We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #108 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014. We must pay tribute to Mr. Nguyen Manh Tien-Tano for his helpfulness in sorting out a problem. Also Annie who organized our trip to Ha long Bay. All the staff at the hotel were brilliant. On the day we left I caught a stomach bug and the lobby bar staff produced a local tea for me which helped a lot. No charge!! Would stay there again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Madam,
We thank you for taking time to write to Tripadvisor about us and for your wonderful comments about our helpful staff particularly Tano whom we have informed.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to have contributed positively towards your memorable holiday in Hanoi.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Guest Relations Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 758 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel was the last of our hotels after 15 days touring the area of South East Asia. We were happy to see we had such a nice cocktail area where you could sit and relax while waiting to figure out your evening plans. Since the hotel was full, the dining room was also full, so the staff let us order a la carte and served us in the bar area. This was a great idea, as we really did not want such a large meal that evening. The staff was helpful, and the next evening we did do the buffet, which was plentiful with seafood, fresh shrimp and an assortment of other items as well.
The staff was helpful, as I had trouble with the internet, which was available throughout the hotel. If the hotel is crowded, make sure you have reservations for the buffet. This hotel has a special electrical port to charge several phones etc at a time.

Room Tip: If a view is important, make sure to check you room first. Our view was a concrete wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a pleasant review about Sunway Hotel.

Your comments are great motivation and have been read out to all our staff.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Guest Relations Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Hotel is in need of some redecoration but it isn't exactly urgent. It is decent and very clean. The Staff is really helpful and it has a very good free wifi connection in the rooms. The location of the Hotel is a bit complicated but if you like walking and mingling with the locals, you will realized that everything you need to see or go to in Hanoi is very close by, just be careful at nite with all the cables and uneven streets. I would recommend it as an alternative option if you find yourself over there and cannot afford a very expensive Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about our Hotel.
It is always so motivating to know that our guests appreciate our efforts in providing the best for them.

An upgrading programme for the rooms is scheduled for June this year and will be carried out in stages. If you have stayed in any other Sunway hotels you will understand how we pride ourselves to provide the best for our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Guest Relations Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here 6th & 7th March--hotel clean and welcoming, staff friendly and helpful.
Bedroom acceptable, bathroom small--shower, wc & wash basin.
Nice bar, not expensive for a hotel.
Area, however, has some risks.
Shortly after arrival, I had to got to a pharmacy nearby. Locality not well lit ( it was night time ) and a fight broke out amongst some local persons over a scooter. Didn't involve me, but would be a concern for me if my wife was alone I had gone alone ). However, this is not the hotels fault, but travellers may want to know that the area isn't the best place in Hanoi to stay in.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We are happy to hear that our hotel has been a decent one and thanks for wonderful comments about our friendly and helpful staff. Your comments are a great encouragement to all of our staff here.

We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations about our location. Location is a matter of perspective and preference as you have correctly pointed out.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi. We’d love to serve you again soon.

Guest Relations Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights early March 2014 .This hotel and Hanoi were the final chapter of a 4 part Cambodia and Vietnam experience and both this hotel and Hanoi turned out to be the most disappointing. The area around the hotel is decidedly earthy and a little intimidating. The central areas in the hotel such as the lobby and restaurant are all well appointed but the bedrooms are 2-3 star only .The carpets in the rooms and corridors are badly marked and the bedroom decor is tired in the extreme. The hotel excursions organiser Kelly planned a Halong Bay trip on our behalf following email communications which went very smoothly. The 4 hour bus journey each way is tiring but the only way to see Halong which was magnificent. Bar food was reasonably priced and extremely tasty ,you can tell you are eating food made by people who care. Staff really accommodating and caring .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitten001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for taking time to write to Tripadvisor about us and for your wonderful comments about our courteous staff and the bar food that you enjoyed.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a wonderful trip to Halong Bay which is organised by Kelly, our Guest Relation Officer. Your comments have been a tremendous encouragement not only to Kelly but to all of us here.

We thank you for highlighting some of our shortcomings as it is only through guests such as yourself who care to write that we get to know and improve ourselves.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Guest Relations Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at the Sunway for 2 nights in Feb. Arrived early and had to wait for rooms so we paid for a extra breakfast rooms were ready in no time. Breakfast was ok plenty of choice but always luke warm as well as coffee. Perhaps if they has a microwave to heat up food for some come customers to use. Soon got the knack of asking for hot milk or hot water for coffee. Rooms fab.. clean and well maintained.
Best place to go for restaurants and bars is the Old Quarter about 1 mile away taxi about £1 each way.
Would stay again...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated the excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms and service. We have taken steps to ensure the temperature on the induction cookers are increased.
We are glad to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at the Sunway Hotel in Hanoi for a week and received excellent service. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room was average size. The hotel lobby was very home and they bar service was exceptional. The dinner buffet was incredible as the cook grilled fresh shrimp and other sea food. The dessert buffet was also excellent. The front desk was fantastic as they arranged several tours for us. The Spa was good as we had a great massage. The location is close to the downtown area. Great hotel to stay in when in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated the excellent breakfast and dinner, comfortable rooms, great staff and service. Glad to contribute positively towards making your holiday in Hanoi a memorable one.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#72 of 599 in Hanoi
406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#93 of 599 in Hanoi
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#138 of 599 in Hanoi
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#100 of 599 in Hanoi
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#58 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#64 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $45 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing