We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #93 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is well-situated and either a 10-minute walk or taxi ride to all tourist spots. The cyclist/ cycle rides outside charge VD$200,000 per hour. Make sure you keep an eye on your watch as they try to overcharge you! Hotel breakfast spread was a vast selection and really very tasty. All facilities good. Lovely lobby area with great pianists in the evening. Good gym/sauna. Unfortunately no spa, but they can recommend a local one. Swimming pool clean & good although small, but never very busy so fine. However, it could be colder! During our stay it was 2 degrees warmer than the air temperature (32c). The bedrooms were large and clean, but August is very humid and the windows were locked so our rooms felt damp. However, when we asked for a DE-HUMIDIFIER, it was brought to our rooms quickly and certainly helped a lot. Sports Bar had large TVs, pool table, darts boards and Happy Hour, so was good. Apart from breakfast, we did not eat at hotel, which is why I cannot give it an excellent grade. The staff were very nice but they gave us incorrect information on restaurants. We saw them telephone two restaurants (Sushi Tokyo and Sakura) on our last day when we wanted lunch around 2.30pm. We were assured they were open; however, when we arrived both restaurants were shut between 2-5pm so we were sent on a wild goose chase and the taxis cost us Viet Dong $20,000 each trip. So annoying :( Overall, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza/roundabout give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blairabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear blairabroad2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera when your next visit to Hanoi.

Until opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    889
    280
    81
    32
See reviews for
366
725
157
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Could us an upgrade to the rooms. Well located down town for business and walking. Tuk Tuk $2 everywhere seems to be the normal price. Food average in hotel but plenty outside with excellent value. Swimming pool old

Room Tip: Plan to go out and the room does not matter so much
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hy husband and I went Vietnam with his 2 brothers, 1 sister and 2 sister in laws. We had the best time. Our first hotel was the Hilton Hanoi opera. The hotel was very nice. The pool could have been bigger and a lot colder. The staff were wonderful. The food was awesome, fantastic selection for breakfast. Even the manager came and had a chat with us to see how everything was.
Need to have free wifi in all rooms!
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room. If you stay on the 7th floor, at an added cost, you get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Karen S,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on this website subsequent to your stay in June at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am happy to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our property. While we strive hard to exceed the expectations of our guests, it is always a delight to receive such positive compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family “home” upon your return to Hanoi.

Until your travel permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A very nice stay. Great location, friendly staff, good sized clean room and probably the best hotel breakfast I had while in Vietnam. The entrance to the hotel does not do justice to the large and beautiful lobby area.
No complaints, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyana212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Shyana212,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments after your stay in our property, Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and your comments will serve as an encouragement to us all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I look forward to welcoming you back “home” when opportunity permits.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location of this hotel is good, easy to walk to sights and shopping. However, beyond this not much is good. There is a serious problem with the air circulation and conditioning. It smells terrible, I'm told that if you stay on the executive floor its better, though I am doubtful. Upon walking in you notice a musty smell and it only intensified in the rooms. We asked for a different room, but the problem is everywhere. We had pre-paid or we would have changed hotels. The staff were friendly, but basically pretended not to notice. Other guests also complained. I was told "it rains a lot here, you just aren't used to it - you will see". We spent a week in Hanoi and nowhere else had this problem. All of our belongings also acquired that smell and took several washings before it dissipated.

There is an adequate gym and the swimming pool is hot (like soup), no in-room wifi or free LAN.

I would not stay at this hotel again. It is not cheap and until that air problem is fixed it is rather unpleasant.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive floor, otherwise I think the rooms are mostly identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyTul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Jess T,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comment, with reference to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

From the feedback shared, I thank you for your insight and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you appear to have experienced as a result of our summer tempratures.

Jess T, please rest assured that we will always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet with your expectations.

We hope that there will be another opportunity for us to re-build your confidence in the Hilton Hanoi Opera and therefore provide to you the Hilton standard of service that you have come to expect of Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Until time permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying Hilton Hanoi overall except bed. They are normally do not put duvet, only sheet!!! So uncomfortable indeed. And underneath TV, there are nothing that feels like somthing missing.
Size of room and location and exe lounge services are good.
I probably not return back unless someone else pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear JJ012,

Thank you for your comments on this website subsequent to your stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

As we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations, we were disappointed to find that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay experience in terms of our product. On a separate note, I am pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our discerning travellers.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera upon your next visit.

Until the occasion permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Easy access to most of Hanoi city. However, the staying experience is just average. Poor air conditioning, average staffs in term of profession and service, and almost nothing impress with food offer, lousy gym and swimming pool, no in room wifi and free LAN. In short I would recommend to stay rather in some smaller boutique hotel around town with better value of money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_LoverFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Fanghaur f,

Thank you for filling out a review on Trip Advisor.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet with your expectations. If you have any further suggestions that you would like for us to review and action, I would be pleased to hear your further comments.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 591 in Hanoi
1,829 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 591 in Hanoi
1,773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#79 of 591 in Hanoi
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Property: Hilton Hanoi Opera
Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing