We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton was just okay”
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #93 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hilton was just okay”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

WE booked a few nights here at the end of an intrepid trip through Vietnam, figuring we would be in need of a couple of nights that were comfortable, and with a pool (hard to find a pool in Hanoi). We stayed the previous night in a simple hotel in the old Quarter, $55 a night, so it was a big jump in price to the Hilton. We had a room with 2 single beds, and an extra single bed thrown in, so needless to say there was not a lot of space. We found the location was far from wherever we wanted to be, I guess being smack in the Old Quarter was really convenient for wandering and finding restaurants etc, and also good for being among local people.
To our disappointment, the pool was heated - really warm so not refreshing on the days where the temp in Hanoi was close to 45 degrees, so we did not swim, Not sure why on earth they heat the pool in summer!!! The breakfast was $20US each, so we wandered down to the lake and had a big breakfast each day for a fraction of that. I have stayed in a few Hilton hotels over the years, and have to say that this was a very average experience, and had we known, we would have stayed in our hotel in the Old Quarter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    848
    269
    76
    31
See reviews for
336
706
149
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Overall a very nice hotel in a good location. I stayed here one night at the end of my trip and it was nice to stay in a comfortable clean hotel in a good location. The Executive Lounge was nice and the rooms, a bit small from what I'm used to, but still very satisfactory.

I DID like the fact the hotel staff offered me to use the health club showers before leaving for a red eye flight that night. After a full day of HOT Hanoi sightseeing...the shower was a welcomed perk. Thank-you!!

On the flip side, I would have appreciated a bit later check-out than what they offered me (2PM). They claimed they were full, but the hotel DID NOT appear full. However, they did offer for me to stay later at the charge of 1/2 night's rate. Hmmm...I thought you were "full???" If you're willing to give me the room if I pay for it...then you're really not that full after all. I'm a Gold member and would have expected a bit more flexibility. Also the lobby is a bit dated, but otherwise the hotel is fine and the staff are attentive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WldTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The situation of the hotel is quite convenient and you may walk (scooters permitting) to a lot of locations. But be very careful as the traffic rules seem to be non existent.
The check in is a bit vague and I was a bit unclear on waht was going on most of the time.
Room is clean and quite well appointed but rather bland.
The breakfast room was a bit on the small side and got very crowded and cramped. Choices on buffet somewhat limited.
The health club is ok a little small for size of hotel.
The Vietnamese restaurant on the second floor is very good and I enjoyed the food.
The check out was quite painless and far more efficient than the check in.
A reasonable hotel nothing outstandingly good or outstandingly bad.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJB774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The hotel was nicely located in the center of Hanoi, just next to the famous Opera House. The Hoankien Lake was wihin walking distance, the Old Quarter Market and Quan An Ngan could be reached just a few minutes by taxi. Some nice Vietnamese restaurants nearby . Staff were quite friendly. The room was spacious and well-maintained. The pool was small but also nice. Some improvements can be made to its recreation facilties. The facilities in the changing rooms and the showers on the fitness floor were a bit dated; also the towel provided by the spa center was stained. Got no time to try the hotel food so could not comment on its restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Arriving very late in the evening, the large and rather unimposing lobby creates a somewhat unwelcoming atmosphere. Indeed, much of the hotel is functional rather than special which was a slight disappointment given its fantastic location (if you want more elegance and luxury, pay a bit more for the nearby Sofitel Metropole). The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a lot of choice, although the cornflakes were stale and the croissants lacked any kind of lovely French crispness. The rooms, though, are large and my bed was wonderfully comfortable. At US$15 per 24 hours - continuous, so you can not start and stop at your leisure - cable connection to the internet is expensive. That said, the pool is excellent and the staff were unfailingly polite, even if they did not smile very much. Only one black mark! Watching a World Cup game in the Sports bar on just the 2nd day of the tournament, the bar had run out of both the beers I requested!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fountainhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
I would like to thank you for the valuable review of your stay at the hotel on Trip Advisor. Rest assured that your comments about the breakfast and lack of beers in JJ's Sports Bar have been taken very seriously and have been shared with our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Manager and immediate improvements have been made. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the politeness of our team. Thank you again for your constructive comments and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera on your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh CIty
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2010

super friendly staff that make you feel at home away from home. Somehow all the staff knows my name (even though I don't know theirs...hmmm. got to start learning some names :-) )

location, location location...can't beat it. Center of town and walking distance to bealtiful/historic lake, not to mention right next to the Opera House.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeancSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hilton Hanoi Opera on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you the team really help to make you feel at home when staying. Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed in the Hilton Hanoi for the last few nights of our 3 week stay in Vietnam. The other hotels we stayed in were much cheaper and of course gave us nowhere near the luxury of the Hilton(as expected). We minimised our spending on accommodation so that we could splurge for our final days. It was well worth it! The ambience of the Hilton was simply wonderful. Hanoi can be so noisy and hurried, it was lovely to return to the hotel and just sit in the lobby listening to either a string quartet, jazz band or trio of guitars each evening. Our room was simply lovely with special extras such as Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries.
The staff were wonderful and attentive without being intrusive and it was lovely to chat with them .They were always more than happy to organise a taxi for us or anything else we needed.
If you can stretch it to stay in an Executive room it is well worth it. The food in the Executive loung each evening, the breakfast , internet access etc was excellent.
Overall a great holiday experience for our last few days in Vietnam.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
It is always a pleasure to read such positive reviews on Trip Advisor from our satisfied guests and I would like to thank you for posting your review. I will be sharing your comments with our team here and was pleased to read that you enjoyed the live music offered in the lounge throughout the evenings and also the overall comfort offered in the hotel. I was also pleased to see that you enjoyed the additional benefits including the Evening Canapes offered in our Executive Floor. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera on your next visit to Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#83 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#70 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Property: Hilton Hanoi Opera
Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing