We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, not sure about the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nikko Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Hanoi
Ranked #76 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not sure about the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here one night in March 2012 due to a change in plans. It's a JAL owned hotel and appears to be aimed at the Japanese business visitor. We arrived late and because the regular rooms had all gone we were upgraded at no cost. The hotel is clean, well equipped and the restaurant breakfast provided a good choice for most people. It is a little remote from some of the tourist areas but if you are on an organised tour this makes no difference and if you need to move around the City the taxi service is good and cheap although there is the usual language problem best dealt with by writing down your destination or better still get the hotel team to do it for you. Carry a hotel card to get back again. As ever the staff in these hotels do try to please.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aitch1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    306
    72
    10
    11
See reviews for
105
130
59
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

In March 2012 we stayed 3 nights in Nikko Hanoi. It was our first hotel for our three week trip through Vietnam and what a way to start. We were booked here, because our pre-booked hotel Flower Garden was overbooked, but we were happy to start our vacation with such luxury. The hotel is not in the city centre near all sightseeing locations, but is right in the middle between the city's highlights. A taxi to the centre shouldn't cost you more than 50.000 vnd. The hotel rooms are spacious and modernly decorated. The bathroom is well sized and offers all the things you might need, such as a blowdryer, bathroom amenities and even a heated toilet seat.
The restaurants in the hotel are really expensive. The prices are equal to prices in the Netherlands and we paid almost four times the amount of money we would have spent elsewhere. The food is nice, but not worth the money. It's better to walk 10 minutes in the French Quarter to restaurant Highway 4.
Breakfast is great, with a wide range of both Western dishes as Vietnamese. We ate quite a lot every morning, just because we wanted to try as much as possible.
The service in the hotel is really good, like you would expect in such an upmarket hotel. There is even a guarded luggage room and the staff is very helpful.
Nikko Hotel Hanoi is a great way to start your holiday in Vietnam.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingeleding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Service good, but hotel seemed a bit tired. Good location, but would have a scan of other hotels in city as this one needs a bit of a remake

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just got back from a first-ever visit to Vietnam. Booked at the last-minute with a travel agent and chose the Nikko Hanoi as that was the best five-star hotel available over the Vietnamese Tet holidays.

Traveled with another couple and we were thrilled to step foot into the Nikko leaving the hustle and bustle of the chaotic city outside. Our reservations were all in order and in a few short minutes, we were in our smoke-free rooms (923 & 925) in a non-smoking floor. As expected of a Japanese hotel chain, everything worked beautifully. We especially appreciated the huge, firm, larger than California King-sized beds to crash at night and the heated Japanese toilets (esp when it was 50 degrees F outside).

Reception staff were all very friendly and spoke good English. There was a Japanese lady at the reception (I’m guessing she’s the supervisor/manager) when we checked-in again (Rms 1022 & 1024) after our one night stay over in Halong Bay. Didn’t catch her name but she was very helpful and made us feel very glad to be back. We requested quieter rooms and the even-numbered rooms did the trick – away from the trains zipping by upfront and traffic noises below.

In a nutshell, if you’re heading to a city you’re not familiar with and maybe slightly apprehensive about in terms of service standards, stay at the Nikko Hanoi. You can’t go wrong here.

Tips
Your first-time in the city? Book a full package, personal tour with your travel agent (if possible). We had our own guide, driver and car and it was a breeze. Got to see the main sights at our own time and pace.

Dine at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. My party loved the ambiance and food at the Le Beaulieu and Spices Garden Restaurants.

Don’t worry about changing the local currency. We managed very well with US Dollars. Sure sometimes it meant paying a tad more but handling the mind-boggling local dong wasn’t worth the effort.

Pack all your essential with you on your trip. Maybe because it was the Tet holidays and a lot of stores were closed but we couldn’t find a decent supermarket anywhere.

Halong Bay is certainly worth a visit. Be aware it’s a harrowing 3½ hour ride from Hanoi getting there. Brace yourself as Vietnamese drivers drive all over the place so if you’re a stickler for traffic rules, don’t sit upfront with your driver. You’ll freak (we did!).

Be careful where you stay at Halong. Our tour had us booked at The Royal Halong for one night and it a total dump. We were given musky villa rooms (that obviously hadn’t been rented for ages) by reception staff who looked like they hated their jobs. If we hadn’t checked in so late, we would have insisted on alternative accommodations – the new Novotel Halong seemed like a much safer bet.

Enjoy this very interesting city!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happy2bealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
246 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were acconmmodated in this hotel when the one booked was closed for repair. Found it very comfortable. Breakfast was reasonable. Hotel was centrally situated. No problem whatsoever

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CummingDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 802 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was a reasonable hotel. I stayed on the non-smoking floor (12th). It takes around 1 hour from the airport to reach the hotel. It is a Japanese style hotel and even has the bidet, warm toilet seats. The room service was excellent and came hot. The buffet restaurant downstairs also had a wide variety for evening meals. Breakfast was ok, do try the passionfruit it was delicious and they are huge. Bit annoying the portrait bar has smoking. The hotel is beside the train station but I did not really notice it and I was only concerned about the loud karoke singing from outside which could be heard from the 12th floor but did stop around 10.30pm and was not every night and I stayed 3 nights. All in all I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The tourist sight the Hanoi Hilton Prison is not far from the hotel, around 5 minutes by taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Friendly staff, decent spread of food at breakfast buffet, although there was one morning where I had to queue pretty long for a table for breakfast. The manager appeared quickly to resolve patrons who were becoming unhappy. Nice amenities available. Location is alright, pretty near by cab to the lakes and old quarter by cab.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloverleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#83 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#74 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#77 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Hanoi

Property: Hotel Nikko Hanoi
Address: 84 Tran Nhan Tong Street | Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Hanoi, Hotel Nikko Hanoi is close to prominent office locations, historic sites and popular shopping areas. Set amongst parks and lakes the hotel is a quiet retreat of serenity and comfort from the city’s vibrant streets.From the moment you are welcomed into the Hotel’s spacious Lobby, you will be surrounded by Vietnamese charm and traditional Japanese hospitality.The hotel features 257 generously sized and beautifully decorated guest rooms and suites with Hanoi City or Thong Nhat Park views.Whether your travel plans include meetings, conventions or leisure, the hotel can accommodate you in style and comfort - while offering a variety of amenities to make your stay a most rewarding one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nikko Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing