We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, stylish: exceeds expectation.”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #68 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Great Missenden, Bucks, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Modern, stylish: exceeds expectation.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a modern, classy city-centre hotel with service to match its excellent facilities.
Welcome and check-in are warm and efficient: quick and hassle-free with just the right personal touch. With that indefinable combination of smiles and eye-contact, the guest is actually made to feel welcome.
A battery of super-fast, key-controlled lifts whisk one to the right floor in seconds. A really brilliant aspect of overall design is the escalator system for conference / meeting delegates to access their facility from the ground floor. This obviates the peak-time "elevator-clug" which is all too common in business hotels.
Bedrooms are spacious and quiet with an "office area!. Free wi-fi. Comfortable in every respect and quiet too. Bathroom well laid out with de luxe toiletries.
Tempted by a flier in the bedroom for a Mediterranean Buffet available in the restaurant, we signed up. It was really excellent with a huge range of the best of the Med., all washed down with unlimited quantities of wines from the region. Unsurprisingly, the red was a tempranillo which was distinctly "moreish". I doubt that the green-lipped mussels had ever savoured the waters of the Med but were none the worse for that. The Camembert and Pont l'Eveque cheeses were certainly authentic and the gazpacho, served in taster-glasses, could have been from El Bulli! It was amazing value at 690,00 Dong, or about £18.50 per person - that's with unlimited wine!
Breakfast buffet was equally good, with attentive staff impeccably dressed in traditional uniforms making the experience excellent rather than simply good.
Surprise, surprise: check-out was instantaneous, bags appeared in a flash and we were bid fond farewells.
Well done Melia. High expectations delivered .................. and some more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your fantastic review as well as wonderful comments.

We are delighted to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    640
    187
    55
    20
See reviews for
221
599
114
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Lovely rooms. Free wifi in rooms (since January 2014). Good breakfast. Kettle in room (and instant coffee, coffeemate and tea bags). We were overcharged for the "all inclusive" buffet dinner which includes 'free flow' wine. Somehow th bill we were charged for this bore no resemblance to the advertised price. My husband managed to get some money knocked off but not all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

In particular, I have shared your comments regarding the buffet dinner with our Director of Operations in order to make sure that the issues or discrepancies are fixed.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our first experience of Vietnam was here and it was a great introduction.All staff friendly and helpful, the room was immaculate and all food delicious.
Dinner was especially good with free flow wine!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Melia has a well earned reputation as one of the premier conference venues in Hanoi. For a location right in the center of the city, Melia is, in my opinion, unsurpassed as a conference hotel. Over the last few years I have attended numerous conferences and receptions and other events at the Melia. Without fail, each and every one has been run perfectly, without any fault. Some of these conferences have been held in the Grand Ballroom, some in the Thang Long Ballroom, some in both locations. Melia seems to be able to handle size, scale and complexity with ease, making any event a dream to organise and participate in.

The team of staff are highly trained, they take special attention to detail and always ensure conference delegates are well cared for. In my experience, as a delegate and an organiser, the Melia is without fault.

One of the special things that sets them apart is the superb buffet lunch at the restaurant on the first floor. As a part of a conference package, this is a great way to finish a morning session or to break up a long day. The food is always superb and well stocked.

If you're looking to hold a large, professional conference or event in the middle of Hanoi, you really should investigate the Melia as an option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustHappilyWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great comments about our hotel service as well as our Team members.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived at the hotel early in the morning having got off the plane at 6.30am. As our room wasn't ready they offered us a free breakfast which was a very nice gesture as it was only 10am. Our room was clean, comfortable and a good size overlooking the lovely swimming pool way below (which we used more than once). The hotel was situated in a fairly quiet part of Hanoi but not too far from the Old Quarter. The first evening we had a good buffet meal at the hotel then decided to 'pop out' for a drink but after wandering round for 20 minutes (during which time we felt quite safe) we failed to find anywhere that wasn't a restaurant or an ice cream parlour! In the end we walked back to the hotel and made for the 3rd floor nightclub in search of a cocktail. We were made very welcome but soon realised we were the only people in there apart from the DJ and about 10 staff. By the time we'd finished our cocktail (the place was still empty at about 9.45pm) we'd had enough of the thumping music and blue flashing lights so we went downstairs to find a quieter bar. Luckily we found just what we wanted and a trio were playing a laid back selection of popular music. a very relaxed finish to a very busy day. The beds were very comfortable and the aircon worked well. Breakfast was excellent and was served in a very pleasant dining room. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up will not have any problems with the noise from the 3rd floor night club. Rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great comments about our hotel service as well as our Team members.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langbank
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice because we had pre- booked. On both occasions the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast choice very good. Watch your room selection very carefully as there is a disco on the third floor and the racket is very bad. Ask for a high room where the noise is less but you can still hear "boom boom" On our first stay we were on the 21st floor in a smoking room (great joy) and it was tired. Next time we asked for a non smoking room which had been refurbished and the room we got on the 16th flor was much better. Hotel OK for a couple of nights if your room selection is careful. It is situated in the right place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of them will be used to improve our services.

About the nightclub, your comments have been shared with the Club Manager since the Club is not managed by the Hotel. We will follow-up with them to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future; my apologies for it.

Finally, I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, especially the food and that you found our staff pleasant and helpful. These kinds of comments are always very motivating.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Such a shame, I want to say good things about this hotel as it has a certain charm but we were mostly disappointed, primarily down to the lack of value for money. The Melia is in a reasonable location and the staff are lovely. However, the rooms are bit tired and run down. I expected better for the room rate.
One side of the hotel has great views across the city, the other has great views of the building work across the street.
We had very little sleep, due to "Hanoi's largest disco" being situated within the hotel. When the hot water packed up we complained to reception and were moved to a better room, I wish we'd done this sooner ( I also wish we'd given the disco a try but that's jet-lag for you).
If you can get this hotel for a bargain price you'll probably be quite happy.
But to sum up, I felt a bit sorry for it to be honest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services.

About the nightclub, your comments have been shared with the Club Manager since the Club is not managed by the Hotel. Actually it is not really and hopefully the “largest disco” in Hanoi, it is a bar-night club which closes at midnight. Anyway, we will follow-up with them to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future; my apologies for it.

Finally, as you probably know, we are now up-grading our product and will have some new rooms soon. I hope you will come back to Hanoi soon to be able to experience it.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 591 in Hanoi
2,190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 591 in Hanoi
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 591 in Hanoi
748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#24 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing