We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a quiet room, then you will have a lovely stay”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #67 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ask for a quiet room, then you will have a lovely stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff are lovely. The food is excellent. The beds are uncomfortable (very hard) which seems to be quite normal in Vietnam? There is a nightclub in the hotel so ask for a quiet room if this will bother you. Location, not far from train station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnWindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of them will be used to improve our services.

I am sorry to read that the bed was not comfortable enough for you. Indeed, most of our guests prefer hard beds. However, for you next stay, please do not hesitate to inform us, we have the possibility to add a soft pad on top of the mattress. This option would make the mattress softer and more suitable for you.

About the nightclub, your comments have been shared with the Club Manager. Action has been taken in order to avoid the noise to reach the guest’s floor; my apologies for it.

Finally, I am glad to read that you enjoyed the food and that you found our staff lovely. These kinds of comments are always very motivating.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    636
    186
    55
    20
See reviews for
213
589
112
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Vietnam and we were not sure what to expect in the quality of the accommodation.
On arrival at the Melia Hanoi, we were met by friendly and professional consierge and reception staff and taken to our room in a timely manner. We were given an upgrade and were amazed to find we had been allocated a spacious 2 room executive suite with 2 bathrooms on the ninth floor, it certainly had the wow factor. The room (more like an apartment) was serviced everyday for our 3 day stay and it was real pleasure to stay at this hotel.
Many thanks to the front desk staff who let me book and print my "on line boarding pass" for our trip home to Perth in Australia.
Kind regards Heather and James

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great comments about our hotel service, especially our Team members. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent 3 nights here at end of July. Hotel staff very welcoming and
helpful. Room was large and comfortable. Food good and varied in choice of restaurants. Excellent choice of food at buffet breakfast.. Would be happy to stay here again, despite loud disco.

Room Tip: Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PompeyRog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My partner and I came to the hotel in the early morning and the front staff were very helpful and it made us think that we would have a very good service stay. After 3 nights spending there at the 18th floor, everything has changed in my mind:
Carpet: really old and bad smell.
Wifi: It was unavailable until we called the receptionist and they connected me to the IT I think.
Breakfast: quite good with many choices but the staff seemed not happy with our "present". When I came to the corner where " Pho" is served. no staff served there until we waited for a while and called other to make it.
Good location.
Anyway, I would choose another hotel if i go back to Ha noi, vietnam

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences suffered during your stay. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services. Actions have been taken to fix the issue and to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future.

Among all your comments, I would like to apologize especially for the service received during the breakfast. I am sorry to read that you felt not welcomed. This is absolutely not the kind of service that our staff is expected to provide.

Even I understand that so far you would not recommend our hotel, I do hope that you will reconsider it and give us another chance.

I really look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Compared with Movenpick Hanoi, where I often stay, this hotel seems old and less clean in the room. Restaurants and bars are limited. Wifi is available both in your room and in the restaurant, but only for one PC or smartphone.
Next time I'll be back to Movenpick.

Room Tip: View from the room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirokhmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services. We will keep working on the area of improvements you mentioned.

Even I understand that so far you would not recommend our hotel, I do hope that you will reconsider it and give us another chance.

I really look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Let's start with the good points. The room was a decent size, with a large bed and good desk for working. The Melia's location is also good, within walking distance of restaurants, tourist sites as well as central business district. The gym is well above average. But my overwhelming impression is pretty forgettable -there's really nothing special about his hotel that would make me eager to come running back. The price is neither very cheap nor very expensive - and what you get for your money is fine but not stunning. Sure, it's absolutely OK, but I would easily choose another hotel if it was cheaper, more stylish, with better food, etc etc as compared to the Melia. The furnishings and decor are fine, but tired. Service is polite but not over-friendly or particularly efficient. Food is edible but not really tasty. Pool is nice but not fantastic. And so on. Only one mjaor gripe - no wifi in the rooms except at extortionate cost. That is a real rip off, and the Melia must be one of the few hotels in Hanoi that doesn't include wifi as part of the deal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not really covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services. We will keep working on the area of improvements you mentioned.

Regarding your comment about our internet rate, we are actually analyzing it with our Internet provider in order to find a more affordable rate for our client. However, as you have probably noticed, we do provide free wifi internet in our Cava lounge, both restaurants, The Level lounge (executive floor) and The Level rooms. This kind of room may be more suitable for your needs next time you stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We both felt there very comfortable, due its high class and professional Service. My Stay ther was for 2 Nights. My Room had a usual size and was pretty cosy outfitted. Very clean and good Bathroom too. On both Evening i went together with some Businessfriends into their nice Restaurant and there was a good Service given to the Guests. Much Choices at the (professional decorated and fresh) Breakfastbuffet too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazurandAzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 588 in Hanoi
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 588 in Hanoi
730 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#23 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing