We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #39 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Nice hotel, lovely staff, good food and great location.. Spent 2 night with my family and my kids just love all about the hotel especially the breakfast buffet, you can get any kind of Vietnam food there. Thanks to my friend who's recommended this hotel to us..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WPTaNaTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear WPtanata,

I thank you for your kind feedback. Our guests's satisfaction is always inspiring. Our central yet quiet location is extremely convenient for leisure as well as for business purposes. I am happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. A great breakfast is critical in hotels and the team work hard to bring that to life.

We warmly look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,883
    871
    213
    54
    29
See reviews for
1,079
3,057
277
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a Grand Luxury Room in the Historical Wing. The French colonial decor was beautiful. Location was excellent and within walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter. The room was clean, comfortable and included some very nice amenities such as some of the most luxurious slippers I have ever been given in a hotel and macarons at turndown. WiFi was included and it was fast. The breakfast buffet was delicious and included a wide selection of Asian and western cuisine. I did not find the concierge to be overly helpful with respect requests for the bunker tour or even an umbrella. For example they told me they had no umbrellas available but as I exited the front door, I found several for the guests to use. Other than that, the rest of the service was good - always someone to open the door for you. Overall 5 star quality for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoltrix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Zoltrix56,

Thank you for your nice feedback, I am glad to hear that you felt very well looked after by the team and that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us.

We organize the bunker tour twice daily with a limited number of guests therefore I would suggest you to book the tour in advance.

We regret for the umbrella issue and will discuss this further with our chief concierge to avoid future occurence.

Once again I am thankful to your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armoy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

The smell and sight of the fresh flowers when u arrive is amazing and sets the tone for the rest of your stay. The wonderful service provided by all the staff is as expected of this standard of hotel but their sincerity is refreshing, they always have a genuine smile for you and nothing is a problem. There is literally one member of staff per guest! rooms are perfectly finished while expressing the character of the hotel. If this was a rural hotel I would say the rooms were a little small but they were of a normal size for an urban hotel. There is many different places to eat and drink in the hotel I can't remember the names, what I can tell you is that the food is perfect the French influence on the cooking shines through. There is also a bar at the front of the hotel they had a dj in playing a few tracks both nights, a great atmosphere while in the bar, which was unusually contained, often the noise travels, I can assure you that unless you are in the bar you would not know music is being played. It is relatively expensive to eat and drink in the hotel but you get what you pay for, and it is an very nice part of town, very close to all the designer shops Gucci Boss etc. Please do the hotels shelter tour, won't take long but it is a close piece of history.
A wonderful place with so many things to see, may I suggest when you arrive you take a cyclo tour to get your bearings and a feel for the city then go walk about and make sure you get some one to teach you how to cross the road it is easy when you know how.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bregagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Bregagh,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed 3 nights as part of a trip through Vietnam. For us the Metropole was the perfect oasis of calm for exploring the craziness of Hanoi.

It's an old school hotel with a beautiful colonial feel. The rooms were lovely and a good size, the service was faultless and the food was delicious (the cocktails were pretty good too!).

Breakfast was superb with a huge range of different cuisines. Given it's history, you won't be surprised to hear that the croissants were delicious!

It's really well located for seeing the sights and the concierge were great at sorting out restaurants, trips, transfers, etc etc.

I'd definitely go back there next time I'm in Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Realistic_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear realistic_reviews,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your feedback and special mention of our excellent breakfast, location and services.

We are also delighted that you enjoy the hotel oasis of calm and thank you for sharing your experience to other TripAdvisor surfers.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

What you've heard is true: it's the best place in town.

Hanoi can be a daunting city, with its maniacal traffic, hit or miss infrastructure, and haggling vendors. The Metropole is an oasis of calm, but within walking distance of the Old Quarter and the backpackers, the wide boulevards of the French Quarter, or untouristed Hanoi a bit further South in the Hai Ba Trung district. It's essentially an urban resort, a comfortable, courtyarded retreat to which to retire to regroup, particularly.for first time visitors to Hanoi. It's not inexpensive, but the food is good, if western, and the prices, while stratospheric for Hanoi, are moderate for Manhattan.

This time in Hanoi we checked out a few other major hotels like the Hilton Opera (the other Hanoi Hilton), the Hotel de l'Opera, and the Sofitel West Lake. They all seemed like nice properties and were substantially cheaper, but the Hilton was pretty corporate, the Sofitel was very fancy but a bit cold and not in as easy a neighborhood, and the Hotel de l'Opera, while it had a lovely lobby, it didn't exude the serenity of the Metropole.

The staff was attentive (we had a glitch with the room safe and they were up in minutes to take care of it), the concierge was very helpful, and the air conditioning worked flawlessly and quietly. In fact, since Hanoi is such a humid place, the outer doors of the hotel were almost always covered in condensate. It was also reassuring to take a cab from the hotel, because the hotel has an arrangement with the cab company, so you know the fare will be appropriate; some Hanoi cab drivers can be a bit creative in pricing.

Some tips:

While the staff will acknowledge you with Bonjour, Monsieur, Bonjour, Madame, the staff generally doesn't speak French.
If you want to avoid the lavish breakfast buffet, l'Epicerie - a bakery/gourmet shop in the hotel - sells great croissants and other pastries and coffee you can take back to your room.
The swimming pool is set in the middle of the hotel's bars, so if you want a nice quiet, unobserved swim, early morning is best.
The selection of drinks is surprisingly limited: for instance, they did not carry Lillet.
While the rack rate is high, there are frequent specials, and we actually used a prepaid rate and the hotel was accommodating about minor changes (but it's still a risky way to book).
Get an Accord Club card; the discounts are real.
While the food is fine in the hotel, get out and eat street food. If you want an introduction to Hanoi food in a restaurant setting try Quan An Ngon.
If you miss out on your souvenir shopping, the hotel maintains an alley between the street and the hotel where the usual souvenir items - lacqured boxes, scarves, pop up cards, etc.- are sold.
Take the bunker tour. Our guide was a little fervent for my taste, but it was worth the time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 279 in the Opera Wing, at the end of the hall, and it was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear LCI3,

Our utmost reward is to hear satisfied guests therefore the whole team and I thank you for your words of praise.

We genuinely love to pamper our guests. We can't help it as we have a passion for them.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Ha PHam
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have been in Hanoi 3 times since 2002. We finally decided to stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole. While the hotel is beautiful and an important piece of Hanoi history, we were disappointed on several levels. Most important was poor air conditioning in the Opera wing where we stayed. There was a smell of damp in the corridor. We washed out a couple items of fast drying modern clothing that failed to dry after 30 hours; a fairly good indication that moisture was not being removed from the air. We felt pressure to eat in the hotel restaurants. The joy of being in Hanoi-and I speak enough Vietnamese to get around-is to explore, talk to people, and eat in good local restaurants. The meet and greet service at the airport and help when departing are excellent. On so many levels this hotel ticks all the right boxes. However, in comparison with many hotels we have used in Vietnam from the far north to the far south, we would be hesitant to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear DMSG,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoy your stay on many levels.

I take on board your comment on the guest room air conditioning and the moisture in the opera wing corridor and will have my director of engineering to check and follow up.

Thank you for sharing with us your concern and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

i love this hotel for its history and how it has moved forward with the time while keeping its heritage. we got a room in the new annex and the room was actually super cool. i love the bathroom. the club lounge was elegant and breakfast and afternoon tea there were very nice.
the hotel is rather commercial with lots of outlets. so there is really no reasons for u to eat elsewhere. and that could be a bad thing because it kept u from exploring.
the location is so convenient for everything. u can walk to most places in the old town.
the hotel has a tour of its underground war room, used during the american war as a bomb shelter. that was such an eye opening experience.
the pool is small and crowded.
i would love to go back there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Banjapat,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive, positive feedback!

I am glad to hear that we have provided you with outstanding levels of service throughout your stay. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#64 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#17 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing