We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in downtown Hanoi”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #68 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“An Oasis in downtown Hanoi”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Out the front is the hot and dusty hustle and bustle of downtown Hanoii.
Inside is the cool, cosy, comfortable lounges in the waiting room with complimentary wifi.
Staff are courteous and eager to please with a sensational swimming pool to cool off and on a scale of 1-10 the gym is a 8. It's really well equipped for a hotel gym.
Breakfast is varied and first class with lots of quality choices.
Rooms are comfortable and blessing in the oppressive heat.
We were there for a conference and the facilities were excellent.
Would definitely stay here again!
Directly opposite is a western style bakery - great for snacks.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    637
    186
    55
    20
See reviews for
214
591
112
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is a great option if you want a little bit of luxury for a reasonable price.

The decor is a little dated, but the service is fantastic.

We booked rooms on the club level, and were greeted by lovely staff who upgraded us to executive suites for no extra charge.

I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the (small amount) extra and upgrade to a club level room. The complimentary afternoon tea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Furthermore, as you probably know, we are now working on the up-grade of our facilities; we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you in our hotel and show you our up-graded product soon.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashik, India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Melia is a centrally located hotel in Hanoi. All the major attractions are close by to the hotel. Best part is taxi are very economical in Vietnam. Hanoi seems to be a safe city as well.

What I liked about Melia was

1. Although the staff is not very good at speaking English, their hospitality is extremely good
2. Rooms are spacious and clean
3. The hotel has good conferencing facility, ideal for big meetings
4. Restaurants serve awesome Vietnamese food

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SohamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Regarding the level of English of our team, some English courses are continuously conducted; however, some associates still have some difficulties to improve their level. Thank you so much for your understanding.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, out and back from HaLong Bay. Got upgraded rooms free both times. Well that's always a good sign! Rooms were well serviced, and 4 star standard.

Tried the disco outside bar on the first visit but the noise was making my ears bleed so on the second trip we stayed downstairs in a quiet corner bar. Drinks by Western standards are cheap, especially when compared to Singapore (Swissotel) our previous residence.

Used the hotel Vietnamese/Thai restaurant for dinner. It was excellent. Portions were very large - that's not a great criteria - but be careful not to order too much like we did. The service was very good and the food was delicious, flavoursome and well cooked.

Breakfasts were good up to the standard of other 4/5* hotels and plenty of buffet choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Melia in July 2013 while touring around Vietnam. This is the place to stay, and the hotel hosted many international and national functions while we were there. The location was superb, and within walking distance of the key attractions of Hanoi. The rooms were of a high standard and the rooftop pool was great for relaxing after a day out in the city. The breakfasts were of a high standard. We had one dinner in the hotel and it was of a good standard with huge choice. The wine list was extensive. However, it was the friendly and efficient front desk and reception service that was among the best we have encountered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adderleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Yesterday, we had 2 complimentary coupons for buffet dinner in El Patio Restaurant of Melia Hotel. We enjoy all the fresh dishes. They are very delicious. All the public area was quite warm. Unless there have had lack of the staff's smile, that would have been the perfect dinner. They served us unfriendly and unprofessionally, maybe because of the guests used complimentary coupons while everything's opposite for the foreigner.
Looking forward to seeing the better service in the next time when I have a chance coming back the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsJennyLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Ms. JennyLe,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel services.

I am very sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with the service provided in our El Patio Restaurant. The attitude you describe is absolutely not the way our staff is trained and supposed to behave. Your opinion is very important for us and your comments will be used to improve our services. Actions have been taken to fix the issue and to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Melia, I love the name firstly. The breakfast was amazing even I don't usually eat breakfast. The Hotel is qualify for that standard they tend to advertise, and at the same time this place give you a lot of privacy which is good to me. The staffs are professional and friendly enough to welcome you. I love the new management! The great location too! Only one little thing is the bathroom needs to be upgrading :)))!. This Hotel suits for any occasions ( my idea).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Mirror L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

In particular, regarding your comments about the bathroom, as you probably know, we are now up-grading our facilities. The bathroom is one the point which is going to be improved.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#92 of 589 in Hanoi
2,162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 589 in Hanoi
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#70 of 589 in Hanoi
735 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#24 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing