We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to start a stay in Vietnam”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #72 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived here straight from a flight direct from the UK. It wasn't the best start: we were told our room would be ready at 10, then it was 11, then 12, then 1 - though our guide started pushing the issue so we were in at 12:30. Once we got in though the room we had on floor 18 it was clean, tidy, and well provisioned. Breakfast was really good and varied as well so don't worry about starving when you start your day.

Due to a change in our itinerary we checked out and then checked in again a few days later. We were given a twin room incorrectly on floor 11, then a double on floor 13; neither room was as clean or as modern as the one we had on floor 18, though they were the same level of room. So if you can, ask for floor 18.

One real negative though: you have to pay $12 for Internet for 24 hours. This is ludicrous and in all other hotels we stayed in Vietnam and Cambodia the Internet was free, like most hotels around the world now. This outdated extra really should be abolished.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lloyd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and for your valuable comments.

I have shared your comments regarding the Check in procedure with Front Office Manager; actions have been taken to fix the issue and to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future. This is definitely not the kind of service that our associates are requested to provide.

I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our internet rate. Therefore, I would like to inform you that we are actually analyzing it with our Internet provider in order to find a more affordable rate for our clients. On the other hand, for the conveniences of our guests, we provide free wifi internet in our Cava Lounge, El Patio Restaurant, El Oriental Restaurant as well as The Level Lounge (Executive floor) and The Level rooms. This kind of room may be more suitable for your needs next time you stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your comments that help us improve day by day our services. We do hope to have another chance to welcome you in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff are lovely. The food is excellent. The beds are uncomfortable (very hard) which seems to be quite normal in Vietnam? There is a nightclub in the hotel so ask for a quiet room if this will bother you. Location, not far from train station.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnWindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of them will be used to improve our services.

I am sorry to read that the bed was not comfortable enough for you. Indeed, most of our guests prefer hard beds. However, for you next stay, please do not hesitate to inform us, we have the possibility to add a soft pad on top of the mattress. This option would make the mattress softer and more suitable for you.

About the nightclub, your comments have been shared with the Club Manager. Action has been taken in order to avoid the noise to reach the guest’s floor; my apologies for it.

Finally, I am glad to read that you enjoyed the food and that you found our staff lovely. These kinds of comments are always very motivating.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Vietnam and we were not sure what to expect in the quality of the accommodation.
On arrival at the Melia Hanoi, we were met by friendly and professional consierge and reception staff and taken to our room in a timely manner. We were given an upgrade and were amazed to find we had been allocated a spacious 2 room executive suite with 2 bathrooms on the ninth floor, it certainly had the wow factor. The room (more like an apartment) was serviced everyday for our 3 day stay and it was real pleasure to stay at this hotel.
Many thanks to the front desk staff who let me book and print my "on line boarding pass" for our trip home to Perth in Australia.
Kind regards Heather and James

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great comments about our hotel service, especially our Team members. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent 3 nights here at end of July. Hotel staff very welcoming and
helpful. Room was large and comfortable. Food good and varied in choice of restaurants. Excellent choice of food at buffet breakfast.. Would be happy to stay here again, despite loud disco.

Room Tip: Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PompeyRog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My partner and I came to the hotel in the early morning and the front staff were very helpful and it made us think that we would have a very good service stay. After 3 nights spending there at the 18th floor, everything has changed in my mind:
Carpet: really old and bad smell.
Wifi: It was unavailable until we called the receptionist and they connected me to the IT I think.
Breakfast: quite good with many choices but the staff seemed not happy with our "present". When I came to the corner where " Pho" is served. no staff served there until we waited for a while and called other to make it.
Good location.
Anyway, I would choose another hotel if i go back to Ha noi, vietnam

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences suffered during your stay. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services. Actions have been taken to fix the issue and to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future.

Among all your comments, I would like to apologize especially for the service received during the breakfast. I am sorry to read that you felt not welcomed. This is absolutely not the kind of service that our staff is expected to provide.

Even I understand that so far you would not recommend our hotel, I do hope that you will reconsider it and give us another chance.

I really look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Compared with Movenpick Hanoi, where I often stay, this hotel seems old and less clean in the room. Restaurants and bars are limited. Wifi is available both in your room and in the restaurant, but only for one PC or smartphone.
Next time I'll be back to Movenpick.

Room Tip: View from the room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirokhmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services. We will keep working on the area of improvements you mentioned.

Even I understand that so far you would not recommend our hotel, I do hope that you will reconsider it and give us another chance.

I really look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Let's start with the good points. The room was a decent size, with a large bed and good desk for working. The Melia's location is also good, within walking distance of restaurants, tourist sites as well as central business district. The gym is well above average. But my overwhelming impression is pretty forgettable -there's really nothing special about his hotel that would make me eager to come running back. The price is neither very cheap nor very expensive - and what you get for your money is fine but not stunning. Sure, it's absolutely OK, but I would easily choose another hotel if it was cheaper, more stylish, with better food, etc etc as compared to the Melia. The furnishings and decor are fine, but tired. Service is polite but not over-friendly or particularly efficient. Food is edible but not really tasty. Pool is nice but not fantastic. And so on. Only one mjaor gripe - no wifi in the rooms except at extortionate cost. That is a real rip off, and the Melia must be one of the few hotels in Hanoi that doesn't include wifi as part of the deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not really covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services. We will keep working on the area of improvements you mentioned.

Regarding your comment about our internet rate, we are actually analyzing it with our Internet provider in order to find a more affordable rate for our client. However, as you have probably noticed, we do provide free wifi internet in our Cava lounge, both restaurants, The Level lounge (executive floor) and The Level rooms. This kind of room may be more suitable for your needs next time you stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#97 of 599 in Hanoi
2,268 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 599 in Hanoi
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.4 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#42 of 599 in Hanoi
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Address: 44B Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hanoi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $100 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located in the heart of Vietnam’s capital, Meliá Hanoi welcomes all who are looking for splendid accommodation, first-class facilities, and warm service. Luxurious rooms and a wide array of facilities, from a state-of-the-art business center to an outdoor swimming pool, make the hotel a perfect choice for business or leisure. The Meliá Hanoi also offers diners a world of culinary delights to explore, from the international themed buffets of El Patio to the local flavors of El Oriental. Strategically located in Hanoi, the hotel stands a short distance from many key districts and major attractions such as the Hanoi Opera House, Old Quarter, Temple of Literature, and Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum. Celebrating the nation’s rich culture and traditions, including the natural wonder of Ha Long Bay, the hotel’s tour desk offers guests many ways to explore Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing