We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still here.”
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #80 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

So far our trip has been average. Average because it's a hotel with a lot of potential.

First day of trip, room was not ready. I guess they do not anticipate early pp, we arrived at noon and rooms was not ready. Not a problem as we dined in a wonderful Chinese restaurant. However, they need to think on their feet to accommodate tied guest. I am sure I'm not the first traveling mom who woke up way too early for a flight.

On our first night we were upgraded to club floor room only. Third night, having left and returned from Halong Bay, we were back to our original rooms, which is not a problem but honestly the hotel need to think ahead and manage customer's expectations. The traditional rooms are fine but the noise on the floor is disturbing. Either the doors are different or we are surrounded by kids?! Ours incl but the walls are really thin and floor is noisy in comparison. Secondly, while I have always preferred the traditional bathrooms and do not think this is the downside. Electrical board on the old rooms really need an upgrade. I cannot control climate or light!? Help?! It's 11pm and I have yet to hear the hallway quiet down.

One part that got my husband extremely upset was their waitstaff on the 20/f. I charged bill to the room but they did not identify my name. Instead of following me downstairs to clarify, he asked if we could return to restaurant to pay by credit card. We find it extremely disturbing to receive such hospitality with no apology?! Even on my room key, it's my last name and thus if they switched reservation of my in laws with mine, not my fault but theirs.

Anyhow review are either bias with lots of positive or negative. I would like to say, I am neutral siding with being a very positive turning into a negative experience. Let's hope the rest of the stay improves and I can sleep. Oh the noise this evening! Help!



Stayed: December 2013
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Joanne C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hanoi Plaza. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the any inconvenience caused during your stay .

We would like to thank you for your feedback, and please be informed that we take your comment very seriously and will take the appropriate steps to progress on those areas.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Sofitel Plaza sits right next to the lake in Hanoi. They totally take advantage of the beautiful view from the windows. I highly recommend a room with a view. The hotel is very tastefully designed, with helpful and friendly employees. Just for example, the hotel book includes a list of attractions in the city, along with addresses. If you want to go out for a jog, you can get a bottle of water and a jogging map from the hotel. Personally, I preferred to run the treadmills next to the indoor open at all seasons pool...
We were in a different hotel in Hanoi, but when we saw this one, we transferred. Loved it! Will come again!

Room Tip: A room with a view - the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Nirit L,

Thank you for your kind words! We are so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time here. At Sofitel, our team always thrive to create magnifique memories for each and every guest. Your compliment will be such an encouragement to them, letting them know that their work is not going unnoticed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Sofitel Plaza is a great hotel to stay at for a business trip in Hanoi. The staff are helpful although occasionally the level of English language fluency was a bit of an obstacle (although in the end everything got worked out). The facilities and rooms are all clean and modern. The gym, pool and sauna are great bonuses for the healthy traveler. Although the hotel is situated away from the Old Quarter and lacks the elegant design of the Metropole, taxi rides to most places in the city are cheap and easy to obtain. The Plaza is also close to a number of good bars and restaurants in Tay Ho. The breakfast buffet is quite decent and the prices on room services items are quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlamNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear GlamNomad,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi and for sharing your comments about us on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. As we try every day to make each and every guest happy, your comment regarding the staff English level is of great value. We are really sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused and will definitely work on it with the team.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank marzelek
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Pros: great wifi, pool is good but chlorine is a bit strong, breakfast buffet is good, wait staff, doormen and bell hop all great, always a smile in their face. Cons: rooms are tired and dated, front desk staff on all occasions was curt.

We have been in VN for two weeks at 6 hotels and have never had poor customer service until this hotel. We were told our Le Club would only apply if we booked directly with the hotel, they then discovered it on our reservation and said they would honor it (we shall see). Front desk staff needs a course on hospitality.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear David J,

Thank you for staying with us and spending time sharing your experience at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. We regret to learn about the misunderstandings and communication mishaps with our Front Desk team. We fully understand your frustration and will take your comments as an opportunity to reinforce our team’s commitment to provide outstanding service to all our guests at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us. It will always be a pleasure for us to be at your service and hope we will exceed your expectations on your next stays.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the hotel and I must say it was a very good experience. The installations are modern, well maintained and comfortable. The views magnificent, at least from our room. The staff is polite, helpful and very professional, and the restaurants quite good, with a special good mark for the excellent breakfast buffet. The pool and spa are also excellent, and we could enjoy good swims and hot saunas. Internet connections are good with the free wifi and better with an ethernet cable. The laundry service worked fast and our safe was repaired immediately when we said it wasn't working properly. The location looks a little off the center on the map, but it's very scenic and only a short ride by taxi to every interesting point. Rides back and forth are around 3 U.S.$.

There's very little to say on the negative side, but certain things can be improved: the light in the bathroom was poor; designers and managers must think of older people and their special requirements, and I found the prices for dinner in the Ground Floor Brasserie quite over the top. True that there was lobster and other delicacies, but those things could be offered à la carte, and keep more reasonable prices for a buffet mostly composed by very normal fare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the 2 lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeus57es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Zeus57es,

Thank you for spending time writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. It is a great satisfaction for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay. At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your inputs are of great value. We will definitely review them with the team for improvement.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

First stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in a normal standard king room which was lovely and very clean. The staff were friendly throughout the stay. We checked out as we had a trip to Halong Bay and was able to leave our bags at the hotel. When we checked back in after 2 nights away the reception staff remembered us and offered us an upgrade to the club level room this was lovely and we agreed to pay an extra $50 for use of the club lounge and breakfast in the club the following day. When the normal breakfast was around $20 per person this worked out an extra $10 for use of the lounge and the drinks and snacks that evening. The only thing with the club room was that the bathroom was behind clear glass and therefore not private at all from the rest of the room!

The buffet restaurant was average quality but I was annoyed that we were charged full price for the first few visits and it wasn't until our third visit that we were told as hotel guests we get a discount.

The hotel was within walking distance from the city centre but a taxi was very cheap. Free wifi in the hotel was also great.

If I went back to Hanoi I'd certainly consider this hotel again.

The rooftop bar was also a great experience for views of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear EnglandLondon,

Thank you for your comment. We feel really lucky to be your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Hanoi. At Sofitel, we always try our best to create magnifique memories for each and every guest; hence, your inputs are much appreciated. We sincerely regret the issue that you had at one of our restaurants. This is not our typical standards of service, and we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please rest assured that we have addressed this issue with the team to avoid it from happening in the future.

We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#73 of 600 in Hanoi
1,962 reviews
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#87 of 600 in Hanoi
1,513 reviews
2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#44 of 600 in Hanoi
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#30 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $111 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing