We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #104 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sunway Hotel for two evenings. We arrived at the hotel at 8.30 a.m., following a long flight from the UK. There were several other parties checking in at the same time, however there were a number of staff available to help speed up the process. Although check-in is not until 2.00 p.m., we were offered an early check-in for $20. Our room was spotlessly clean, extremely sound-proof and very comfortable. Breakfast was impressive – a vast array for all tastes – and all food was of impeccable quality.
I do understand where people are coming from, regarding the location of the hotel. However, as a tourist I enjoyed the steady ‘mooch’ to the Old Quarter – taking in the sights and sounds, and a taxi back was very reasonable.
To conclude a very happy and comfortable two nights at the Sunway, made even more so by the extremely friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefEverill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

We thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review to Tripadvisor about our excellent service & breakfast. Your comments are a tremendous encouragement to all of us at Sunway Hotel.
We are glad that we have been able to contribute positively towards making your holiday in Hanoi & Sunway a memorable one

Thank you and looking forward to serving you or your friends again soon.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager– Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    383
    132
    19
    10
See reviews for
90
303
51
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location of the hotel is quite far away from the city, but good if you want to have a quite & good rest. The room is just standard, but the breakfast buffet is fortunately excellent. The facilities are reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a good and fair report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments about the location being quiet and peaceful are spot on although it is a mere 25 minutes walk or 10 minutes by taxi to Hoan Kiem lake & the city. Location is a matter of perspective and preference as you have correctly pointed out.

We are happy that you enjoyed our excellent buffet breakfast spread.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I am a business traveller and i just checked in to sunway hotel at 7pm

Asked for recommendations for dinner and was led to the excellent indochine located 5
Mins away by taxi.

Thereafter, spent an hour in the gym, had my tea at the lounge, sent my wet gym gear for laundry service, took my 2 bananas and biscuits from the minibar. Guess what? Its all complimentary.

Sunway is beautiful in its way. It serves to delight. It may not be your flashy ferrari, its your dependable toyota. It performs consistently and the management over performs by throwing in freebies akin to sports rims, body kit.

I am sure that sunway tailors their customer retention program accordingly and you may not enjoy the same freebies as i do. I would like to assure you, that the beds are comfy and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy-KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience with us and are happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your holiday in Hanoi and Sunway Hotel a memorable one. Your comments are a great encouragement to all of us. We will continue to deliver the same excellent service to all our guests as it is a joy & privilege to be able to do this.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi. We’d love to look after you again & your friends who may be coming this way

Yours sincerely,

General Manager – Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel service staffs are very attentive. Food is good too. Hotel building is a little old but amenities are in good condition. The only thing that is not up to standard is their spa and manicure. Therapist have no knowledge about manicure at all. Truly disappointing. Unless you have a good manicurist, please take off this service. Better off without it. My nails were ruined! I would return to this hotel when I go back for my next business trip but definitely no more trips to the spa this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are absolutely delighted to hear of your pleasant experience in our hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We have taken note of your comment regarding our spa services and will improve on the manicure services or even remove it as suggested. Please accept our apologies for the less-than- satisfactory manicure service. Your comments have been a tremendous encouragement to all of us here.

Please drop me a short note on your next trip to Sunway Hotel Hanoi so I can personally welcome you

Yours sincerely,

General Manager – Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Quite far from main city. It says 4 star, but doesn't has swimming pool.
It took more than an hour for hotel staff to check us in. We asked for an extra bed since we were 3 adults, but they some how stuffed the 3rd bed, so no space to move around.
Good thing about this hotel is that the breakfast was very good.
I did asked for high floor non-smoking floor, but was rudely told by receptionist (girl with different English accent) that we will see. But later she didn't bothered about my this request & gave me smoking room
There was no hot water in bathroom, so have to call reception to fix the problem.

Room Tip: Be mentally prepared to wait for long before you are checked in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frmsgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking time to register your comments and regret that we were not able to live up to your expectations

It is only through friends like you who would care to write that we get to know of our shortcomings. Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory experience during your check-in. As a matter of information the staff that attended to you has since left the hotel as it was her last week with the hotel when she attended to you.

On a brighter note we are happy to hear that you enjoyed & appreciated our excellent breakfast spread. As for the location it is a matter of preference and perception. While some may like to be right in the midst of the busy city and noise, others prefer the quiet surroundings of our location

We thank you again for your valuable comments and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager - Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Sunway Hotel Hanoi is a good escape from the crazy streets of the city. We stayed here for two nights before the start of a tour and the hotel is a good solid 4 star facility.

Both the room and bathroom are of an above size and along with been clean are well maintained. WiFi was included and was strong and fast.

Breakfast for both days was a great selection of eastern and western offerings from the buffet. We didn't venture too far from the hotel but did take the 10 min walk to the mall which seemed to be one of the few calm places in Hanoi, the mall had the usual shops and a small supermarket.

Overall the Sunway was good value for money, clean and a good place to base yourself from.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZer_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at the Sunway Hotel Hanoi on your recent holiday to Vietnam and for your valuable comments

We are glad that you appreciated the clean rooms, free WIFI and excellent buffet breakfast. Most of all your observation of the quiet location which provided the tranquility and calm in a busy city.
Your comments are such an encouragement to all of us here. It has been a joy serving you and to be able to contribute towards a memorable holiday for you..

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is at the end of the French quarter and quietly located. Rooms are nice and clean and staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel could be updated in certain areas but overall something to relax and stay in the right area in Hanoi. Breakfast buffet was acceptable but not to compare with other upscale hotels. Dinner buffet on the other hand was very good. The electric Car tour is quiet fun and we would recommend it to others. Just said there was no pool to relax in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are happy to know that you’ve had a pleasant and memorable holiday and appreciated the staff, service and facilities in general at Sunway.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#68 of 588 in Hanoi
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#150 of 588 in Hanoi
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#87 of 588 in Hanoi
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#154 of 588 in Hanoi
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Property: Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#41 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#56 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#64 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing