We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet alright”
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #109 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet alright”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is at the end of the French quarter and quietly located. Rooms are nice and clean and staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel could be updated in certain areas but overall something to relax and stay in the right area in Hanoi. Breakfast buffet was acceptable but not to compare with other upscale hotels. Dinner buffet on the other hand was very good. The electric Car tour is quiet fun and we would recommend it to others. Just said there was no pool to relax in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are happy to know that you’ve had a pleasant and memorable holiday and appreciated the staff, service and facilities in general at Sunway.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    381
    131
    18
    10
See reviews for
84
298
51
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for three days in May. The Hotel is lovely and quiet and the room size is fine for a short stay. As other reviewers have mentioned the evening buffet is very good value, also the breakfast is good. About a fifteen to twenty minutes walk to the lake and the old quarter. At the lake try the electric car tour, different trips available and a good way to see some of the sights, the ticket office is situated at the N.E of the lake, just across the road from the water puppet theatre. Try using a comparison site for room rates as I found a very good rate by doing this.

Room Tip: We stayed on the eighth floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponsaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for taking time to write to Tripadvisor and for your kind comments about our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our excellent buffet spread both for breakfast and dinner.

Your comments are a tremendous encouragement to all of us and have been disseminated to all our staff.Thank you again and looking forward to serving you or your friends again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of our Vietnam trip for 2 nights. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice for everyone. The room was adequate as I expected of a city hotel. We ate in the restaurant 1 night after we had been out all day and the food and service was good. The hotel is on the edge of the French Quarter and the lake and night market were walkable in about 20mins or a £2 taxi ride. Overall happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and are happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your stay with us a pleasant and memorable experience.

Your comments are such an encouragement to all of us here. We want you to know that it has been a joy serving you and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for the last 3 nights of our trip to Vietnam. Although it was the only hotel without a pool, there was a spa. Very central and within walking distance of old quarter, but we used taxis, very cheap. Staff very friendly and room was very comfortable. One gripe if I may, the complimentary tea/coffee would be good for more than on our first night ( extra if you wanted to use every other night) Breakfast was brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are happy to know that we have been able to contribute towards making your trip to Hanoi a pleasant and memorable experience. My staff and I are encouraged by your comments.

Please accept our apologies for the miscommunication regarding the complimentary tea/coffee provided in the room. This is replenished daily with no charge unless large quantities are requested for the same day. A new staff may have given you incorrect information.

Nevertheless we thank you for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The room is spacious with the basic amenities and the front office staff is helpful and friendly. We enjoyed most is the phoa they served during breakfast buffet, which is really smooth and appeitizing. The breakfast area is little small (this might due to the hotel renovation), so do plan to have your breakfast early to beat the crowd. We like to area around the hotel, it is surrounded by the local residential/commercial areas. Nice to walk around in the day and stop by to have coffee with the locals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AiKen0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write to express your appreciation of the Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience and are happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your holiday in Hanoi a memorable one. We have since then completed the minor repair to our restaurant and breakfast is now served in this spacious dining room with a capacity for 150 persons.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel even though it was in an older section of town. Staying here enabled me to really enjoy the local color, so to speak, instead of just seeing all the modernized sections of town. The nearby eating joints catered to the locals and you can be sure the food is good and cheap. Their seafood dinner buffet was absolutely delicious as was their breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We are happy to know that we have been able to contribute towards your memorable holiday in Hanoi and glad to note that you enjoyed the quality of our excellent buffet spread for breakfast and dinner. Your comments have been a tremendous encouragement to all of us here.

We look forward to welcoming you or your friends to Sunway Hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The sunway hotel is ideally based for visiting the city. A little way out of the main area but walkable. The hotel is spotless staff very helpful. Use the taxi from hotel about 540 dong. Some English is spoken in hotel but not a lot. About 10 storeys high so lots of views from rooms. Room service good and always lovely smell in corridors. We had no problems whilst at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are happy to know that we have been able to contribute towards making your trip to Hanoi a pleasant and memorable experience and have passed on your comments to all staff at our daily briefing.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#67 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#156 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#83 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#136 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#87 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Property: Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#57 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing