We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice”
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #109 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The rooms are clean and secure however the power points were unsafe and shorting out. The lifts are very small for the size of the hotel making using one extremely slow process during checkout hours - I waited over 15 minutes just to get down to the lobby as large group was checking out. Buffet breakfast was strange as hot foods were Luke warm and foods that should have been chilled ,along with juices,were warm. The location was not one I would recommend for people wanting to wander around and shops were not within walking distance of hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamDunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience in our hotel.
It is only through friends such as you who would care to write that we get to know of our shortcomings and improve. We regret we did not live up to your expectations this time around. However your comments are noted and will spur us to regain our usually excellent services and great meals.
The advantage of our location however is the quiet and peaceful surroundings which many appreciate.
Thank you for staying with us and it was a pleasure serving you.
E-commerce Manager
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    380
    131
    18
    10
See reviews for
84
298
51
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel fine generally with helpful staff the restaurant is good with excellent choice and quality food. Rooms are ok - we thought this hotel was ideal for our three night stay. Locality wise this hotel was good for our trips with Buffalo tours who are very good. ..........
In all a good hotel for a short stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about your recent stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are glad that you enjoyed our excellent choice & quality of food and friendly service. It has been a pleasure serving you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on the last leg of our trip through Vietnam. It is some way from the airport – an hour’s drive. This modern hotel itself is in a location you wouldn’t necessarily expect (well we didn’t), amongst a lot of very old streets and houses. The staff were always very friendly and the daily breakfast was more than adequate. Our superior room was very clean; we had not real complaints. We did wish that the view out of our window had been better; it was the rear wall of another building. Our only gripe was that there was a mix up regarding the room when we went on our trip to Halong Bay which did really annoy us at the time. However, it was resolved in a professional and friendly manner in the end

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation for all of us and we are glad that we have been able to contribute positively towards making your holiday in Hanoi a memorable one.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights extra in Hanoi, we started at the Silk Path Hotel & needed to move to this Hotel. Our room was large & extremely clean with complimentary snacks & drinks. Staff were extremely friendly - nothing too much trouble. Buffet breakfast was plentiful & excellent. We had the buffet dinner that had excellent variety & quality. It is a little out of the town centre but an easy walk that we enjoyed. Would happily stay again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Suggested reply
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for writing such a complimentary review of our Hotel and your appreciation of the staff, services and excellent buffet breakfast and dinner you enjoyed during your stay with us.
Your comments have been disseminated to all the staff and they are all very happy that they have had this privilege of serving you and contributing towards your memorable holiday in Hanoi.
It has indeed been our privilege and pleasure serving you and we look forward to having you with us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you again and with kind regards.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was an unforgettable experience for our travelling time when staying in this hotel. Clean and comfortable room, quite surroundings though it doesn't have good look. Breakfast was good with full of choices and restaurant's receptionists in morning were always smiling and willing to help. Check in was speedy, especially thanks to the help of Bellman, Huu Nguyen, we could accommodate our self quickly. This man was also very enthusiastic when showing you locations. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Do ask for room with view as those without view look very stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theaussie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for writing such a complimentary review of our Hotel and highlighting the details and appreciation of the staff and services you enjoyed during your stay with us.
Your comments have been disseminated to Mr. Huu Nguyen and the rest of the staff and they are all very happy that they have had this privilege of serving you and contributing towards your memorable holiday in Hanoi.
It has indeed been our privilege and pleasure serving you and we look forward to having you with us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you again and with kind regards.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

At the end of a private tour of Vietnam in September 2013 we stayed two nights (on and off) in this surprisingly nice hotel. It was chosen by the travel company - and what a good choice is has been. We would not hesitate to make this our preference if staying in Hanoi at a future occasion. The friendliness and service cannot be faulted. The nights were quiet, the beds comfortable, the vanity area very clean and functioning perfectly, no smoking floors and rooms were exactly that: not a trace of smoking residue. The breakfast buffet was adequately catered for western style fare. The hotel is also well situated for convenient access, by either walking or by taxi, to surrounding attractions, such as the lake, the marvelous buildings from the colonial times, quality restaurants and the night market. Just a pity that due to our daily itineraries we could not spend more time on the premises. Our overall rating, even though we haven't used all available services, is 4+. The usage time of 10 minutes per session of the PC in the lobby could perhaps be increased, but no worries, the front counter staff and the lovely Ms Annie Anh was just too happy to assist with extensions. When staying in Hanoi, you can't go wrong to choose this hotel. Thank you for a happy stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for writing such a complimentary review of our Hotel and highlighting the details and appreciation of the staff and services you enjoyed during your stay with us.
Your comments have been disseminated to Annie and the rest of the staff and they are all very happy that they have had this privilege of serving you and contributing towards your memorable holiday in Hanoi.

We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A comfortable tourist hotel close to interesting walking areas with lots of local life. The hotel struggles when too many people come to breakfast at the same time. Breakfast room not big enough and tables claeared slowly. We also returned after a sightseeing day to find room not made up. Having said that all the staff were extremely polite. The rooms were big and well equipped.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for time to write an honest and frank review about your experience at Sunway Hotel and Hanoi.
It is only through friends such as you who would care to write that we get to know of our shortcomings and improve.
We regret the Allante Restaurant is not big enough and tables cleared slowly that were not up to your expectations.
Thank you for staying with us and it has been a pleasure serving you.
E-commerce Manager
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#66 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#156 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#84 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#135 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#89 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Property: Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#57 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing