We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Location - Typical Melia”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #68 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Location - Typical Melia”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

There are advantages and slight disadvantages. The location is very good, you can actually walk (8-10 minutes) to the very center of Hanoi, through commercial avenues. Breakfast selection is good. Dinner is more european style rather than Vietnamese (slight disadvantage). On the other hand, this hotel is huge! Which means there is rather difficult to keep in good shape. It is worn, you obvious feel that - especially in the rooms, there were also doing some maintenance during our stay which was quite noisy. Oh, and the wifi is very expensive!! But it is a good choice to stay in Hanoi!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariTravelPatras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I have shared your comments regarding the need of more Vietnamese cuisines for dinner with our Executive Chef. We are now trying to see the best options available. However, every night we have a selection of Vietnamese dishes in our main buffet and a Vietnamese style show-cooking station right at the entrance of the restaurant. We will remind our restaurant team to pay more attention to it and make sure it is introduced to our guests.

Regarding your comment about our internet rate, we are actually analyzing it with our Internet provider in order to find a more affordable rate for our client. However, as you have probably noticed, we do provide free wifi internet in our Cava lounge, The Level lounge (executive floor) and The Level rooms. This kind of room may be more suitable for your needs next time you stay with us.

Finally, as you probably know, we are now working on the renovation process and hope to be able to start soon.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    631
    186
    55
    20
See reviews for
204
578
112
557
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel was a great base and home away from home for my children, husband and I from the fast pace of Hanoi. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly providing excellent advice on taxis, places of interest and ideas for exceptional restaurants. They accommodated our request for interconnecting rooms and the rooms were non smoking as requested unlike other hotels in Vietnam.


The breakfast was wonderful, the pastries and eggs particularly good. The pool was also great, just the right temperature and very clean.

Our only complaint would be that the beds were quite hard and you needed to be careful getting in or out of the shower, although the hotel did provide a non slip mat.


Overall I would recommend this hotel, the staff even stored some luggage when we went to Halong Bay for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

In particular, I have shared your comments regarding the hard beds and slippery floor with our Executive Housekeeping and Chief Engineer. We are now trying to find how to improve the situation.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

we spent three nights here and we were very impressed with everything from the welcome at the front door/reception staff to the quality of the breakfasts. we found our room very comfortable and clean. the air con was set just right so we did not need to adjust it as i have had to do in other hotels.the hotel is well situated for most of the major attractions and there is quite a lot of decent restaurants nearby also loads of street food if you want to be adventurous.

Room Tip: higher floors have best views although there is not a great deal to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Melia was a wonderful hotel. Staff was very courteous and friendly. When we got into our rooms the concierge who brought in our luggage seem to hang around abit, we kept saying "thank you" then he said he'll show us how the tv works, where the safe is, the mini bar etc etc. Then it dawned on me that he was waiting for a tip. We Australians don't tip, only because it is not expected in our country to tip. It made us feel a little uncomfortable, so then we had to hurry and look into our wallet to see what we can give them. The lounge area was relaxed and very nice to sit at night and enjoy a vietnamese iced coffee and the desserts were delicious. Breakfast was fantastic, there was everything you could think of. Beds were comfortable, our television was not the best so we had to call an engineer(they call them engineers) to come and fix it, still abit snowy but watchable. We went to Ha Long Bay, the trip was well worth it. We came back to the hotel for 1 night before we left for Hoi An, so our rooms were rebooked and because the hotel was full with people in for a conference and all the rooms were taken up, our friends were offered the presidential suite which was absolutley amazing, lucky them. So that was really nice of the hotel staff to offer that at no extra charge due to us booking a year in advance. I had a massage at the hotel aswell, can't remember the name of it, it was AMAZING, it cost me Australian $100 or so and i got the 10% discount, it was what i needed, due to me not liking the city of Hanoi, it was too polluted and affected my nose & sinuses and way too busy for the narrow streets, could not walk on the pavement because all the cars are parked on the pavement, very dusty and grey, not for me. Apart from that the Melia Hotel was wonderful.

Room Tip: back part of hotel, because the street was clean. But i don't think it really matters because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and services.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

I am very sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with our bellman. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve it. Actions have been taken immediately to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Melia Ha Noi is a straightforward 5-star business hotel. Nothing wrong with it, but nothing exciting either. The building is slightly dated (80s, I guess...). Recommended for large meetings as they have a large ball room. Location ok. If you stay in this area, I prefer the Mövenpick which is like 200m away, and has that little extra charm.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not covered your expectations. As you may know, we are now preparing a renovation process and hope to be able to start soon. Even our hotel will still be very convenient for meetings and conventions, we hope that the new design will make it also suitable for travelers seeking out a charming journey.

Even I understand that so far you would not recommend our hotel, I do hope that you will reconsider it and give us another chance.

I really look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice well located hotel friendly staff and good breakfast but expected better for five stars. Paying for wifi was very diss appointing the room size was quite small for an Asia hotel also. Never seemed to be any umberells available.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services. We will keep working on the area of improvements you mentioned.

Regarding your comment about our internet rate, we are actually analyzing it with our Internet provider in order to find a more affordable rate for our client. However, as you have probably noticed, we do provide free wifi internet in our Cava lounge, The Level lounge (executive floor) and The Level rooms. This kind of room may be more suitable for your needs next time you stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

There is no doubt that the hotel is lovely. Nice decor and very comfortable room but there was something missing from the start and that was service. The front desk staff (especially the female staff) were rude and arrogant with the various concerns we had during our stay. It isn't that we didn't have a nice stay, more that we had frequent smaller issues that never had a simple solution as staff were not helpful. Simple issues such as accessing money from the exchange station there was made into a headache by staff who didn't want to help at that time. Issues with the Internet, or lack of (even when it had been arranged at the time of booking) became a battle, unhelpful staff who wouldn't help to put through an international call....... No massive issues but small issues every day so our 5 day stay tainted this part of our trip. Clean rooms, nicely decorated and very helpful cleaning staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partlyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry and concerned about the inconveniences suffered with our Front Desk. This is absolutely not the kind of service our associates are requested to provide and I would like to apologize for it.

In order to be able to take the right actions, I would really appreciate to get some more details about the issues you experienced. Should you have time, would you be so kind to provide us more details, sending me an e-mail to gm@meliahanoi.com.vn .

I hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, I look forwarding to be in contact with you as mentioned above.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 586 in Hanoi
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 586 in Hanoi
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 586 in Hanoi
1,732 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing