We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Clean and Safe Hotel”
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #105 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Service, Clean and Safe Hotel”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Traveled here during the winter season (December 2012). My partner and I stayed on the 9th floor.

Positives:
1) Rooms are spacious, beds and linens changed daily if requested
2) Good variety of breakfast options
3) Wi-fi access provided for both me and my partner (without request)
4) Doormen were very friendly and offered to help us call taxis, give the locations to the drivers etc.
5) Bathroom was clean and sparkling, showers were hot.
6) Various plug types in the room - singaporeans and malaysians rejoice, you won't need your adaptors here.
7) Safe hotel - heard stories of people's valuables go missing from hotels in Vietnam before but not in this case.

Negatives:
1) Receptionist staff was not really helpful. When we asked her to recommend some local eating places, she seemed very reluctant to suggest anything (besides the in house restaurant)
2) Around 30 minutes walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake & the Old Quarter (i.e. the main sightseeing/ bustling area). In the summer months, this walk is probably not practical - although it costs only ~2 USD by taxi)
3) Not really a great location to be honest.

Restaurant Tip:
- Be sure to visit Quan An Ngoh for a more local feel (that's definitely more hygienic than roadside places)
- Restaurant 96 or Highway 4 Restaurant are some options near the Old Quarter as well that offer affordable local fare.
- Upper class: visit Indochine Restaurant (although this seems a little too touristy for my taste)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your recent holiday and your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Your kind comments on our excellent breakfast, clean rooms, bathrooms, safety and your appreciation of our friendly bellboys is such an encouragement and have been conveyed to all our staff.

We will continue to work even harder to ensure every guest gets not only the existing excellent product but will improve with time. You know how much we pride ourselves in delivering good service as part of our vision of “Leading with Passion”.

Thank you once again for choosing the Sunway Hotel Hanoi as your holiday hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    383
    132
    19
    10
See reviews for
90
303
51
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We’ve been in Hanoi for few days in our long trip to Vietnam . For the first time booking this hotel we didn’t expect much but when once step in the lobby , we were best greeted by hotel staff from bell man, front desk and Ms. Jane that we cannot imagine that the online guest would receive from hotel. The hotel did check in quickly and expertly. The room is definitely clean and comfy. We were especially impressive with buffet breakfast because it has a lot of choices and it can be compared with the 5* buffet with friendly staff service. Hotel also booked Halong Bay trip for us and when we came back to hotel, they greeted us and call our name that ‘s very good and make us feel come back to our home. We were definitely pleasant with staying at Sunway hotel and would come back here without thinking twice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereisthething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience with us. Your comments are a great encouragement not only to Jane but to the rest of the team.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Do tell your friends about us so that we can look after them too.

Wishing you a Merry and Blessed Christmas and may you continue to enjoy good health and happiness in the New Year.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed on the 10 floor. Lifts can be somewhat slow especially if there is a group of travellers departing as several tour groups use the hotel so make sure you allow plenty of time to get to breakfast or your departure time in the foyer.
Having said that the hotel is very clean and staff are very willing to help you out. The view out of your room might be a wall of another tall building but some do have views -- stayed here twice and had both versions! Shower was lovely and hot and spotless so had no complaints -- enjoyed the stay

The hotel is within easy walk of the Old Quarter which is worth a visit.

Would certainly use the hotel again if the occasion arose

Room Tip: Lifts are slow so allow time. Sometimes if not on the upper floors and there are groups leaving (eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coopebbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your pleasant experience at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and your comments on the different room types you were assigned to and enjoyed on both occasions. The peculiar style buildings are constructed in Hanoi has fascinated many a tourist and in a way an attraction..

Your comments about our helpful staff and clean rooms are indeed an encouragement to our team here and something they pride themselves in doing.
Meantime, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel in the not too distant future

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Easy check in. Rooms nice, clean, beds were good, we had a superior room which was perfect. Breafast was included Stayed 3 nights before we flew down to Da Nang. Central location to explore Hanoi. A great place to start your holiday in Vietnam. Whilst in Hanoi I recommend the Halong Bay cruise, either the 1 day or if you have time the 2 days and 1 night.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was great. Didn't see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your recent stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with us and are happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your holiday in Hanoi and Sunway Hotel a memorable one. Your comments are a great encouragement to all of our staff.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future..

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 667 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our first hotel in Vietnam on a tour from Hanoi to Ho Chi Min City. After the 11 hour overnight flight from the UK we arrived in the early hours of the morning. The Sunway staff were welcoming and very pleasant, and the check-in efficient. Money exchange was prompt with good rates.The breakast was included and was available until late morning. We were delighted to be told that there was a 50% dicount on many items including the Buffet Dinner in the evening. This certainly encouraged house guests to use the facilities of the hotel- a very sensible idea. We used the Buffet (at approximately 12 US dollars pp- excellent value.)
The Sunway Hotel is situated in the very lively colonial French district of Hanoi- beware crossing roads as motorbikes come from all directions. We tried to go to the Water Puppet show, but it was booked several days in advance- but don't despair we managed to see a show in Ho Chi Min City.
Our two night stay was in a superior room.

Room Tip: Go for Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are happy to know that we have been able to contribute towards making your trip to Hanoi a pleasant and memorable experience and have passed on your comments to all staff at our daily briefing.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice hotel in an area of Hanoi that, to a Western eye, looks quite rundown. But looks are deceptive: it’s a fascinating area, full of, in my experience, nice Vietnamese people, including a sweet little girl who escorted me across the road when she saw a newly-arrived Westerner who didn’t know how to deal with Vietnamese traffic. The hotel certainly isn’t rundown – it’s good, just what you would expect of a four star hotel. Everything was clean, my bed was firm and comfortable, staff were polite and helpful. I can’t think of any reason not to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing to stay at the Sunway Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi.
We are happy to know that we played a small part in making your holiday a memorable experience.
Thank you once again for staying with us. It has been a joy serving you.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really good hotel. Not expensive for the quality provided. Comfortable well appointed rooms, excellent meals both local and foreign cuisine. Much better than we (self, wife, daughters 21 and 25) had thought it would be. Thoroughly recommend the place.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, both of which were excellent. Didnt see other rooms though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrizzlyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
It’s good to know that you enjoyed the service and excellent meals that were served during your stay with us.

Your comments are such an encouragement to all of us at Sunway Hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again soon

Wishing you good health and do enjoy the rest of your trip.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#69 of 589 in Hanoi
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#151 of 589 in Hanoi
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#85 of 589 in Hanoi
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#71 of 589 in Hanoi
1,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Property: Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#41 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#56 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#64 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing