We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, but expensive internet”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #67 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
USA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“convenient, but expensive internet”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed here in December as part of our 12 days Vietnam and Cambodia tour.

This large hotel is in the middle of town, and about a block from the famous "Hotel Hilton" where American POW were held during the Vietname war. There are several shops and restaurants within walking distance. Other tourist areas are further away, but taxi is easily hailed and very cheap, so it does not matter much.

The receptionists were efficient, careful, friendly and provided many useful information. One thing I need to complain is that they charge US$12 per 24 hour period. So if you need to use internet a lot, it can be quite expensive. One saving grace is that the lobby coffee shop area provides free wifi. You will need to ask the front desk for the password.

The room is very good size with desk area. Bed was confortable, flat screen TV with many channels, including CNN, BBC, ESPN, HBO and other language channels such as Chinese, Japanese, Korean and so on.

We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevew918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    636
    186
    55
    20
See reviews for
213
589
112
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while we explored Hanoi and surrounding areas. This was the first leg of our 3 week honeymoon in Vietnam.
My first impression of the hotel was ‘mild disappointment’. This is based on our greeting/check-in and upon seeing our room.
The room was clean and a reasonable size but dominated by a LARGE executive desk. The bathroom was adequate. There was also no visible recognition that we were on honeymoon. i.e. Flowers/wine/fruit/note from management.
15 minutes after getting in the room we were brought a single lily stem in a vase…
However, after returning to our room on the first evening, we found a lovely green heart-shaped cake and a bottle of wine waiting for us.
Things were looking up.
The following morning we ventured down to breakfast, and even though it was towards the end of service, we found an amazing array of foods; Breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, yogurts, cereals, pastries, eggs, bacon, sausages etc. Also a variety of fresh juices and some smoothies.

On the second evening in the hotel we started to notice LOUD deep bass noise vibrating through our room.
It was the night club on the 3rd floor. (Bear in mind that we were on the 7th floor!!!)
This noise went on until 2am and apparently there was nothing reception/management could do about it!!!
I’d imagine that the only reason we didn’t hear this on the first night was because we were so exhausted after travelling in from London and walking around Hanoi for several hours.
The noise kept us awake for the second and third night.
We mentioned this on our customer satisfaction form, but no-one from the hotel has responded up to this point.

We found that the location is ideal for walking to the Hoan Kiem lake, old quarter and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum.

Good points: Location and Breakfast
Bad points: Lack of sleep/Noisy night club

The hotel is most definitely geared up for business travel guests and hosting conferences, but it’s location is a great draw.
I don’t think I’d stay here again if I was in Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Melia Hanoi is a hotel that meets all standards for business travel. The rooms have a decent size with modern, tasteful and practical funiture. The bath room has only a bath and the shape of the bath tub and the height of the shower head makes the shower position rather awkward for taller people. Best is to have a separate shower and bad like newer hotels have and if I have to choose I prefer a decent shower cabin.

Room is maintained well apart some minor dark spots between the tiles.

Unfortunately the Melia is no exception were it comes to pay for food, drinks and internet. All is expensive, especially considering the cost of things outside the hotel.

Staff is friendly and forthcoming.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBObackNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I spent 6 nights in the Melia Hanoi from 30 December 2011 and so we spent New Year in Hanoi. The hotel is beautiful and we received excellent service from all staff. The hotel was lovely decorated and had a huge Christmas tree in the foyer. The breakfast was wonderful with a large choice of all types of food to suit all nationalities. The hotel is within walking distance of the centre of town and had a lovely atmosphere down by the river on New Year's Day with all the families strolling around looking at all the many varieties of decorations put up along the streets and in the trees. We went to see the Water Puppets Show which was good. I would highly recommend the Melia Hanoi Hotel.

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet3197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This large, modern 4 star hotel is located in Hanoi's diplomatic district about half a mile from Hanoi's lake and old quarter. Our bedroom was a good size and well decorated, with a comfortable bed and a well-equipped bathroom. The breakfast was plentiful and international. They also run a great sea-food buffet in the evenings at weekends which was delicious, particularly the lobster, good value but not cheap. The only drawback on a cold winter's day was the inability to heat up the large foyer area which was very chilly. You therefore need to find a table in the main restaurant that's tucked round the corner to get out of the draught!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I spent a fortnight on business here in January 2012, and found it of quite a high standard for a business hotel in Hanoi.
I had a corner "Executive Suite" on the 19th floor, but even that high, the sounds of busy streets around were clearly
heard through the single-glaze windows - it required ear-plugs to sleep properly. Nevertheless, the rooms were furnished
very tastefully, with custom-made wooden fittings, cabinetry and panelling all in a uniform dark-honey stain, set off by
darker colour inlays. The den was spacious and well-fitted out with settee, two arm-chairs, desk and high-backed desk swivel
chair, wifi, TV and drinks cabinet, and separate toilet. The bedroom was very spacious and equally well-kitted, also with
armchair, silent butler, TV and more than enough closet space with (rare!) a half-dozen hangers for suit trousers. The large bathroom
was furnished in an unappealing gray marble, and was the least pleasant of the rooms (dirty grouting peeling away from the shower
floor, a recalcitrant shower door and a far-too-short bath-tub). Towels were changed twice a day (unless one intervened) by the exceptionally friendly yet discreet room staff. Indeed, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, from the young (lady!) doormen through the reception, restaurant and room-service staff to the staff of the spa and fitness. The hotel was very busy with the approach of the Lunar New Year holiday, and often it was quite a battle to push one's way through the throngs of tourists and merry-makers (the hotel has two ballrooms!) in the foyer. Yet the only real blemish was the cramped, crowded and often noisy breakfast room whose buffet did not reach the standard of the rest of the hotel. Given its excellent location in the French Quarter near Hoan Kiem lake and the Opera, this is a highly recommendable business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the Melia for a few nights before travelling to Halong Bay and one night after Halong Bay. On both occasions we were upgraded to a suite which was a real treat. The hotel is well situated and is only a short walk to the old quarter. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of foods both Western and Asian. What really makes a stay for me is the staff and the staff at the Melia were fantastic. They could not do enough for us and were always attentive and happy. I highly recommend the Melia and it would be my first choice if I return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 588 in Hanoi
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 588 in Hanoi
730 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#23 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing