We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in Parts”
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #78 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good in Parts”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice 4* 20 story hotel in downtown Ha Noi. 4th floor all weather pool. Service and staff attitude both excellent as is the breakfast selection. Rooms spacious and spotless but no extractor in bathroom. Pleasant 20th floor bar and terrace with panoramic views over the city. Food prices as expected but drinks prices let it down; 93000 VND for a 330ml can of lager which can be had locally for 8000. 11.5x mark up is not acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forest-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and the service from our team was up to your expectation.

However, I am disappointed to find out that you were not completely satisfied with our bathroom and the price of our drink. Please accept our sincerest apology for these inconveniences, and please rest assured that I will definitely have them reviewed with our team.

We look forwards to the opportunity of welcoming you back to enjoy a more memorable experience on your next visit to Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    606
    168
    44
    17
See reviews for
229
678
121
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is perfect from the beginning to the end. Service is excellent and at a level we've sadly forgotten about in Europe, nothing is too much. There is an excellent buffet breakfast with something to cater for every taste. If you wish to venture out there are a series of good restaurants along the lakeside, take the road on your left and just follow the lake shore. A very comfortable room with a good sized bathroom and well appointed. I can fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the sixth floor at the front of the hotel and there were no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our excellent service as well as the buffet breakfast.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I used this as a 1 night short stay option prior to our 2 night Halong Bay cruise, due to price and other right ups.

On arrival we were persuaded to upgrade to full club facility, which we agreed to and this was thoroughly worth while. Having just arrived we were unsure of the area and with little time to do so the club option covered all needs.

The staff were superb and very attentive.

If I were to be critical at all my only concern was that they seemed happy to transfer our spare luggage over to the Sofitel Metropole by taxi in readiness for our return from Halong Bay. Whilst the $2 was not an issue, I was sceptical about safety & security. Surely a complimentary option would have shown better customer service?

One other issue that came to light was that the room seemed quite hot despite our air-con being turned right down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank stoddart97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

However, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to your experiences with our concierge service and the room temperature which I will definitely review with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed recently for a quick two day break from work. Loved everything about the Hotel. Amazing view of the lake from my room. The Hotel has renovated the rooms since I was last at the Hotel and have done a great job. Ate dinner in the both the Buffet & Chinese Restaurants - very good indeed. Staff were very friendly and efficient in all areas of the Hotel. Would strongly recommend this Hotel to anyone coming to Hanoi. Location is great - only a quick taxi ride to the heart of shopping area in Hanoi - very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lisacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Bonjour

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of our property! I appreciate your kind words and detailed response regarding our services and facilities. As your satisfaction is always our utmost desire, it is so rewarding to know that our team did their job in creating a great experience for you.

We look forward to having an opportunity of welcoming you back soon in Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is just over an half an hour drive from the airport.
The check in was effortless, professional and fast. The first impression of the hotel was amazing.
The rooms are extremely spacious and we had the lake view room so the views were amazing. Bathrooms are kitted with L'Occitane products which is always a bonus. Its a true relax and pamper being to your hotel room.

The beds are extremely comfortable and not hard like the other beds in Asia. Its the best after a long day of touring.

Room amenities are brilliant, especially being able to connect your media into the TV via bluetooth and USB.
Room service was very prompt.

There is a 24 hour restaurant in the hotel which is very convenient especially if you arrive in Hanoi at a late hour and unaware of your surroundings.

However there are a vast array of restaurants around the hotel.

Sofitel is close to the Mausoleum and the markets.

There is a well lit Massage place (with a big reflexology foot on the outside) opposite the hotel, avoid this place, we went there for a massage and the ladies demanded a hefty tip, after refusing we were sworn at.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View and a high room close to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reshma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Bonjour

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

For 7 nights we stayed in the Plaza, there was not a thing we needed to ask for, Breakfast was to lounge over and enjoy the start of busy days, and the front staff, and door man/women could not do more for us. From booking us at the most every day cafe's or 5 star dining venues at night, all over Hanoi. Our rooms where clean and the beds so soft, we slept like babies. We intend to go back very soon.

Room Tip: High floors have a wonderful view and large bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimElla_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Bonjour

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi and for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of our property! As we always strive to create luxury stays for our guests, I am so happy we were able to accommodate you and provide you with that experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I really appreciate all your kind words in regards to our staff and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

the entrance is beautiful and wellkept. the checkin was efficient and helpfull. ask for Mrs. Oanh and everything will be solved!!! we booked the luxe room with lakevieuw,large room,,the beds were o.k. as well the bathroom. there was no balcony. wifi in the room was poor,the t.v.was a big monitor with all channels you need. the lounge was atmospheric with live music such as jazzy music or a chamber orchestra. there is a bussinessroom for free internet,however with limited websites available. the taxis in front of the hotels are very good with meterprices.the luggagedepot in the hotel was efficient. breakfastbuffet and service was very good. dinnerbuffet very pricy, 880.000 dong p/p.!!! you better take the dinnerbuffet is restaurant Martina 215.000 dong p/p. on the other side of the westlake--leftside.I should reccommend this hotel! it is quiet a walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake.

Room Tip: luxe room -lakevieuw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne-cisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Bonjour

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. It makes me very delighted to know that you were happy with the speed and efficiency of service from our team.

However, please allow me to apologize on behalf of the team for the inconvenience that you have encountered during your stay in regards to the wifi. Your feedback helps us to know what area we need to work on, and I am thankful to you for letting us know.

Once again, thank you for your kind comment. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 591 in Hanoi
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#86 of 591 in Hanoi
1,431 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 591 in Hanoi
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Property: Pan Pacific Hanoi
Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing