We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady”
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #93 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have just returned after a fortnight stay at this hotel. It is 7 years since we last visited and found it as we remembered, although getting a little tired. Staff are polite and efficient and our favourite is the downstair bar, where we could snack, two things to mention, try the Mojitos and the spring rolls. The breakfast is a very large buffet, that caters for most ethnic tastes. It is central to the Old Quarter, we walked there and back and around the lake. The traffic is still nuts, there are now traffic lights, that everyone ignores and there are more cars. We travelled into the provinces and I highly recommend this, the temples are astonishing and the scenery is never boring, although where we went there were very few Europeans, everyone greeted us cheerily "Hello" It was winter average 17d C, but by Melbourne standards it was not cold. Downside motorbikes still are parked on the footpaths, street food vendors clutter the street, but that's how they earn a living,and the footpaths are full of holes and very uneven. Ha noi is very different to H.C.M.C. enjoy the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear DesertLoverVictoria,

Welcome “home” and thank you for taking a moment to share your experience subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.

I am happy to hear that you found our Team members to be ‘polite and efficient’ with particular note to your bar experience. I am also delighted that you found our location to be a convenient access to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter.

DesertLoverVictoria, thank you for sharing your experience of travelling into the surrounding provinces and the insights.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    889
    280
    81
    32
See reviews for
366
725
157
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of a Titon Tour through Vietnam and Cambodia.

After almost 30 hours of travel we were delighted to arrive at a such a wonderful and welcoming hotel. From the moment to entered the main reception area you realised you where is an area of class and comfort.

We had a lovely room that was very spacious and quiet and had very comfortable beds and it is a good touch that a complimentary bottles of water are replaced daily. The staff throughout were all friendly and a credit to their training.

Breakfast in the lounge on the first mezzanine floor was an excellent buffet with an amazing range of food for all tastes.

The location is excellent, an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Hanoi, and reasonably central (difficult to define in Hanoi) and is located next to the opera and approx 15 minutes to the lake and Water Puppet Theatre (do not miss this).

The hotel has an internet cable in each room for a charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollardspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Pollardspark,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comment, with reference to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be an ideal place to stay after your long hours of travel.

We do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Junior Suite room where our room had a great city view. The room was cozy, spacious and modern in detail.The location was extremely great, the Opera House located next to hotel and we had a easy walk to the show at night. Staffs were inviting and smiling when entering inside the hall, the manager and his staffs would recommend us great trip to the Bay of Halong for three nights om the boat of A Class Opera. The breakfast buffet was wisely many choice with Vietnamese, Chinese, Western,too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScSadVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear ScSadVan,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience after your stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Again, thank you for your compliments. We all strive hard to make sure all of our guests feel cared for, valued and respected.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit to Hanoi.

Until the occasion permits.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in 2010 and knew that this had to be our hotel for this trip too.

We had a lovely room on the 6th floor (Executive) at the end of the corridor and it was very spacious and quiet and had very comfortable beds and pillows. The housekeeping staff were all friendly, in particular, Ha, who cleaned our room daily and constantly replaced our water supply. Having the Executive lounge to escape to provides a good place to work and to enjoy afternoon tea or the substantial evening hors d'oeuvres and drinks from 6-8.30. Last time we ate all but one breakfast in the lounge but this year we favoured the downstairs buffet, which offered more variety and wasn't crowded. In fact, the breakfast buffet was AMAZING and had a range of food for all tastes. My husband was particularly taken with the bread pudding, especially the one with raisins!

The location is excellent. Others have said it is not central but I would disagree because it depends on your definition of central! Located next to the opera, 5 min. walk to the lake and 10-15 to the top of the lake and Water Puppet Theatre, I think the Hilton is well situated to restaurants and shopping, while at the same time far enough away to have some peace and quiet from the wonderful chaos that is Hanoi.

A nice touch was that the GM, Mr Simson, was in the lobby the morning we checked out, greeting guests and asking about their stays. It is this kind of personalized service that makes a difference. We were genuinely sorry to leave what had been our home for 10 days.

The only negative I would say was the painfully slow internet connection, but that seems to be the case all over Vietnam.

Can't wait to go back! Thank you Mr Simson and your wonderful team of employees, including the housekeeping, check-in, dining room and executive lounge staff. You have some great people working at the Hilton.

Room Tip: Try to book an Executive Room, the benefits it offers are worth it. I don't think you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katchapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Katchapuri,

Thank you for your detailed and gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall experience while staying with us. The sentiment of that will be shared with all of our Team members and I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you “back home” as and when your travels bring you back in this direction.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,651 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was here 2 years ago for 2 nights, and again now for 2 nights. In 2011 I had written here that the hotel needs a makeover and better management of staff. Well, the service levels have improved, and staff now actually smile and exude a sense of warmth which is generally not seen in Vietnam. So clearly, something right has happened on the staff and service side. However, the rooms itself have not changed. The bathroom is in need of a makeover. This is Asia, yet there is no bidet or personal hygiene faucet. You are stuck with toilet paper for your backside. Also, the toilet is placed in a very awkward position bang next to the wall, not allowing one to sit comfortably at all. In fact this was one of the points I had mentioned in 2011. The shower stall is extremely tight amking it very difficult for a 6 footer like me to move around.

In 2011 I was a non elite member of HHonors. This tme I was a Diamond member, yet my room was identical to what I had last time. Of course, I had access to the Executive Lounge and other Diamond level privileges. Wifi in the room was very slow to the point that many sites could not open, including Hotmail. This is just not acceptable in this day and age. I complained, but there is nothing that can be done unless you spend and invest more on the necessary equipment and infrastructure.

Hanoi is a very shabby and chaotic city outside of a very small area around the Opera House. There is not much to see or do in Hanoi, except to use it as a springboard for Halong Bay. In that chaos, this Hilton seems like an oasis. But it is still resting on its past laurels. It needs to fast forward to 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Pradipd25,

Welcome back and thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor response after your recent visit.

I am delighted to hear that we have been making positive progress in improving our service standards compared with your prior experience in 2011. We will continue to strive hard to ensure all our guests are well taken care, respected and therefore endeavor to exceed the expectations of our guests as part of their stay experience in addition to enhancing our product and facilities.

Pradipd25, I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit to Hanoi.

Until the occasion permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was on business trip and stayed one night at the hotel.

Check-in was efficient. Front office staff polite and professional.
I was slightly disappointed upon entering the room....furniture looks dated and carpet gave an old and sad feeling. Strangely there was a King size bed and another single bed next to it. I am not sure if this was a permanent fixture or some other guest requested for it.

Other than the dated look and feel, everything else was functional. Aircon was quiet and water-jet in the shower was powerful. Both the room and the bathroom are considered larger than most other standard hotel rooms. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: You might want to ask the front desk upon checking in whether they can allocate newer rooms to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Ken_sg,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience after your stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am happy to read that you had a positive impression on our Front Desk Team members and found our guest rooms to be spacious and our bed is comfortable. On a separate note, I am pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program which includes the look, feel and layout of our guest rooms.

Ken_sg, once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera in the near future.

Until time permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed two nights and for me the location was perfect as all my meetings were within walking distance. The hotel is clean and well equipped but showing its age a bit. Having said that, it is most definitely an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast selection is extensive and the restaurant food is very good. The staff are very helpful, friendly and attentive. The gym is small but okay for a hotel facility. I would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Chelsea159,

Thank you for your most generous review subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

We do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Until opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 591 in Hanoi
1,828 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 591 in Hanoi
1,773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#79 of 591 in Hanoi
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Property: Hilton Hanoi Opera
Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing