We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silence and clean in the middle of the crowd”
Review of Hanoi Daewoo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
Ranked #111 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Silence and clean in the middle of the crowd”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I personally suffered Ha-noi noises and polution, but this hotel was an oasis In the middle of crowded downtown. Clean, big standard rooms full of comfort, enormous and clean bathroom. Everything in place. Breakfast service has a great variaty: Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese and traditional Continental foods. Fresh and exotic fruits always, it was excellent. Lobby offers local exotic drinks and food. The spa... one of the best I've tried ever, very cheap. I haven't use the pool but it was huge and always clean, with a complete bar service.
Recommended for business, pleasure or any excuse. Probably not in the best area if going on vacations.

Room Tip: All the rooms seems to be quit, I've never heard a sound being inside, very silent. My room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    170
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
39
35
41
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Big hotel, big rooms but hard bed and the room need to be renovated. The toilet is getting old & turning to yellow. The pool looks amazing but i didnt try as i come and see it was dirty and no pool staff nearby to hand me the towel. The fitness is well equiped but the weight lifting facilities are getting old. However, the biggest disappointment was the staff. They never smile except the bell boy after i handed him tips. I mean whether you travel for business or pleasure you expect to see smile on staffs' faces. I cannot believe that when i come to breakfast and the front girl ask my room number without smiling and lead me to a table. I sat there, took the food and drink & no one offer me coffee or tea until the manager came & see my empty cup.
Wake up! Daewoo, i know there are many Presidents stayed here but you cannot live with the past, other nearby hotels are building and are more competitive than you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamali71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed there four nights in May 2012. To me it was a lot like the city of Hanoi, has potential, should be better than it is, and behind the rest of the world. The lobby is nice and expansive and has potential but no "pop", furnishings older and worn. Service was good across the different departments, personnel seemed to be in all the right places, helpful and most spoke understandable English. Showing age across the hotel, not bad but noticeable - carpet needed to be replaced in most all common areas, baseboards a little beat up, etc.The room was okay size and clean, furniture and carpet is older and needs to be updated. Internet in room by cable only and the speed was okay, WiFi is only in lobby so that was a pain when needed for iphone purposes. A definite negative in room was I did notice that every joint in the ceiling had a hair line crack and needed to be re-tapped and mudded. I stayed on the back side of building on 9th floor and had a great view of the massive and beautiful pool, the lake behind that and the Hanoi skyline - a must - my friend had a street side room with an urban view and street noise. Ate in several of the restaurants in the hotel and all again were adequate. The work out room takes a boy scout to find, is poorly marked and has less equipment than it should for a hotel that size. The equipment was average, was "packed in", the treadmills were a collection of different models and the room was always too warm. The hotel is not centrally located for most things we did but the traffic was not bad during non rush hour times and the city is not that big so it was not a nuisance to go shopping, etc. Taxis are reasonable, metered, and be sure and have an address card as English is not common.

The hotel is not five star and would struggle to be a four star, at least by international standards.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akpbubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are basically OK but nothing nearby and absolutely no service. The staff seem to exist to gossip with each other...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StillPhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, AUS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed 7 nights at the Daewoo and found it to be comfortable and clean with attentive staff. I had a view out over the lake and their amazing pool and the curtains where thick and the room quiet. There is free internet via a cable however no WiFi (hint: This does not help if you have a smart phone or tablet)

Is it a 5 star hotel? Probably not as it lacks a spa and it's food and restaurants are a bit under par, and also as mentioned by so many others the decor in the bedrooms are outdated. After the 3rd morning the breakfast menu became boring and one night I ordered room service which made me sick for the next 2 days.

My suggestions:
If you are coming to Hanoi on a holiday this hotel is probably not for you as it is not in walking distance to the Old Quarter which is where the fun tourist stuff is located (10 - 15 min taxi ride away). If you do stay, ask for a pool view room. Not only is the view better but it is also much quiter. If you can you should try eat out, the hotel does not have much to offer and local food is amazing. Overall, a nice business orientated hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room. Not only is the view better but it is also much quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiej002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Overall I can recommend this hotel but after many years of operation is in deep need of a rennovation from any point of view.
It's a well managed property but during the course of the years it has never been rennovated even partially.
Ratio quality/price is good but if you look for something different and new try something else in town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks as was close to the Australian Embassy. As other reviewers have said - nice enough but needs major updating to the decor. The bed was comfy and the internet connection was great. The rooms have heavy curtains that block out the light and noise. The bath and shower are fine. Was disappointed by the breakfast - the available items got very old after the third day with the same items everyday. Nothing to complain about - but nothing to rave about either. Doesnt deserve its 5 star rating. More like 3 and a half. Although wished I had stayed in summer because the pool looks amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#52 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#99 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.6 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#70 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Daewoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Daewoo Hotel

Property: Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
Address: 360 Kim Ma Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanoi Daewoo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel has been at the forefront of upscale hospitality in the nation’s capital since 1996. Inhabiting a prestigious neighborhood amid embassies and parks, Daewoo has been the hotel of choice for visiting dignitaries and heads of state for more than two decades. Sumptuously decorated in a timelessly classic style, Hanoi Daewoo Hotel continues its legacy of legendary hospitality, welcoming discerning business and leisure travelers from around the world. With state-of-the-art MICE facilities and elegant function spaces, Daewoo is also the preferred venue in Hanoi for weddings, conferences and international events. Offering effortless access to the city’s major business and tourist landmarks, Daewoo enjoys a scenic location adjacent to Thu Le Lake – the ideal address for any Hanoi trip. With our well-appointed guest rooms, an indulgent spa and picturesque gardens with the largest swimming pool in the city, Hanoi Daewoo Hotel promises an exceptional experience, no matter the purpose of your stay. Surrounded by lush green spaces and wide, tree-lined boulevards, Hanoi Daewoo Hotel provides a quiet escape in the city center. Easily accessible from NoiBai International Airport and close to major roadways that link to all parts of the city, our neighborhood is in a convenient position both for conducting business and for seeing Hanoi’s sights. In the area around the hotel, you’ll find Kim Ma Street, with its colorful shop houses and towering trees. Just behind the hotel there’s the peaceful Thu Le Park, a popular attraction for local families. Visitors of all ages can enjoy paddling swan boats on the lake, wandering through the gardens and visiting the park’s zoo. Hanoi Daewoo Hotel offers 416 well-appointed rooms, ranging from the refined comfort of our Deluxe Rooms to the palatial Royal Suite. All are stylishly decorated, featuring elegant wooden furnishings and original artworks by respected local and international artists. Each offers complimentary WiFi and is complemented by far-reaching views of the Hanoi skyline, tree-lined Kim Ma Street and serene Thu Le Park and Lake. Guests staying in club rooms and suites enjoy access to our 16th-floor Club Lounge, with daily complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hanoi Daewoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing