We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Nearby Hotels
$140
$101
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$216
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$206
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$56
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$65
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$52
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa(Hanoi)
$76
$50
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$57
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$165
$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveler rating
218
422
143
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
422
143
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelold quarterfour starlobby barstayed here for nightsopera housevietnam tourthe air conditioningbreakfast buffet isshort stayfrench quarterhotel restaurantcomfortable stayday tourhalong bayclean roomspho
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 814 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our stay at the Sunway Hanoi was flawless. Very clean, comfortable rooms, attentive staff with good communication skills. The dining room was excellent, the buffet lunch in particular being a terrific deal. The location is a tad far from most locations, but not that much away from the mainstream that it couldn't be cured by a short and inexpensive taxi ride. And the wifi was free, an important detail for today's traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

It has been our pleasure to serve you and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been a motivation to all of us here and will only sour us to do even better..

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel three times recently and were always happy with

- the room,
- the service,
- the food.

And next time we stay in Hanoi, we'll choose this hotel again. The rooms are spacious and quiet and offer everything you need. The staff are very friendly and helpful, no matter what you might need or what your problem is.

The breakfast buffet is certainly above average for a hotel of this category and offers a good variety. One night we didn't want to go out for dinner and had the buffet dinner the hotel offers. And what a pleasant experience it was. It offers excellent value for money, especially because of the many freshly cooked dishes and the first-rate seafood offered.

As far as the rooms are concerned: The higher, the better. So try to get a room on the 6th floor or higher. Many rooms don't offer a view, you just look at the wall of the adjacent building, but you don't visit Hanoi for the view from a hotelroom window anyway.

The location is good, because you many of the sights, including the Old Quarters, are within walking distance (though it is about a 20-minute walk to the Old Quarters, 15 minutes to the lake).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are happy to know that we have been able to contribute towards making your trip to Hanoi a pleasant and memorable experience and were able to go beyond your expectations. Our team at Sunway is very encouraged by your valuable comments and we wish you a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year and do enjoy the rest of your holidays in Vietnam.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Wishing you a Merry and Blessed Christmas and a Happy New Year. May the New Year bring you joy, happiness and success.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Originally, we were given a room on the 6th floor with a view. However, the safe was not working well. The staff was helpful to our needs. Thanks. The bell boys were also helpful. On returning from Halong Bay, we were given a room on the 5th floor. After we requested for a room on the higher floor, Lucy was helpful and came up to the 9th floor and helped us settle in.

The room was great! Clean, large, with a view and the amenities. Other helpful staff includes Simon, Duong (thanks for helping us with the free wifi and internet), Giang and Kevin Duy. The front desk staff were helpful in guiding us to eating places nearby. Map supplied by the hotel is really great!

We walked around the hotel to see the 'old' houses, discovered a place for authentic Beef pho at a steal, and visited Vicom Centre - good food, shops, and a supermarket. Nice decorations in line with the Christmas season.

On checking out, the front desk staff was very helpful in contacting Go Vietnam for our transport to the airport.

Thanks for making our holiday a wonderful one. Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Rooms are quiet and clean.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivien77Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and are happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your stay with us a pleasant and memorable experience.

Your comments are such an encouragement to all of us here. We want you to know that it has been a joy serving you and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Wishing you a Merry and Blessed Christmas and a Happy New Year. May the New Year bring you joy, happiness and success.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Traveled here during the winter season (December 2012). My partner and I stayed on the 9th floor.

Positives:
1) Rooms are spacious, beds and linens changed daily if requested
2) Good variety of breakfast options
3) Wi-fi access provided for both me and my partner (without request)
4) Doormen were very friendly and offered to help us call taxis, give the locations to the drivers etc.
5) Bathroom was clean and sparkling, showers were hot.
6) Various plug types in the room - singaporeans and malaysians rejoice, you won't need your adaptors here.
7) Safe hotel - heard stories of people's valuables go missing from hotels in Vietnam before but not in this case.

Negatives:
1) Receptionist staff was not really helpful. When we asked her to recommend some local eating places, she seemed very reluctant to suggest anything (besides the in house restaurant)
2) Around 30 minutes walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake & the Old Quarter (i.e. the main sightseeing/ bustling area). In the summer months, this walk is probably not practical - although it costs only ~2 USD by taxi)
3) Not really a great location to be honest.

Restaurant Tip:
- Be sure to visit Quan An Ngoh for a more local feel (that's definitely more hygienic than roadside places)
- Restaurant 96 or Highway 4 Restaurant are some options near the Old Quarter as well that offer affordable local fare.
- Upper class: visit Indochine Restaurant (although this seems a little too touristy for my taste)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your recent holiday and your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Your kind comments on our excellent breakfast, clean rooms, bathrooms, safety and your appreciation of our friendly bellboys is such an encouragement and have been conveyed to all our staff.

We will continue to work even harder to ensure every guest gets not only the existing excellent product but will improve with time. You know how much we pride ourselves in delivering good service as part of our vision of “Leading with Passion”.

Thank you once again for choosing the Sunway Hotel Hanoi as your holiday hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We’ve been in Hanoi for few days in our long trip to Vietnam . For the first time booking this hotel we didn’t expect much but when once step in the lobby , we were best greeted by hotel staff from bell man, front desk and Ms. Jane that we cannot imagine that the online guest would receive from hotel. The hotel did check in quickly and expertly. The room is definitely clean and comfy. We were especially impressive with buffet breakfast because it has a lot of choices and it can be compared with the 5* buffet with friendly staff service. Hotel also booked Halong Bay trip for us and when we came back to hotel, they greeted us and call our name that ‘s very good and make us feel come back to our home. We were definitely pleasant with staying at Sunway hotel and would come back here without thinking twice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereisthething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience with us. Your comments are a great encouragement not only to Jane but to the rest of the team.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Do tell your friends about us so that we can look after them too.

Wishing you a Merry and Blessed Christmas and may you continue to enjoy good health and happiness in the New Year.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews