We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #42 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Legendary!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

After a few not so nice hotels in Vietnam, we arrived at the Metropole. Yes, it is legendary. The dark wood, the colonial style and the fabulous restaurant blew us away.
Had we known what a fabulous property this would be, we would have stayed longer. Only one night is just not enough.
The staff was wonderful and we have been assigned a large room with an imense bathroom. and we had booked the first category of rooms :-)
Hanoi hasn't impressed me much as a city, but the Metropole was definitely a treat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simo79CC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Simo79CC14,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Indeed every guest is important to us and we do our utmost to have him/her spend magnificent moments at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,101
    905
    216
    55
    31
See reviews for
1,123
3,185
286
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a 5* hotel, lovely big room, large twin beds, very comfortable room. Receptionist and all staff extremely polite and helpful. At breakfast if you didn't see what you wanted then the chef would cook it for you. Always plenty of bottled water available - free. I couldn't really fault it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodders_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Rodders_T,

Thank you for pointing out your very satisfactory stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole in your positive feedback.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in the new wing and rooms were beautifully decorated and laid out. Interior designer should receive an award! French restaurant was very good; Vietnamese restaurant was "ok"; service all around was very good.

Room Tip: New wing rooms were stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaciLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Lacilou,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time in Hanoi as well as in Sofitel Legend Metropole. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

As you can tell from my reviews, I am a sucker for the classic, grand old hotels. The Metropole was the hotel of the French Establishment prior to 1956 and then housed VIPs visiting the communist north, like Jane Fonda etc. Graham Greene stayed there and was inspired to write The Quiet American. So revitalised French Colonial splendour abounds. Perfect, specious rooms, fantastic service (fast becoming a standard in top Asian Hotels) and terrific offering of restaurants and bars. Centrally appointed so you can walk to most sites in the city. My only small complaint was that when we stayed they were renovating the bunker where Fonda stayed and the noise was irritating around the pool. But a jewel of a hotel in Hanoi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Dominic M,

thank you very much for your comprehensive, positive feedback!

I am glad to hear that we have provided you with outstanding levels of service throughout your stay. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

A beautiful hotel. Though I stayed in the newer part [and would have loved to see the rooms in the old part of the property] no complaints. The staff was lovely. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Food/restaurant/bar/shops all wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Asava,

Thank you for your feedback and happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that visitors to the Metropole Hanoi are indeed very lucky to enjoy being in such a fantastic quiet location. Thank you for your comment regarding our great services and nice buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We'll this hotel certainly surpassed my expectations. I expected it to be old world in every way with old fashioned service. The truth is it carries it's magnificent history proudly whilst adopting every modern feature of a true 5 star hotel. This was one of my very best hotel experiences in recent years. Impeccable rooms and flawless service throughout all areas of the hotel. Very friendly and highly professional staff throughout. You feel special staying here, and while it may be expensive for Hanoi it is very inexpensive for what you get. This feels like home away from home and you are made to feel part of the family. The location is perfect in the French Quarter. Everything is walking distance. The staff are so proud of the hotels history, it's wonderful to see. The restaurants are also good, the food is not perfect in both Spices Garden and Angelina, but still very good. Excellent service in the restaurants. Terrific daily breakfasts. Prices are quite high for food and beverages but as everything else is such a pleasure you overlook it. I loved this hotel, I would not stay anywhere else in Hanoi. A magic experience I intend to repeat. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: The Historical Wing oozes atmosphere and has every mod-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.
It is our true passion to create long-lasting memories and create a home away from home.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy all the facilities the hotel has to offer like our French and Veitnamese restaurants. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty as well.

The entire team wants to thank you for your grand words and is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was in Hanoi on business and I decided to stay the weekend. Having stayed before up at the Intercontinental West Lake I wasn't sure if this was going to be relaxing enough.

But it certainly was. After a morning gym, I settled in to a the great breakfast with the freshest croissants. I preferred to sit in the old wing for breakfast. The sun was shining and I sank into one of the comfy deck chairs next to the pool. For the rest of the day I bathed in the sunshine, dipped into the pool to cool off, and was waited on hand and foot by the great staff. Awesome cocktails

When you get bored and want a trip into town - you only have to walk 5 minutes and you are next to Hoan Kiem lake

The rooms are very light and breezy - I stayed in the new wing.

All-in-all whether for business or pleasure this is the hotel to stay in when in Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Max J,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time in Hanoi as well as in Sofitel Legend Metropole. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 588 in Hanoi
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#14 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing