We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel with Reasonable Rates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #106 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average Hotel with Reasonable Rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Sunway Hanoi due to a good hotel promotion. The location of this hotel is away from the old quarters and major attractions, thus it is advisable to take a cab rather than to walk.
This 4-star hotel has no swimming pool. It's daily buffet breakfast is served at Allante Restaurant at Level 1. It has a good range of local Vietnamese (Pho), Asian and Western fare but there isn't much changes throughout our stay. The room is clean with contemporary furnishing. However the housekeeping is not up to mark as though they made the bed, I can still spot hairs on the bedsheets ~ surprised. The reception is friendly but not all staff is well-versed in English. Overall, it is an average hotel with a reasonably rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clear_Brook_Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at the Sunway Hotel Hanoi on your recent holiday to Vietnam..

We are glad that you like our clean rooms and buffet breakfast. We thank you for highlighting some of our shortcomings as it is only through guests such as yourself who care to write that we get to know and improve ourselves.

Regrettably English is not a widely spoken language in Vietnam but the Hotel is proud of the free English lessons it conducts for its staff to enable them to communicate better with our guests. Given time they should improve their proficiency in this language.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    365
    128
    18
    10
See reviews for
83
286
49
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights either side of an overnight boat ride in Ha Long Bay. It was a nice basic hotel, breakfast was pretty good, staff were very helpful and I could exchange currency at reception. We walked from here to the big lake and a main shopping area, but we didn't have much time in Hanoi so I can't say much about the hotel's location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write to express your appreciation of the Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

It is so nice to know that we have been able to contribute towards making your holiday in Hanoi a pleasant and memorable experience.

Your comments are such an encouragement to all of us here. It has been a joy serving you and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived at the Sunway Hotel at 7.45am on 9 Feb. We had travelled on the direct Vietnamese Airways flight from Gatwick which had left at midday on the 8th Feb so had been travelling for approx 17 hours. The reception staff immediately informed us that our room wasn't ready,that check-in was after 2pm, and we could either sit in reception for several hours or pay an extra $60 for an upgrade. We were so tired we felt we had no choice but to pay the extra but it was an unpleasant start to our tour. We have arrived early at other resorts and have always found the staff very friendly and rooms have been provided as extremely quickly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. Archer,

I don’t blame you for being upset with us. If I were in the same position, I’d be equally upset.
As a matter of information the check –in time for our Hotel is 2.00pm and check – out time is 12 noon. In line with international standards and practices for hotels, a nominal charge will normally be imposed for early check-in or late check –out.

Please accept our apologies on behalf of our reception staff who was not sensitive to your need and situation at the time of your check in. Our check showed that we were running high occupancy the night before and hence did not have the room type you had booked and as only a higher category room was available hence the difference had to charged. We do practice flexibility depending on the rooming situation.

We regret we were not able to do better for you but nevertheless thank you for choosing the Sunway Hotel Hanoi. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on the 10th floor. The hotel is well situated and the staff cannont be more helpful. The Breakfast is very comprehensive. 30 mins walk to the old city or 10 mins in a taxi. very Clean and modern rooms

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 901SteveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write to express your pleasant experience at the Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We are so happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your stay with us a pleasant and memorable experience. Thank you for your appreciation of our friendly staff and service. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

After spending 10 days touring Vietnam from Saigon to Hanoi this was the hotel that I liked least. That said nothing was terrible. The rooms are clean though some in our group got a non smoking room that reeked if cigarette smoke. The staff is attentive and place is clean. The two biggest cons I have are the location (it is not really walking distance to the center of Hanoi but a short taxi ride gets you there) and the weak wifi signal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a good and fair report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations about our location. Location is a matter of perspective and preference as you have correctly pointed out. Very often we hear of guests disliking the city centre because of the noise pollution and busy streets.

Nevertheless we thank you for staying with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable rooms, an okay view, but there are much better locations and neighborhoods. We stayed three nights as part of a Gate 1 Tour. All exursions included an arduous journey through a lackluster neighborhood to come and go from this hotel. Our farewell buffet dinner included fresh choices, but nothing memorable. We walked from the Hanoi Hilton museum, but I recommend a taxi to the lake, shopping, or nice restaurants. The only highlight was Delight Restaurant on the corner next to the hotel. Delight has outdoor tables, great food, service, and low prices, so we ate there twice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience in our hotel on your recent holiday in Hanoi. Thank you for your kind comments on our cleanliness and comfort. This is something we take pride in and will continue to offer our best to all our guests.

Thank you again for your kind comments which are great motivation for our team and for choosing to stay with Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is qute a distance from the major sites and the city centre and the surrounding area is not very pleasant. However the centre and sites can be easily reached by taxi (10-15 mins) and there are some good restaurants withing walking distance. The hotel is in a quiet location and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Overall it was an adequate base to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expect2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are happy to know that we have been able to contribute towards making your trip to Hanoi a pleasant and memorable experience and have passed on your comments to all staff who are very encouraged by this.

Thank you for your appreciation of our friendly staff and your kind comments on our clean and comfortable rooms and the proximity of the hotel to the old quarter.

We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#124 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#158 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#81 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#83 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Property: Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#58 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing