We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #94 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our tour of Vietnam, the hotel was of a high very high standard, the service was 2nd to none and the staff were very helpful, the breakfast was amazing something for everyone, the bedrooms were comfortable with nice bathrooms and great showers, the curtains had black out linings so a great sleep in the afternoon after our long flight, the room attendants changed the towels and turned the beds down twice a day, the double glazing helped drown out any noise from the traffic, the swimming pool although not deep was great for charging the batteries, I would highly recommend and would definetly stay here again, everything was perfect from check in to leaving.

Room Tip: Great Hotel, we stayed at the front on the 3rd floor but it was quiet and well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskyjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Huskyjunky,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor response after your recent visit.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall experience while staying with us. I will share your detailed comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you “home” upon your return to Hanoi in we hope, the near future.

Until your travel permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    889
    280
    81
    32
See reviews for
366
725
156
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

For a 3 day stayover in Hanoi this was the perfect location to get around on foot and explore the city. Our room was a Deluxe non smoking and was very comfortable and clean with a beautiful bathroom, nice views of the Opera House, and best of all, so quiet. All the hustle and bustle of Hanoi was not able to be heard at all from our room. Sleep quality was excellent.
The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, and polite. If I had to make any criticism it would be lack of choice re breakfast options. There is only one rate, US$25-, which allows you to have as much as you want from a huge range of delectable food, but we only wanted a light breakfast as we had an early start, and would have preferred a cheaper option. The Sports Bar and Lobby Cafe area were both excellent, and we enjoyed good coffee, and a Margarita!
The swimming pool, jacuzzi, and gym were very nice, with lovely, attentive staff.
All in all, we were delighted with our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Tell staff your needs and they will oblige where possible eg non smoking, view, quiet etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunedinKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear DunedinKiwi,

Thank you for your most generous review subsequent to your recent visit to Hanoi.

It is delightful whenever we hear that our guests have had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. We all have been trying our best to make sure all of our guests are well taken care of, valued and respected and I will be sure to share your comments with all of our Team Members.
We all look forward to being able to welcome you “back home” as and when your travels bring you back in this direction.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here yesterday on business. The hotel feels a bit dated although is only about 12 years old. Staff were friendly and efficient and tried their best.
Function facilities were good and were managed professionally.
Buffet lunch was excellent
Stayed in a standard room and was a little disappointed. Room was a little musty because of the carpet. Bathrooms had been upgraded and were clean and functional.
A very strong point for this hotel is the location. If on a budget and you are touring Hanoi then this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applesanddiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Applesanddiamo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Hanoi Opera and for taking the time to share your warm and insightful comments.

I am delighted to hear that you found our location, service and the attitude of our Team Members to be in line with your expectation.

I look forward to welcoming you “back” to the Hilton Hanoi Opera in the not too distant future.

Until then,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I booked room at executive floor. It was not much more expensive than the "average room", but worth it. Breakfast room was nice, not crowded. Very good selection, both Asian and western food. I usually have western breakfast, but this time I decided to try the Asian selection, and did not regret. Really delicious. On a la carte menu large selection eggs, frenc toast, pancaces, Hanoi Pho. I tried Hanoi Pho, really tasty!

Room comfortable, large desk, soft enoght bed. Shower and bath tub.

Gym and swimming pool quite basic, but found everything I needed.

Staff frienfly and professional, spoke good English.

Only complaint I have is the meeting room facilities. Audio system was not working properly. It made horrible sound. Hotel staff should have checked this before hand.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KathyMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear KathyMing,

Thank you very much for your kind comments subsequent to your recent stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

It is nice to hear that you generally enjoy your stay in one of our Executive rooms and thank you for your detailed comments and impression on the food and professional approach of our Team. Please rest assured that your compliments will be shared with all of our Team members.

We do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Though I booked for three nights, I only stayed for one as I had a bad impression of this Hilton standard. The hotel really needs a big deal of renovation. It looks very old and dirty with low attention on maintenance. Staff are not friendly. Well, as I experience so far Hilton staff dont seem to have service mind anyway. Need serious training to improve services. The room is spacious with traditional interior design. In-room amenities are very premium. Breakfast is lack of choices. Not sure whether its is weekday so they just prepare less choices. The hotel location is around 1 hr away from the Noi Bai airport. The peed limit of 60 kms/hr making it time consuming for short distance. Though it's near a centre of the city which may require around 15 min walk to a lake and a town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear TONY_TravelLover,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this website following your recent visit to Hanoi.

As we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations, we were both surprised and disappointed to find that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay experience. Please rest assured that your feedback has been taken up most seriously to ensure a through refresher training is under taken with all Team Members concerned, so that we may enhance our service standards and improve our offer.

Once again, thank you for your candid feedback which has enabled us to monitor and improve our service standards. We would like to have another opportunity to re-build your confidence and therefore provide to you the Hilton standard of service that you have come to expect of Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Please feel free to make contact with my office directly so that I may assist in co-ordinating your reservation requirements as part of your future visits.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We had 2 stays here in the past 2 weeks, both times in an executive suite.

The rooms were clean, comfy and well appointed with lovely flowers and fruit. One of the outstanding features was the wonderful bathroom and especially wonderful toiletries which I really appreciated.

The exec lounge was great and we really enjoyed evening drinks there, great to meet some interesting fellow travellers, as well as chill out breaks between arduous sightseeing in steamy Hanoi.

We stayed at other 5star places in Vietnam and Hilton is the real deal, whilst some might deride the "sameness" of the Hilton experience, it was that same high standard, well trained staff and understanding of the needs of western travellers that make Hilton a stand out. We will be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank perthtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Perthtravellor,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comment, with reference to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our Executive Suite. While we strive hard to exceed the expectations of our guests, it is always a delight to receive such positive comment. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you “home” upon your return to Hanoi in we hope, the near future.

Until your travel permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is charming, but you can tell that it needs a facelift. The room that we were in smelled musty and like mildew was lurking behind the wall paper. We discovered the mildew was probably due to the fact that when it rained, the room leaked around the window area. However, the fact that the staff were helpful and very nice managed to help overlook the other things. Overall, the hotel is not that terrible, but it could use improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Tracy C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am also happy to read that you found our hotel to be charming and that you had a positive impression on the helpfulness our Team members. Please rest assured that your feedback with respect to the room condition has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper so that we are able to remedy any concerns that you may have especially in light of the high humidity levels often experienced at this time of the year.

Once again thank you for your feedback as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities that we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera in the near future.

Until time permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 591 in Hanoi
1,826 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 591 in Hanoi
1,770 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#80 of 591 in Hanoi
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Property: Hilton Hanoi Opera
Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing