We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service and convenient location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #88 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good service and convenient location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed two nights and for me the location was perfect as all my meetings were within walking distance. The hotel is clean and well equipped but showing its age a bit. Having said that, it is most definitely an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast selection is extensive and the restaurant food is very good. The staff are very helpful, friendly and attentive. The gym is small but okay for a hotel facility. I would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Chelsea159,

Thank you for your most generous review subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

We do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Until opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    839
    260
    74
    31
See reviews for
334
695
146
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It was a comfortable stay, the staff were extremely helpful, rooms were clean and the food was good. It's a bit tired and our bathroom door wouldn't close properly and paperwork giving information about the hotel had not been replaced by Room Service. However, it wasn't a particular problem and we were happy to arrive and relax after our journey from UK.
I think the main problem with staying here is it's location. To get to any shops you have to cross roads as there are no shops on the same side of the road as the hotel. Crossing roads is very challenging in Hanoi. Roads are filled with motorbikes driving in all directions and no-one appears to stop at traffic lights. We were told by our guide that you just have to step off the pavement into a road full of motorbikes and 'keep walking', hoping that the bikes will drive around you. I'm sure if you live in Hanoi then it's easy, but for us who have lived with the message 'don't cross the road until the traffic has stopped or the road is clear', then it's quite a challenge! . Obviously this is not a criticism of the hotel but it is very difficult to stroll around and get a feel for the place because it's a bit like being on an island - once you're there, how do you get off?
However, we enjoyed the hotel itself and the reason I wouldn't return is because of it's difficult location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Indira,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comment, with reference to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you found our guest room and food to be in line with your expectations. We are in fact replacing our in-room guest information so thank you for your comment. Last but not least, I am happy to hear that you had a positive impression on the helpfulness of our Team members. Please rest assured the details of your experiences have been shared with all of our team.

Despite of the challenge you may have when “crossing the Hanoi roads”, I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the tranquility of the Hilton Hanoi Opera in the near future.

Until time permits

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is probably one of the nicer hotels in Hanoi, which isn't so much of a nod to the hotel as a disappointment in the capital city of Vietnam. The hotel is clean, but dated. It is well-located and the staff are terrific and attentive. The city leaves a lot to be desired, so I think the hotel does a good job in distracting from the filth on the street and chaos of the intersections.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghaisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Shanghaisus,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor response after your recent visit.

While we strive hard to exceed the expectations of our guests, it is always a delight to receive such positive comment.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit.

Until the occasion permits.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hotel for our honeymoon vacation, it was surprisingly great, our room was almost luxury with incredible & modern facilities. They had Chinese restaurant that we could reserved a great dinner, with 10% off for Massage service. The great excursion operator who helped us to reserve a great and luxury trip to Halong Bay on Pelican Cruise. Location of hotrl was extremely lovely and excellent where we could find out some great coffe like Paris Deli and HD hightlight as well. Would stay here for Honeymoon vacation was greatly amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent 4 nights in at the Hilton Hanoi Opera House for the New Year.

Being a Diamond member, I was upgraded to a spacious corner suite at check-in. Apart from the need of our passports and credit card, the check-in was fairly speedy, that's a plus after an early morning flight to Hanoi. We were shown our rooms by the desk manager. All the amenities one would expect from a Hilton hotel is there. On top of that, we had a plate of fruits and a personal message from the GM. The room was clean and looked newish. The biggest downside was that there were only two free power points and both of them were situated on the side of the desk in the living room end of the suite - none on the bedside table. That's not very convenient these days when one use one's phone as an alarm clock.

The washroom had separate stalls for the toilet and the shower. There was a separate bath if one wanted to indulge in one. There were the usual toiletry items near the basin. There were also two complimentary plastic bottles of water as the tap water in Hanoi is not potable. In the cupboard just outside the washroom were two sets of bath robes and slippers.

The room was on the 4th floor of this 7-floor hotel. It was very quiet even though there was a huge (and I mean huge) New Year's celebration with a live bands with massive speakers at the square just round the hotel. There was not much of view as it looked into a quiet side street and trees. The 5th to the 7th floors of the hotel is reserved for the Executive floor.

The Executive Lounge was on the 7th floor. Quite spacious. Breakfast and cocktails are served there, though we didn't spend much time for the latter there. Breakfast in the lounge was fairly decent with hot and cold foods. One can also order eggs to your taste there. However, I find that breakfast in the restaurant on the second floor much better in terms of selection where they also make available the Vietnamese Beef Pho at breakfast - excellent!

The concierge service at the reception was very good. When we asked, they recommended an excellent massage spa 5 minutes from the hotel as well as a great restaurant 2 minutes walk from there so that we could eat after the rub down. They made the bookings for us so that by the time we arrived, they were expecting us. I have to say that some of the members of the reception was very much on the ball as they always step out from behind their desks to ask if they could be of service. They offered to call our tour agent as the bus they sent was a tad late (traffic in Hanoi can be a nightmare). However, we did have minor "lost in translation" moments with one gentleman, when we tried to get a taxi to get us to a grocery shop to buy some Vietnamese rice paper to make spring rolls - we got a tour of the old city instead!

But all in all, I would return to this hotel despite many boutiqueish hotels in the Old Quarter itself. It may be a 5min taxi ride there from Hilton but one doesn't feel that claustrophobic in the French Quarter than the narrow streets of the Old Quarter. And taxis are cheap! Just need to spot the good ones.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 415 which is a corner suite. This however is not their largest suite though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnKWHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear JohnKWHo,

Thank you for your detailed and gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am very happy to read that we met with your expectation especially as a Hilton Hhonors Diamond Member. Please rest assured that your detailed comments will be shared with our team and which I am sure will serve as an encouragement to us all as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you “back home” as and when your travels bring you back in this direction.

Until time permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my first stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera. The staff went out of their way to make it a great visit. Accomodations were excellent. Breakfast selections at the Ba Mien Terrace were very good. One area that needs an upgrade is the fitness center. It is sparsely equipped, and only provides a small space with 1 bench for free weight exercise.

Room Tip: My room on Executive floor was well maintained, clean and quiet. Staff were very attentive to assis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Frank N,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience after your first stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall experience while staying with us. I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

On a separate note, I would like to take the opportunity of appraising you of the fact that our Fitness Center within the hotel is currently under review so that we are better able to serve the needs of our discerning travelers.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit.

Until the occasion permits.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
open2some
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights when we visited Hanoi and Ha Long Bay. With being a gold Hilton hons member we were upgraded to exec floor which gave us complimentary breakfast and drinks in the evening. These were all severed by pleasant well dressed staff.

The hotel is very clean and has a number of very good restaurants within it. Foyer is stunning. It has a gym and small pool which was very rarely busy.

The hotel is right in the middle of the city and is in walking distance of many of the tourist attractions. It is also close to some excellent restaurants.

The question is would I stay in this hotel again... Yes tomorrow :0)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank open2some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear open2some,

Thank you for your most generous review subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. While we strive hard to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is always a delight to receive such positive comment.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back “home” in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#80 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Property: Hilton Hanoi Opera
Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#35 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing