We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Firstly, I would like to point out that we rarely write reviews. This must give an indication of the weight of this review!

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi over Chinese New Year 2014 and were extremely impressed by the exceptional efforts of the concierge office, notably Ms Ha and Mr Tuan. On the first day we arrived, (one day before check in as we were to depart for Halong Bay and simply dropping of luggage) we asked if we might have a place to freshen up since we had just got off a sleeper train from Sapa. We were speedily given a key to a lovely room on the 3rd floor.

After departure, we realized my husband had left his wallet on the counter of the concierge. After telephoning, we were shortly informed that the Sofitel had his wallet and it would surely be returned to him.

On the second day of our actual stay there, I lost a compact Canon Ixus camera in one of the Mai Linh taxi. I was devastated at having lost all the photos from the holiday, not to mention a very good compact camera. My husband and I had pretty much written off the camera, but thought perhaps we could speak to Sofitel and see if they could help us to try to locate the camera - just in case.

The efforts of Ms Ha and Mr Nguyen Trong Tuan were absolutely exceptional. They helped us to contact the taxi company and answer all their questions, which went into a lot of detail about where the taxi had collected and dropped us. Their level of English was superb. Ms Ha communicated all this information to the taxi company and then Mr Tuan negotiated with the taxi company to come to Sofitel and deliver the camera for checking himself (the taxi company had asked us to go to their depot which was very far but he persuaded them to come to Sofitel). Mr Tuan himself checked the camera against our passport photo and then informed us of the good (not to say miraculous) news that the camera had been returned! The concierge simply told us what Good Fortune the New Year had brought us and so we were so happy to see the camera and they had done ALL the chasing for us.

In addition, on two occasions we had breakfast at the Sofitel and on both occasions the restaurant observed that I had only eaten really from the continental selection (with a few minor exceptions) and so charged only my husband for a full breakfast and me for a continental. A small gesture – but one we really appreciated!

The service by every member of staff we came across was outstanding and we appreciated the historic décor and elegance of the hotel. We very much enjoyed an evening of jazz at le Club where the small jazz trio played beautifully. We also recommend the Charlie Chaplin Martini that comes with a tasty lemon sorbet on the side! My husband was green with envy at my choice of beverage!

A word on finance. The Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi is, of course, expensive, but its fees are at least in line with Hanoi prices/local economy making this one more affordable than many cities would be. Typically of Sofitel, you get what you pay for and have a lovely experience! We were disappointed to find that elsewhere in Hanoi taxi drivers/ shops/ restauranters would be happy to try to charge four times what was actually a realistic price because we were tourists. Who knows if we had stayed elsewhere whether we would have retrieved our camera whose photos were priceless to us?!

We have previously very much enjoyed staying at Sofitel Macau and this stay in Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi simply serves to reinforce our enthusiasm for this top notch chain of Hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Rosie M,

I am extremely thankful to all of your compliments regarding the high standards of services delivered all over the hotel areas.

We then look forward to welcoming you back both for business and leisure purposes.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,937 - 2,943 of 6,807 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Tranquil and elegant oasis in the middle of Hanoi, just perfect......

The attention to detail is first class

The hotel staff are at a very high standard, and are very attentive just at the right moment

The hotel is situated in a perfect location for all

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Barry B,

What a wonderful experience you had at The Metropole Hanoi! Thank you for sharing this on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed located in the heart of the city and we offer an oasis of tranquility. It is a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed the attention to detail and the high standard of the hotel staff.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Franck Lafourade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2014. Nice ambience in an old style colonial building, lovely rooms and attentive staff. Good location in the heart of city, close to the Old Quarter. Breakfast was a lovely spread of local and western breakfast foods.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJulianOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Dr. Julian Ong,

Thank you for your nice feedback, I am glad to hear that you felt very well looked after by the entire team and that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved this place. We were very impressed with the staff, they were attentive and helpful. We enjoyed the Bomb Shelter tour and glad friends who had stayed before told us about it. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. We ate in all the areas during our stay, every area was amazing. would definitely recommend it to others and return to stay ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Lorraine 164,

We would like to thank you for sharing this wonderful review regarding your stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is an absolute honour to read your lovely words about my team.

We are very proud to have loyal guests just like you who are always enjoying their stay and who are looking forward to their return to The Legend.

The entire team looks forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in June. It is a fabulous hotel with a lot of history - the bomb shelter tour is worth doing (every day at 5pm and 6pm - book at reception). The hotel has a feel of Raffles (Singapore) about it and is very relaxing despite being a city hotel. The jazz music is a nice touch in the evening. The pool area wasn't busy and there is a decent size pool. Hotel is very central for walking to the main sights and the old town. We took a rickshaw (parked outside the entrance) at night to the restaurants. The bedrooms are good but not 5* - I would have marked this hotel 'excellent' if it wasn't for the bedrooms. Wifi excellent thought.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear AnneG,

Thank you for so much praise in your magnifique feedback. Indeed we try our utmost to satisfy all guests requests and even beyond their expectations.

I thank you also for mentioning the ambiance and history of our hotel in your feedback. We truly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night on the way go to Ha Long bay. We still love to stay this hotel, excellent service, beautiful room, nice swimming pool. The location near Sword lake, Old Quater...Do not forget their tour for guests in house only: visit bomb shelter, hear about Vietnam war....

Stayed: May 2014
Thank thaiminhson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Thaiminhson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review about your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are glad you consider Metropole as the best hotel to stay in Hanoi and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and all the facilities we are offering as well as the historical features of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

What an amazing experience to stay in this wonderful hotel...exceptionally well trained and accommodating staff, beautiful buildings and setup, fantastic eateries and bars and within walking distance to so many local sights.
We stayed for 5 nights in June...I could easily have done 5 more. Stayed in a suite in the Opera Wing...smaller than some we have been in elsewhere but perfect in design and decor. Have to say the claw foot bath was without doubt the best bath I have ever used...and the water pressure and temperatures....the best.
The shower was also 5 notches up from most other hotels we have ever stayed in as far as water pressure and consistency of temperature...better than home even.
The bed...oh...heaven...Sofitel do great bedding and this was no exception...wonderfully sumptuous and comfy.
Suite gives access to Executive Lounge and the breakfast there was lovely...good selection and the Eggs Benedict were perfect. Also as a Australian it was comforting to find a big jar of Vegemite on the condiments table. Afternoon tea served some amazing delights and the evening cocktail happy hour was also well worth dropping in for.
We ate at several of the restaurants and bar areas...the Bamboo Bar was lovely for a quick or long lunch and the Bun Bo and Pho were a favourite. The Spices Restaurant is Vietmanese cuisine at its best and I regret we only got there once for dinner. The french restaurant outside was also fantastic and we spent a good few hours there one night enjoying the sights and sounds of Hanoi over good wine and food...a must do.
The spa and pool were great...had a session at the spa that left me wanting to come back the next day for more of the same. Probably the only downside was the sales pitch to buy products..not what I was there for. The pool was quite busy in the afternoons but early morning was fantastic...not many people and it just the right temp for the time of day.
Cannot put in words how fantastic the staff were...from the moment we entered til the moment we left they were so friendly and accommodating. English is spoken fluently by most, as well as French and a variety of Asian languages. The smiles are genuine and speaking to different staff member it was evident how proud they were to be working at the Metropole.
Situated in the French quarter there is so much to see just walking the streets and close to the Old quarter ...we spent most days just meandering around the streets.
The historic tour of the hotel is a must do for all ..and if time allows take a hour to see the sights of the old town in the vintage car...fantastic.
I will definitely be back ..loved it.

Room Tip: Suite was quiet and even opposite the elevator we had no noise issues...likewise from outside noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwanzamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear mwanzamama,

I am happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi during your recent trip to our city.

It was a real delight that you have enjoyed your experience at our breakfast buffet as well as the MyBed concept.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you very much,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#41 of 607 in Hanoi
856 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,428 reviews
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 607 in Hanoi
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $222 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing