We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too intense”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manh Dung Guest house
Ranked #102 of 623 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Aus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little too intense”
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We chose Manh Dong as our first hotel in Hanoi. We always book the first place through the internet and then start to pick and choose once we get a feel for the place.
In contrast to our second hotel that we found after a bit of shopping around, Manh Dung is too busy chasing dollars to provide any service. Thom at the desk alienates as many people as she charms (Not a good ratio in tourism) and is quite happy to cream as much she can off the top. Her manner can change from helpful to obstructive in an instant making it difficult to deal with her when complex issues need to be resolved. Her mastery of language is also selectve and she can turn on or turn off English when it suits her.
As a first contact with Hanoi tourism it really sucked and I would recommend staying away as there are so many terrific alternatives. NB Our current hotel "Tung Trand 2" is clean, cheap and the staff have been incredibly helpful. We just got back from a brilliant tour of Halong that we booked through them and have also used them to book our train travel. There have been half a dozen times when they have gone out of their way to save us money. Yopu can do much better than Manh Dung.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — The intense atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AJMSAGJGJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    38
    5
    14
    25
See reviews for
9
41
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

The stuff is not helpful at all and the only thing they are interested in is your dollars. They using situation when you are tired from the flight so be aware. They tried to sell us trip to Halong Bay, but we refused and booked it in Handspan. It was more expansive, but we got everything what was in the itinerary (great and plenty of food and clean rooms on the boat and resort).

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — "friendly" stuff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tichas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Recently have went to Vietnam for holiday with my friend and Hanoi is our last stop of the trip.

Have arrived at the hotel late at 11plus pm due to the late flight from Danang to Hanoi. When we reached there, we were told that we can book the halong bay trip with them, and quoted us USD95. We agreed to it, thinking its much cheaper then what is quoted on the website. But when the person issued us the receipt, it was stated USD105 instead. He explained that the additional USD10 is government tax. -_-" which, in the first place, he didnt mention that, and sounded USD95 is the nett price.

Nonetheless, we agreed to it, since it wasnt that much of a difference. When we are about to make payment, we were told to pay USD239 (for 2 pax) instead. Was very tired at that point, and having sleepy spell, we paid exactly USD239 without checking the receipt (USD30 different from the receipt!).

It was until the following day then we realised we have overpaid them. And during the halong bay trip, we have found out from the fellow 'junk mates' that they have paid USD50-70 nett for the trip. Half of what we have paid! Was so furious that we went back and demand for a refund.

But when we went back to the hotel, we were told that the person who issued us the receipt was out of town leading a tour group. And nothing could be done as they are not responsible for that. We cldnt get our refund back! And what makes me more furious is that the person is very rude. He was looking everywhere but us when we are talking to him.

So morale of the story, DONT ever step into that hotel again!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank zlipx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeHalong, Manager at Manh Dung Guest house, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am the Manager of ManhDung GuestHouse.We want to inform You that :You were in wrong Hotel.Not manhDung GuestHouse.They are fake ManhDung GuestHouse.They make the same name but the Hotel is different street.We never have boy work at Ouyr place and not this name:Huong.He is not Our Staff.Many Customers who were treated by fake ManhDung GuestHouse,They came to Our place and realise they got wrong Hotel:FAKE MANHDUNG GUESTHOUSE.Becareful witn this FAKE MANHDUNG GUESTHOUSE.Never follow wrong taxi Driver and Street Boys.They will treated You and bring You to the Fake Hotel and sell many fake Tours.YOU ONLY GO TO THE REAL MANHDUNG GUESTHOUSE,No 2 TAM THUONG STREET,AND THE TELEPHONE No:0084.4.38267201/Fax No:0084.4.3.8248118/Hotlines:0084(0)904513582

Email:tranmanhdungvn@yahoo.com

lethomhalong@yahoo.com(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

BEWARE

My friend and I booked a 2D1N Halong Bay tour with Huong, one of the staff at the reception.

Huong charged us USD239 for 2 person for the tour with stay on board the junkboat. On the boat, we came to know other people in the same tour(boat), paid only USD50-USD60 per pax. This is a shock to us why we paid so much to Huong! We went back to guesthouse but could not find Huong, which was in Hue.

The reception was rude and refused to entertain our complaints, gave us a bogey email of thier boss.

The receipt ,indicated only USD190+USD19(govt. tax), Huong never wrote down where the other USD30 goes to.(most likely he pocketed the money!)

  • Liked — NA
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank tkw080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2008

1st - I must say that YES, Thom IS funny, and also knows how to get money out of ppl. Simply learn to say no. Just go there for the rooms and forget all the booking stuff. Anyway ALL guesthouses will try to rip you off on these... in fact, of my 6 months staying in Ha Noi, this place was one of the most honest... just act like you know what you are doing and be friendly; no one will steal from you then. The staff IS friendly...
2nd - I am a student and was travelling on a very limited budget. For 10 $ a night i had a very nice room with 2 beds, aircon included (and even some free beer!)
3rd - YES, laundry is a bit more expensive than elsewhere. And NO, nothing got stolen from me (since i obvioulsy wasnt travelling south east asia in fancy clothing...). Drinks are also, of course, a bit more expensive than in the shops (think 8000 VND VS 7000 VND for a bottle of water...nothing much). There is free internet there on 2 computers in the lobby (and i could get a wifi network from my room)
4th - the room and bathroom were very nice and clean, small, yes, but with everything you could ask for... the spot is quiet (wake up early to see the fruit market near cho Hang Da and on Yen Thai street) and in a central location...
5th - yes, expect to always pay too much in VN... but 10 $ for this was a deal. There are other guesthouses near (Tam Thuong, North Star) that are even cheaper (8$) but the rooms are not as new and clean as at Manh Dung.
6th - Only problem is that if you come back late at night you will feel like you wake up all the satff to get in... they go to bed early... and they tend to overbook... in which case they will probably send you to one of the 2 other guesthouses I mentioned...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Xoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

At first the place looks nice. The staff is very friendly, especially when you ar spending your money. Thom is definitely in charge, and charges more than the other girls for a room. We were told $17 with air-con, and Thom tried to charge us $22. We said no, and she changed the charges. The extra money goes right in her pocket.
The rooms are clean upon first inspection. Pull back the covers on your bed and you'll find hairs that do not belong to you.
Avoid the laundry, not even sure if they use soap. It costs a small fortune too, so go somewhere else. Better job and value.
Do not buy the open "VIP" sleeper bus tickets. Thom charged us $180 for 2 tickets. Anywhere else would be only $45 for the same tickets. Thom will try to say that her ticket are better, but they are the exact same. She will try to make you pay cash for everything. If you can, pay with your credit card so you can dispute the charges if you don't receive anything. There is a 3% service charge, but it is worth it. Better yet, shop around to at least 3 places first. We paid for our bus tickets, and we never received them. Thom took us to the bus and said the bus driver would have our tickets, but of course he didn't. When we confronted her, she told us that our tickets included a free hotel room, which she failed to mention before. There was no free hotel. If you do purchase any tours or tickets from her, make her write you a receipt right there and then. She will try to get out of it, "I give you later" she will say, but force her to do it. Better yet, say you won't pay without one. Make sure she puts the amount on the receipt too. She will try to avoid that too.
The guest house wasn't the worst, but that Thom is a smooth talker. Acts all cute and funny, but is just out to get your money. Those who say that their stay was fantastic are suckers who have been had by the giggling Thom!! :)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Thom's web of lies
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Thom, the receptionist, is rude, annoying, confrontational, obnoxious, and kind of vacant. You know, lights on but nobodys home kind of vacant. The internet reservation was not honoured so we were shunted off to the Kims Do (even worse place). The continual banter about booking trips bordered on rantings from a moron and service was non existant but extortion was rampant. 15000 dong per minute for a phone call, 2000 down the road. My advise after traveling for many years is stay away. The hostel is far and away a better bet!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Struggling925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tung Trang Hotel
Tung Trang Hotel
#191 of 592 in Hanoi
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#117 of 592 in Hanoi
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 592 in Hanoi
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Hanoi DX Hotel
Little Hanoi DX Hotel
#2 of 592 in Hanoi
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Emerald Hotel
Holiday Emerald Hotel
#7 of 592 in Hanoi
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manh Dung Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manh Dung Guest house

Property: Manh Dung Guest house
Address: No. 2 Tam Thuong, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 623 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Manh Dung Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manh Dung Guest House Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing