We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #106 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at a better than expected hotel in the middle of Hanoi. On a quiet side street making sleep easy, yet close to good eateries, walking distance to many sites including the lake in the middle of the city, as well as shopping areas. Although a bit far to walk to the old district, but taxi's are cheap. Hotel offers a very large breakfast, although with an understandable Asian bias.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed the location and the quiet and serene surrounding in this part of town yet close to all the facilities and places of interest. Also glad our doubled glazed windows in all rooms kept out the noise for your peaceful sleep. Have noted your comments on our extensive breakfast too.

It has been our pleasure serving you and we thank you again for staying with us.

Guest Relations Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    367
    128
    18
    10
See reviews for
83
288
49
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice hotel,although a little overpriced I thought.
Rooms clean and made up every day.
Staff are very good with organising tours, cyclos very cheap through them.
Beautiful breakfast.i booked 3 extra nights online and some how my breakfasts were not included,so breakfast was a bit pricy at 400.000 dongs.
Although dinner there was great and very cheap at 150.000 dong.

Room Tip: No complaints about my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our staff, delicious buffet breakfast and dinner.

We are glad to have contributed positively towards your memorable holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for a total of three nights, as part of an organised tour.

The reception area is very spacious and pleasant. The staff are very friendly and were more than happy to take some group photos for us.

The rooms are adequate, but having stayed in two different rooms, we found them to be somewhat 'samey'.

We only ate breakfast here. It is clear from the choice, beef bacon and chicken sausages, as well as the arrow in the corner of the ceiling pointing to Mecca in the bedrooms, that this hotel caters for Muslims. I don't have an issue with this, but what about non-Halal guests - no pork!? Last year we stayed in Egypt and found this choice of menu. However, I would expect this in a Muslim country, but in Vietnam??????

We also found the bar (compared to other hotel's that we've stayed in) to be expensive.

Overall, a nice hotel with very attentive staff, in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyM_and_IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a frank review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We have taken note of your comments on our breakfast and will strive to improve on some of the things that may not have lived up to your expectations.

Sunway caters for an international client base with over 50% of our business from Europe. We know it is not easy to please everyone but are glad that you enjoyed our good service, facilities and appreciated our staff.
.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

A well placed hotel with a lovely entrance and reception. The bar area adjacent is swish, the bar snacks very good, and the entertainment very pleasing. The rooms may not live up to the marble reception area, but are clean and serviceable. The staff could not do enough for you. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our lovely entrance and reception, bar service, pleasing entertainment, good facility and service.
We are glad to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I loved this hotel! The rooms were big, clean and pretty. The staff at the reception more than friendly and always helpful. I stayed for three nights and cherish the experience. The staff at the reception gave me a map and easy directions how to walk to attractions. It takes 30 minutes to walk to the lake, 35 to Old Town and 35 to the Hanoi Hilton. I took a taxi to go to the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum at 7.30 a.m. because I wanted to be first in line, but I walked back to the hotel after the visit. The breakfast buffet is delicious, especially the selection of fresh fruit. This hotel is as friendly as the people of Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frauke Elisabet... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast buffet and good facility and service.
We are glad to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Very nice hotel just off the main area in Hanoi. Had three nights here.
The breakfasts and other meals we took here were more than adequate and of good quality. All were buffet style so you can have as much or as little as you choose.
Reception and other staff were efficient and cheerful. The hotel is situated just a short walk from the main areas and other amenities.
The downside to this hotel for me was the room smelled damp as if it had not seen proper ventilation for a while. The view from the room window looked onto a neighbouring brick wall. We weren't too bothered as we weren't spending too much time in the room.
Walking out might not be every-one's cup of tea. Pavements are in shocking condition and often blocked by mopeds. Walking into the road requires some care! Not for the faint hearted.
Free wi-fi worked well and was consistent
Not the best hotel we've stayed in but not the worst by a long chalk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeromeozeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments on our food, staff and facilities are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated these.

Your comments on the poor condition of the pavements have been noted and we will continue to highlight this to the local authorities for improvement

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Vietnam tour. This hotel is quiet, away from the main streets and the old town. The service was good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good and lots of varieties, catering for all nationalities, but it can get very busy on 2 morning we had to wait for a table and on the other the restaurant was completely empty. The rooms are adequate, comfortable and clean and good WiFi signal. It was not too far to go to the old town, with a taxi costing about $3, the surrounding areas also have some good local restaurants, but walking the local streets at night can be a challenge.(Wear some sensible shoes) The pavements are not very even and some streets are dark, but not in a bad way, it was peaceful and we had no problems walking out for dinner.
If you have a late night flight as we did, we asked the hotel if we could keep the room on, rather than have to check out at 12:00. We were informed that we could keep the room on until 18:00, but there would be a $60 charge and if we wanted to keep it on until 21:00 when we were to be collected it would cost $120. My wife & I decided rather than pay $60 or $120 we would check out at 08:00 and do a day trip around Hanoi to take in all the sights that we hadn't seen and spend our money that way.
That morning we checked out at 08:00 and informed the reception of our intentions and we would return around 19:00 to take a shower in the spa prior to getting our transfer. We were told that this was not a complimentary service and there would be a $10 fee to use the shower, my wife then stepped in and spoke to the manager, who after some persuading waivered the $10 fee.
I am glad he did because the Spa is in need of some TLC and I would not have been happy if I'd paid $10. One other slight negative about the hotel is there is no swimming pool, having stayed at 3 other hotels in Vietnam with pools we did miss this, so if a pool is an essential must, then perhaps consider somewhere else.

That being said it did not taint our view of this hotel and we would stay here again if we returned to Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our buffet breakfast and services.Due to space constraints we are unable to provide a swimming pool. However during winter this is soething that’s often not missed.
We are happy to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#125 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#157 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#80 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#82 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Property: Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#57 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing