it is described in the hotel literature as "lovely bar with a stunning panoramic view of the French Riveria" - it is actually a dingy area at the back of the lobby with no natiral light and a few terrible "french-ish" print on the walls.
Location is average and is much firther than the supposed "10 minutes" walk to the lake. More like 20-30 depending on how good you are at navigating the Hanoi traffic at junctions.
All in all I would not stay here again. We stayed in a much smaller "boutique" hotel in the old town for 4 days afterwards and the difference in the overall experinece was immense.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fullpassport1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotel H, Front Office Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for taking time to inform us of your less than satisfactory experience. It is only through friends like you who would write that we get to know of our shortcomings. Please be assured that a more vigorous training programme has been instituted for our team so as to improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#67 of 586 in Hanoi
366 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#151 of 586 in Hanoi
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#81 of 586 in Hanoi
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#132 of 586 in Hanoi
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#90 of 586 in Hanoi
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Property: Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#57 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#64 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing