We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel in great location”
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #91 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Lechlade
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in great location”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights in an Executive Suite... It was perfect... Big, clean fresh and all the facilities worked a treat.
I notice that other reviewers have stated that the hotel needs some refurbishment.... That would not be the case in our Suite, the Executive Lounge or the Lobby... These are the only areas in the hotel that we were in and they were all GREAT !!
Anyway, the location is perfect... In the nice end of the city and only 20 minutes from the Old Quarter.... Which is brilliant and crazy in equal measures :-)
I would have no problems in recommending this hotel as a first class, well located and modern hotel with excellent and friendly staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MandGLechlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear MandGLechlade,

Thank you for your most generous review subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.

While we pride ourselves on striving to exceed the expectations of our guests, it is always an absolute treat to receive such warm comments. Please be assured that I will take the liberty of forwarding your appreciation to all concerned so that we are all aware of your feedback.

With this in mind we once again thank you for your insight and we most certainly do look forward to welcoming you back “home” as our valued guest in the near future.

Until the occasion permits.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    845
    266
    76
    31
See reviews for
335
704
149
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Arrival :
Book 3rd party arrival transfer to hotel. Our arrival was early but I do email hotel about our early arrival. About 45min into the city, we arrived at Hilton. Bellman bring us to check in at executive lounge since our original room has been upgrade to executive room.

Room :
Room was quite spacious and balcony overlooking opera house was magnificent. Since the air was cold, its quite relaxing having breathe into fresh air. Its just plain balcony without having any chair. Bathroom was cramp, small if compare to other SEA Hilton.

Breakfast :
We have 2 option either having it at lounge or main restaurant. During 5 days here, we are having all bfast at main restaurant since there are a lot of choice to be choose include Pho and spring rolls. Pho was quite tasty.

Lounge :
Combination of about 3 deluxe room. Quite spacious and great food at evening cocktails hour and evening tea. Staff was very helpful in organizing and advise on Hanoi best place offer. Some of them are still very poor in English.

Overall :
Very classy environment but the room lack of characteristic of Hanoi. Need refurbishment to compete with Sofitel Metropole which also located in this area. Beware of taxi scam. Around 800m to the lake and 1km to old quarter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putraskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Putraskyline,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience after your stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am glad to hear of your positive impression with our breakfast offer and your particular enjoyment of “Pho” in addition to find our staff very helpful.

Putraskyline, I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit to Hanoi.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a review of Hilton Hanoi Opera's gym ONLY, which may be helpful to those of you who, like me, are staying at another hotel and are looking for a day pass at an Old Quarter area fitness centre/gym.

After days of running around Hoan Kiem, I needed a stationary bike and treadmill combo to get in a long "brick" workout. The Hilton was on my hotels' list as offering day passes. When I arrived at the facility I almost turned around and left, but I was desperate and short on time. Here's what you get for a $18 day pass:

On the positive side, staff were pleasant and helpful, there are several treadmills and a pool for cooling down and lockers with locks and showers. Everything was clean enough, but nowhere near a sparkling standard.

On the downside, nothing is the quality or condition you'd expect of a Hilton or multi-star hotel. The equipment was in pretty cruddy condition, several years beyond their prime. Several older treadmills (LifeFitness 91Ti), one ancient stationary bike that had working tension, but could not be programmed and only the seat could be adjusted. The men's locker room was clean but pretty sad. Lockers and shelving area worked but are decaying. No toiletries available except for soap in the showers.

Please Hilton, time for a serious upgrade to this facility!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalHealthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear GlobalHealthGuy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor response after your recent visit.

Thank you for your additional feedback with respect to our gym facilities. I would like to take the opportunity therefore of appraising you of the fact that this area within the hotel is currently under review so that we are better able to serve the needs of our discerning travelers.

We do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are a mature couple from Western Australia, cashed up bogans no less! Doing the rounds of Vietnam we encountered a splendid 3 night stay in this marvellous hotel that is well located in the more salubrious French Quarter of Hanoi, which has a certain je ne sais quoi! We were made most welcome and speak highly of the upgrade package to the exclusive lounge on offer. In terms of quality and service the hotel is second to none; You'll have to scrub the double plugged thongs for this one.

Gazza and Hells

Room Tip: Go for the $50.00 (plus tax of course) per night upgrade for the breakfast and the afternoon happy h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Garry m,

Thank you for your kind comment on this website.

I am extremely happy to hear that you rated the quality and service of our hotel to be ‘second to none’. While we strive hard to exceed the expectations of our guests, it is always a delight to receive such positive comment. I will therefore take the liberty to forward your compliments to all of our Team members.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you “back home” as and when your travels bring you back in this direction.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location but the hotel needs to be renovated and refitted. There were slight improvements like new flat-screen TVs in the room and slight expansion of the mini-gym.

You pay for location when you stay here.

Room Tip: Get the ones facing the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jronline,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor response after your recent visit.

Thank you once again for your feedback. I am pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program which includes the look, feel and layout of our hotel.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera in the near future.

Until time permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,115 reviews
298 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location for roaming, great rooms, fabulous breakfast, good staff. Wifi only free in lobby.lobby has live casual music at night with a casual bar, in room safe, western TV channels.i am not sure of cost because we were with a group.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear OntarioCanuck,

Thank you for your brief, detailed and gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am very happy to hear that you found our location to be ideal for ‘roaming’ and that the availability of all services met with your satisfaction.

OntarioCanuck, if you have any further suggestions that you would like for us to consider, I would be pleased to hear your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I LOVE this hotel. First, the location is great. A short walk to the busy streets leading to the lake. Second, I love the lobby. Just beautiful. Four elevators and so little wait time to go up and down. Third, the rooms are very comfortable.Four, staff are very friendly and helpful. Five,wonderful breakfast. Huge amount of choices. In 10 days I didn't get fed up with the choices. As a diamond member I had access to the lounge. It is a very nice lounge. Plus side: good, attentive staff, a fairly good range of food. The usual wine and beer. Slightly negative was the range of spirits available. My wife and I love to end the evening with some cheese and port -- but no port to be had (we have only stayed in two Hiltons where the lounge did not have port). So, no big deal if you are not port drinkers. The manager makes himself known and is very friendly, helpful and, of course, knowledgeable. Much appreciated to see him paying attention to various aspects of the operation -- thank you Peter.

Room Tip: Try to get on the Opera side of the building as they have the best views. Look out for Hilton's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Kakha,

Thank you for your most generous review subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.

It is nice to read that we met with your expectation especially as a Hilton Hhonors Diamond Member. Please rest assured that I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Mr. Kakha, once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming You back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera as our valued guest in the near future.

Until time permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#65 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#84 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#68 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Property: Hilton Hanoi Opera
Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing