We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #66 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and found the service from the staff to be excellent.
All the staff we encountered spoke good English and couldn't do enough to help us.

On arrival at the hotel as we walked up to reception the gentleman said Good Evening and used my name even though I had never stayed at this hotel before.
As we were staying on the Executive Level we were immediately escorted up to that floor to check in.
We were then presented with cold towels and a welcome drink and the check in process took seconds and we were in our room to finally relax after travelling all day.

The room was slightly dated but was still of good quality and the hotel is currently being refurbished and having seen the work that has been done already, the whole hotel will look excellent on completion.

The fitness centre was also excellent with a top range of equipment.

The breakfast is buffet style but being on the Level we didn't try breakfast in the normal restaurant but from quickly looking it did look like a very good selection.

The hotel is well situated and is about a maximum of 20 minute walk from a lot of the attractions in Hanoi.

If your budget can afford it go for a Room on the Level, breakfast is included as are drinks and refreshments during the day and evening cocktails and alcoholic drinks so you can save some money there, also with the Level you are on a High floor with normally a good view over the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great comments about our hotel service, especially our Team members

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

I hope that you will come back to Hanoi soon and have the opportunity to experience our new rooms.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    610
    184
    55
    19
See reviews for
196
554
106
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed at Sofitel last year and I prefer Melia because of the more central location. Melia is an excellent hotel with impeccable service. The hotel is currently being renovated and I was given a room which was newly renovated. The facilities and amenities were top-rate. I enjoyed using the gym and have patronized the restaurant for dinner. The food was excellent. Breakfast spread was good with a variety of food to cater to international taste.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allkuans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are pleased to read that you liked our newly renovated room. We are also glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here for a conference. The hotel was very good--room were spacious and well equipped. Wifi was free. We were not in one of the redone rooms--so, the bathroom was a bit dated--had to climb in and out of a very high tub to take a shower. Ate several meals at the hotel. The breakfast is great. The dinner was also very good, although pricey for the buffet. All the staff were excellent. Very attentive, made sure cabs knew exactly where to take us. Really excellent staff. The noise at night from a club could be distracting and might disturb light sleepers. Excellent location, excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

I hope that you will come back to Hanoi soon and have the opportunity to experience our new rooms.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Having stayed in five hotels during my time in Vietnam this was the best. Beautiful rooms, great pool and fitness suite and amazing customer service. Best breakfast ever, such a fantastic choice and loads of it. Rooms incredibly clean and extremely large with free access to wifi which was really reliable. If all Amelia hotels are like this one I will definitely look for one on my future travels. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return one day. Stayed 3 nights and cannot fault the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't forget to visit the spa facilities as they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a Club room deal which was very good value. Large room, beautiful view, helpful staff. I would have given a higher rating were it not for the noise from a nearby disco which went on until about 1 am. It's not the hotel's fault but certainly disrupted my sleep. After a trip to Halong Bay we came back to a different room on the front of the hotel which did not have the same problem, but did not have the same view.
Good location, easy walk from the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem lake

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to avoid the doof-doof from the disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

However, I am really sorry regarding your comments about the noise from the bar located in front of the hotel. Right after receiving the comments, we contacted the bar manager to avoid such disturbances to be repeated.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Due to the very size of the hotel I felt we were lost to being just another room number. Being on our honeymoon and arriving from the very good Tara Angkor hotel in Siem Reap we were expecting another high standard from the Melia. Where as previous hotels offered a token gesture if flowers or fruit basket for honeymooners the Melia did none of this which in lines of customer service I feel can go a long way.
Checkin seemed very robotic and as a warning to others it appears you need to specify if you want a smoking or non smoking room as we were placed in a smoking room, but with us spending little time in the hotel could not be bothered to switch as the smell was minimal. We were on the 21st floor which provided great views and the room is to be as expected similar to the of Hilton's and Sheraton hotels, although water pressure was quite weak.
The ground floor restaurant for breakfast was good and the seafood buffet was excellent with unlimited wine, beer and soft drinks.
A pleasant hotel but lacks character, and outstanding service to make what I would deem 5 star. Tara Angkor in Siem Reap and Indigo Pearl in Phuket provide what I would call a 5 star service even in the little things of a welcome drink at check in and a cold/warm towel to freshen up with, this is what the Melia lacks.

Room Tip: 21st floor offered great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Andrew H,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of them are used to improve our services.

I feel deeply sorry for having given you the impression of being “another room number”. It is definitely not the way we train and encourage our associates to behave. We will definitely reinforce the message we transmit to them.

Regarding the fact that you were not recognized as a honeymooner, unfortunately, with the information provided through trip advisor, we are not able to determine if this was an internal miscommunication or if we were not informed about it. In case you did inform any of our associates upon arrival or you booker, please let us know as the honeymoon treatment should have been provided.

Finally, your comment regarding the water pressure has been forwarded to our Chief Engineer. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you suffered.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. I remain at your disposal for any other suggestion you wish to share with me.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is probably my 7th time stayed at this hotel, usually for business. However, this was the first time after the hotel upgraded some of the room. Me and my colleagues stayed on the 5th floor so we all got the newly refurbished rooms. It was really nice with all the new decoration, the bathroom with see through glass, wireless room phone, direct computer port to TV (HDMI and USB), really helps with those on the business trip. However, there were lots of noise from construction to the above floors. It should be great after they have completed all the work later on. Definitely will come back to this hotel.
Pros:
Location (downtown), food, seminar rooms, guest rooms, spa, fitness, marquee nightclub, casino, pool

Room Tip: ask for newly refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakon_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review.

We are pleased to read that you liked our newly renovated room. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Regarding your comment about the noise from construction, we have tried to find the most suitable time to realize our noisiest tasks. I am sorry to know that it has been an inconvenience for you.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing